We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cambie Hostel Gastown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cambie Hostel Gastown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Place is nice, Ioved the party downstairs, the commons, the showers and the general concept... But bedbugs? Seriously? The room mattress was full of them moving around, they have seemingly not been very bothered to hide away. It seems like there are a lot of complains about this problem, I wonder what the law is. Maybe it's time to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas S
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review, we are always looking for ways to improve our hostel and appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and atmosphere in the cambie downstairs, however, we take bedbug incidents very seriously and we are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay. We...

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Booked ahead of time for a private room (couple). Called a day ahead to make sure arriving at 1-3 am was okay since our flight came in late- assured it was fine. Arrived at 3am to find someone already asleep in our room. The manager asked us if it was okay and we said no- please find us a private...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sydney S
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewed 31 May 2016

My friends and I stayed at the Cambie on a Friday night. The staff at the desk was great, they let us check in a little early. The room was basic. There were 3 of us, so we rented a 4 person coed ensuite room. We ended up with only us in the room. We were on the 3rd floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettkatt
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Scarlet, We appreciate you taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you had a great time as a guest in our hostel. We would love to have you back! Thank you, The Cambie Hostel Management.

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Only stayed 3 nights. Staff were great. Food at attached restaurant was great. Very quiet in rooms (couldn't hear parties in pub below). Free wifi. Some electrical sockets didn't work. Lockers in the rooms. Shower pressure not great. Had a great time while there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Melissa, Thank you for your review, We always appreciate our guest's feedback! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management

Ferrara, Italy
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We booked the room with my friend a few months ago. Today when we came, the room was really dirty. My friend and I work in hospitality, we have never seen a room like that. The mistake we did was booking without checking the comments on tripadvisor. I let you see what was expecting us. We've been refounded and decided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony1380
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Small, clean and cold hostel to spend few hours. It's a good choice if you are planning to satay as less as possible. Very safe and secure, the showers commons and very funny because you practically take a shower in front of everybody around the bathroom!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerardito26
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Gerardo, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're always open to feedback and suggestions! We are always trying our best to keep improving. Thank you, Cambie Hostel Management

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I stayed at this hostel for two days in April with a group of friends. We stayed for a sunday and a monday night. While booking online, we noticed a small disclaimer at the bottom of the booking page, which alerted us that parties of over two people are not guaranteed to be together. We called the hostel to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adventurer736
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to reviewed us. We appreciate all your comments and we always do our best to keep improving! Hopefully we'll see you on your next trip to Vancouver! Thank you!

Fort St. John, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This is the best watering hole for a real good low brow great night. Drinks are cheap as well as over half the people there. I fit in great!!! Staff were fun and full of attitude if needed. Was there years and years ago have to say that i love that the kept the piss trough in the renow!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip E
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Phillip, We're glad to hear you enjoyed our venue and low prices. Hope to see you back again!

Reviewed 14 January 2016

I started to dislike the hostel when I first got there, the staff, or at least the girl that was on there wasn't friendly when I said I didn't know how to open the doors. I know I couldn't ask very much of a hostel, but the room was pretty dirty, also, the place is always full of people screaming/partying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vinícius G
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The location is perfect, as Gastown has tons of amazing bars, restaurants etc. super close by. Compared to many of the other hostels in Vancouver, such as the ones on Granville, the Cambie is by far the best bang for your buck. Both the dorm my friends and I stayed in, and my other friend's private room, were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia B

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
699 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#41 of 89 in Vancouver
481 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
1,396 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#27 of 49 in Vancouver
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighbourhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: $31 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get instant access to the bar downstairs without waiting in the long Line = Clutch”
 of 5 bubbles V4786NUjeremyb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Street side rooms were bigger”
 of 5 bubbles R2260WPjacquelinec, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Não se acomodem neste hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marcostulios, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the third floor to avoid noise from the bar”
 of 5 bubbles Scarlettkatt, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have good views and may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles oliviab397, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5