We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there for four nights august 9 -12. Vanessa and Dean were the hostess with the mostest. Vanessa went out of her way to accommodate my gluten free needs, with lovely fresh scones, gluten free granola, which was to die for!!!! But the best was the warm blueberry cake, she let us take the leftovers with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doni O
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My girlfriend and I just got home from the Gingerbread Cottage House and it was an incredible stay. The breakfast is exactly what everyone on here is making it out to be. Awesome assortment of pastries and fruit. Vanessa and Dean are very warm and hospitable people. It was a short walk in all directions to get to everything we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Vanessa is one classy lady. It was a treat to stay at her cottage. In addition to accommodating our gluten-free needs, the food was delicious. She offered fabulous tour advice and helped make our vacation special and memorable.

Helpful?
Thank DreamerGirl2014
Regina, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went there twice , once in 2008n and another in 2012. I had the best experience there from Vanessa's hospitality to Deans knowledge of the area led me to have the best week away from home I have ever experience.

Helpful?
Thank Cory B
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I came to stay at Vanessa's with my mother for the weekend. We showed up little early, as we had taken an earlier ferry. Vanessa was so wonderful in allowing us to check in early, had a cozy house, and gave us directions. Her breakfast was beyond fabulous and the best part of our trip. Very welcoming and comforting and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paige B
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage regularly since I discovered it online about 10 years ago. I have stayed by myself, with my husband and with my children. Vanessa and Dean have become friends and we would not dream of a trip to Vancouver Island without staying at the Cottage. The location is wonderful, within walking distance of both... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Inukshukgal
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I felt compelled to write a review after reading the "double booked" one. We have stayed at The Gingerbread Cottage a few times and have always enjoyed our stay. We are a family of five and Vanessa made sure we all had our own rooms, we felt very comfortable, and well fed. Walking distance to downtown and the ocean. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank clanfam
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The owners Vanessa and Dean bend over backwards to please their clientele. The breakfasts Vanessa serves are three course, homemade strudel, buns, bread.....fresh made every morning. Yogurt, cheeses, fruits, I could go on and on. Then comes the hot breakfast. I have stayed in many B&B's and have NEVER experienced such delicious gourmet food.....seafood omelettes, crepes, fresh bacon or sausages,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valentinateeshka
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had booked two rooms in March/13 for July/13 but when we got there discovered that Vanessa had the rooms already occupied. She was very apologetic and refunded my payment in cash and called another B&B in the area and luckily, we were able to go there for 2 nights. I had read great reviews about the Gingerbread B&B, especially... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank heat53
capitolcity, Owner at Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I remember the incident well, as during the 20 years of having the Gingerbread Cottage B&B we only had two double bookings, which is almost un-heard of in the Hospitality business (I know, as I am in the Hospitality Industry for almost 40 years). You were very gracious about the situation. I refunded you in... More 

NYC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Gingerbread house is definitely a great description for Vanessa's well-run B&B. Rooms are well-sized, furnished in theme, and tidy. It is all topped though by a very warm and personal welcome, and a veritably huge breakfast, with delicious and authentic Austrian and German treats. Having to miss breakfast the second day, we were packed with a generous and tasty lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandSNYC

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Beaconsfield Inn
#9 of 95 in Victoria
428 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#5 of 95 in Victoria
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $119 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
ontario
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved our room upstairs with the verandah treetops and birds.”
 of 5 bubbles sheena601, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Lavender room has a roof top deck covered in flowers and little fountains etc., a lovely place to sit and enjoy a coffee or a drink”
 of 5 bubbles nzmamma2016, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“choose a room with a balcony to the garden”
 of 5 bubbles B23ZKpeterm, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Spend the extra money and get the Lavender room. Beautiful private deck”
 of 5 bubbles D0niO, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There was a Lavender room that was very nice for me.”
 of 5 bubbles coryb960, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5