We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$204
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-08-03
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-08-03
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$183
TravelocityUS$183
Agoda.comUS$225
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 22-03-11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bedford Regency Hotel
Updated 22-03-11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 45 hotels in Victoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Complimentary tea
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
736Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 313
  • 148
  • 83
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stacy wrote a review Feb. 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a pretty uncomfortable experience at this hotel. I changed rooms once because the vaping was bad on the first floor, so the manager moved me up to the fourth floor where there was no other guest staying. That improved the problem, but it didn’t fix it. It was better than the vaping I have experienced at other hotels, but it was still pretty bad. I found the smell coming out of something the wood in the closets by the bed were covering. It was likely ventilating up from the first floor where the original problem occurred. I was directly above it. On occasion, I was having trouble breathing, and my ears would pop too often due to the vaping happening. There was also a really unpleasant odor at times due to the vaping that made me want to throw up. The air quality due to the problem felt very unhealthy at times. When I called in advance to booking, the person I spoke with assured me that they take smoking serious, but when I asked about their enforcement measure once I started experiencing the problem, I was told there wasn’t anything they could do about it. If hotels are going to claim to be non-smoking, they have an obligation to provide non-smoking accommodations to their guests. Most hotels say they are non-smoking these days, but I am experiencing more smoking than I have in my twenty years of travel due to this vaping problem that the hotels are not addressing. They claim to take smoking seriously but have absolutely no enforcement measures in place when a complaint is made. This is a nice hotel in a great location, but if guests are risking their health and comfort to stay there, any amenity or positive aspect is just not worth it. If you are experiencing pressure on your chest, ears popping, musty or weird smells or general air quality issues, it’s likely that someone, or many people, is vaping in a nearby room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Bedford Regency, General Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Feb. 28, 2022
We apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! We are always looking for ways to improve and we will take into consideration the problems you have listed above. Our hotel is 100% smoke free, I am very sorry this happened to you. Hopefully next time we will be able to better accomodate you! :)
Read more
David and Cindy wrote a review Feb. 2022
Temescal Valley, California715 contributions899 helpful votes
Comfortable large room. Good amenities. Inner courtyard room was quiet. Well loved hotel has been around for awhile, quaint. Location is fabulous, right on Government Street near Bastion Sq. Two fabulous pubs in the hotel. Front desk service was good. Best part is excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a few blocks away.
See more room tips
11 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bedford Regency, General Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Feb. 8, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location! We hope to see you back in the future! :)
Read more
JamieSherry wrote a review Dec. 2021
Sidney, Canada17 contributions30 helpful votes
This is a review about not actually staying in the hotel. My wife and I booked a Friday night at the hotel so we would not have to return home on the ferry after a long day of Christmas shopping. We called on Monday to try and confirm a harbour view room as was advertised on website. No call back. We tried twice more with multiple call back numbers through the week, but still no call back to confirm we could get a view room. So, we rolled the dice and booked anyway, hoping we would get what we asked for. We arrived at the Langley Street address as noted on the website, there was no signage indicating the correct address, except and commercial loading zone street sign. We eventually realized that access was gained by walking around the block to get to the front of hotel and upstairs to the front desk, We checked in and dragged all of our luggage around to the front and up to the room, only to discover a rather dark, odiferous room facing a wall about 15 feet away. Back to the front desk only to discover all of the view rooms were unavailable. We decided not to stay at this point, and the desk clerk refunded our money. So we hauled all our stuff back downstairs and around the block back to the car. If we had stayed, it was also a $18 charge to park the car 2 blocks away. So, to summarize, we are not reviewing the stay at the hotel, just the terrible communication with the hotel and the brief impression of a dark and musty smelling room in the few minutes we saw it. The desk clerk, who was stuck in the middle of this, was pleasant and efficient. We went to the Days Inn instead, it was cheaper, cleaner and the parking was close and free.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Mark J wrote a review Oct. 2021
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada205 contributions159 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night in early October. We would consider staying here again. The customer service was very good, the bed was comfortable, the room included all the basics, etc. Some points of constructive criticism, however. Even with all the lights they provided, the room was still very dark. As well, there was a shortage of electrical outlets. To even use the coffee maker we had to put it on the floor (as the cord was VERY short) and unplug the fridge. I had to go with no light in part of the room in order to plug in my laptop, due to the outlet shortage. Working in the dark was annoying. Would it kill them to put a power bar in there? Worse, some of the outlets that were available didn't work. Others were quite difficult to reach (i.e. the one behind the bed). The room could definitely use some fixes - tiles were in bad shape, stains on the wall, etc. But then, I guess it's on par for a 2.5 star hotel. Out the window, there was just a view of the neighbours but at least it was quiet. I would consider staying here again if the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RoseTheTourist wrote a review Oct. 2021
Vancouver, Canada4 contributions5 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for two nights in Victoria BC. When we got to the room, the heater was not working and the room was so cold, when we asked the front desk, the guy, came up and checked the heater and said sorry the heater is not working and we are full and don’t have any room available to give it to you. We asked for the portable heater but even the small heater stopped working. The power/ Electrical outlets in the room were not working, to charge our phone in the room, I had to take my phone in to bathroom to charge it. We asked to talk to manager but the front desk guy said the manager, (Tony) is sleeping now. "Tony", the manager, didn’t even bother to contact us, to apologize and figure out a way. We went online to check other hotels where we could stay but they were all sold out. We asked for the cancellation and the front desk guy, Alex said we need to contact Expedia, so we did. The agent contacted the hotel and asked for the waiver to be signed. Then we got the phone call from front desk asking to leave the hotel at 9 at night. When we refused and complained about their customer service and the fact that there is no any other avaliable hotel to go at this time and it is very cold outside, they called the cops. This is absolutely disappointing and horrible experience . We are both frequent international travellers. this is not the first time we go to a hotel but it was the first time we have seen such a horrible customer service and disgusting attitude. I caught a very bad cold because of the cold weather and because we had to stay and sleep in the car till morning and we also had to buy another ferry ticket to leave earlier in the morning. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. If you see my other reviews about other hotels in different countries or cities you would not find any negative points. Meaning I wouldn’t just make up stories. This is actually happened and I don’t want this happen to anyone else. We are both traumatized and not feeling well. Do Not book this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Brad wrote a review Sep. 2021
3 contributions
The hotel is located beside amplified busking and on weekends full bands. Closing the windows will not help. There will not be any notification when you check in. If you are on the street side and head to bed before midnight you will be more than frustrated. Every night we were there …..it was not the street noise but the bands below……full bands with horn sections…… The screen shot is midnight on a Friday of noise. With the windows closed and the noise measurement. Be warned, they do not tell you this at check in or advise. When we did complain, there was no attempt to appease or acknowledging of what is a nightly situation. If you need to get to sleep before midnight….find a hotel away from the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Guo, General Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Oct. 4, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we were not able to provide you with a comfortable sleep during your stay; while we cannot predict or control the sound coming from street level on any given night, we are sincerely sorry that you were not provided with more assistance upon informing our staff; while we often do not have spare (quiet) rooms to move guests on the weekend, our front desk staff should have called local non-emergency in this scenario; we are sorry for our inaction. Kind regards.
Read more
Lynn L wrote a review Aug. 2021
Alberta19 contributions21 helpful votes
Stayed at this interesting hotel facing Government street. The good part is that you are in the heart of old Victoria with great shopping, restaurants and near the harbour. The hotel was spotless, the room had loads of charm, the beds were super comfortable. The bad part is that not only are you in the heart of old Victoria, but you are also in the heart of party central making the bars and restaurants attached to this old hotel and surrounding it, making it near impossible to sleep if you are facing out onto the Main Street as was our experience. The ugly part...no housekeeping was provided at all in our 5days stay...no clean towels, no emptying of garbage cans. We had to go and ask at the front desk for new towels...we were told that due to Covid no housekeeping was being provided? This was when all restrictions were lifted in BC....so no excuse for that. Plus we had rented a car which we were about to pick up and asked for the car lock card for the garage two blocks away, however we were told the ONE (for a 40 room hotel) was out . So we had to land up cancelling our car rental due to the fact that we had no where to park as we could not get in or out of the garage!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Guo, General Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Sep. 10, 2021
Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate your thorough review of your mixed experience with our hotel—although we sincerely wish we had made a better first impression. We sincerely apologize for allowing lapses in our communication and information to cause confusion that lead to the cancellation of other rentals. We are equipped with and emergency parkade key for events like these, thusly, we will consider further training for our Front Desk staff to make the right judgement call in situations like these should they arise again. Additionally, we regret not meeting your expectations for cleanliness or comfort; we will investigate options for soundproofing, and we have reassessed our protocol for stayover service since your stay. We are sorry for not providing the best possible stay for you, by anyone's standards. We hope if you visit the Bedford again, we can improve upon our first impression. Thank you again for your comments, and kind regards!
Read more
Paul D wrote a review Jul. 2021
Shawnigan Lake, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Not recommended! Issue 1: We were not advised when we called the day of our reservation to confirm our booking that the street in front was closed to traffic. Ended up parking 2 blocks away and hauling our luggage over. Issue 2: We arrived 1/2 hour after check-in time and our room was not ready. No big deal, they moved us to a similar room on a different floor. Upon arrival the door was not even closed/locked. Inside It was an oven as the AC was not working. I was going too check that it was plugged in correctly but that area had exposed wiring so I didn't feel it was safe to touch. The room had a sliding divider to close off the bathroom area, but that fell off the track when we tried to close it. There was a supplied coffee pot and kettle, but no electrical outlet provided to plug into without moving the mini fridge to access it. As they were unable to get the AC working we transferred to our original room. Upon arrival we noted there was no phone or clock provided, nor was there a safety seal on the toilet, leading me to wonder if it had actually been properly cleaned! Issue 3: The front desk person was of almost no assistance with directions to the recommended parking lot, which turned out to just be The Bay parking lot which was extremely expensive for overnight parking. As a result, we did not feel safe/comfortable staying there and ended up having to drive back to Shawnigan Lake after our dinner reservations. Summary: I would strongly suggest finding other accommodations if you want too stay in Victoria.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Guo, General Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Jul. 9, 2021
Thank you for you feedback, Paul. We're sorry to hear we were so far from meeting your expectations for your stay, and that you were unhappy with our parking accommodations, with the way our staff corresponded with you; and, we're sorry that, most regrettably of all, you felt unsafe for the short duration of your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to leave a review, which has informed us of a number of ways in which we can improve our hotel and guest care. In this instance, we will work to streamline our information on all of our booking platforms to indicate Victoria's street closures; unfortunately, you were given incorrect information as to which parking lot was ours, and moved to a floor that was meant to be closed and under maintenance due to room renovation and door replacement. We're deeply sorry for these factors bringing your trip to a premature end. Thank you again for the correspondence, as it has exposed flaws in our internal communication and guest care. Our apologies, again, for the disappointing experiences. Bedford Hotel
Read more
Joanie Shark wrote a review Feb. 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada110 contributions53 helpful votes
This place does not have parking, which we were not told about in advance. It's also unbearably noisy, on a corner with three loud bars playing music outside, and the rooms are sub-par, haven't been renovated in decades smell like old cigarette smoke, and have ancient bathroom fixtures that barely work. A great place to stay if you don't need to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TonyGuo9, Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Mar. 11, 2020
Thank you for your comment. Many apologies that our service didn't meet your expectation. As matter of fact, we have a designated parking spot for our guests and it is clearly list on our website as well as third parties'. In terms of noise, it is inevitable as we are located in downtown area, especially on the busy street. However, we are working on upgrading our property, so the noise issue will be eliminated before this summer. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Aaron H wrote a review Feb. 2020
12 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms are quaint. We did have a mouse run under the bed. The hotel staff gave a free room upgrade after the mouse incident. The place appears clean enough, the rooms are not luxurious though but they do the trick, it is an old building that could probably use some updating. This hotel has the potential to be amazing if it were modernized. The 1st room was extremely hot. I didnt hate this hotel, the location is great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TonyGuo9, Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel
Responded Mar. 11, 2020
Thank you for your review. Many business is downtown underwent pest issue during winter time. We hire professionals to looking after our property periodically, but the issue still could not radically eliminated due to the aged buildings and numerous restaurants surrounded. Anyways, we will keep working with our pest control company in order to make our business better. Again, thank you for your understanding and we hope to see you soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$136 - US$280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bedford regency hotel victoria, regency hotel victoria, regency hotel bedford
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bedford Regency Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bedford Regency Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Axe and Grind (0.1 km), Russell Books (0.3 km), and Inner Harbour (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bedford Regency Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Bedford Regency Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bedford Regency Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bedford Regency Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bedford Regency Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Roux Patisserie, John's Place Restaurant, and IL Terrazzo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bedford Regency Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Bedford Regency Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.6 km), Craigdarroch Castle (1.8 km), and Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (0.4 km).