We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-17
GatsbyMansion.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-15
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-17
Hotels.comUS$197
PricelineUS$177
TravelocityUS$197
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (64)

About

#15 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Pendray Inn and Tea House (formerly the Gatsby Mansion). A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Kids stay free
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 1 more
307Reviews3Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 87
  • 25
  • 34
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MVWwoman wrote a review Aug. 2022
Seattle2 contributions
This was the third high Tea I experienced during my week's vacation. It was the most expensive and the least impressive in terms of its culinary offerings. Additionally though the table service was adequate but it was hardly exceptional. The host was supercilious and haughty, not welcoming at all. Presumably this is a TripAdvisor review so I will conclude by saying there are other Tea Houses which are superior to this one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Team, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Aug. 15, 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your experience. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as exceptional as we strive for. We will review your feedback with our team so that we can improve our service for future guests. Kind Regards, Rebecca S. Front Desk Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen W wrote a review Jun. 2022
Quorn, United Kingdom269 contributions104 helpful votes
This place is a real step back in time with plenty of period features and furniture. I stayed in the attic room which had both a bedroom and separate seating area as well as a bathroom with an old fashioned standalone bath which was wonderful. They also had complimentary macarons in the room which was a lovely touch. Check in was not a good experience however as the place was locked up when we arrived with no instructions and it wasn't till I went next door to the adjoining hotel that I was advised that check in was actually there instead. This is something which should have been communicated in advance and the computer system also appeared very slow as it took a good 10 mins to get the keys. Maybe an old fashioned paper booking diary would have been quicker! There was breakfast included in the price and it was a lovely setting in one of the old dining rooms at the Inn. However it was styled like an afternoon tea and there wasn't much of it, more like small canapés than a hearty breakfast. I also managed to leave my coat behind in one of the many cupboards in the room and initially I was able to communicate by email and ascertain that they had the coat and could post it on for me which was great. However after this initial email exchange there was silence for a week with me not knowing if it had been sent and when it was likely to arrive. After lots of email requests and 2 phone calls along with some mis information someone did come back to me to say it had now been posted but it still took a further week for the coat to arrive at address I'd requested. I know it was my fault for leaving it behind but they need to work on their customer service as one email with a tracking number would have saved a lot of time and worry. Overall the Inn itself is an amazing experience if you like your history and it's in a perfect spot in between 2 harbour areas but I hope they can bring the service up to the same level.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Team, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Jun. 29, 2022
Hello Helen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry about the confusion with the check in process. During Covid we did centralize our check-in to the main front desk at Huntingdon Manor and unfortunately with the ongoing staffing shortage we have not been able to fully reopen the Pendray Inn Front Desk yet. We are working on this though and as of this summer we have been able to re-open our Pendray Inn Front Desk with limited hours. We are also very sorry about the delay with getting your coat sent out to you. We are working on better team communication to ensure tasks like this are not falling through the cracks. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Victoria despite these issues and we hope you will stop by for a visit the next time you are in town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dick G wrote a review Sep. 2021
Parksville, Canada6 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a 1 - bedroom suite with a small balcony overlooking the inner harbour. Our room was delightful - spacious, clean and quiet. The bedroom was lovely and the bathroom had a large claw foot tub! Everything was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Our 1-bedroom suite overlooking the inner harbour was fabulous.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cathy L wrote a review Jan. 2021
1 contribution
The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room very comfortable with a great view.we would definitely stay again. The mansion where the rooms are is amazingly beautiful and room was welcomed with coffee, tea and organic made soaps and lotions in bathroom
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: You can view rooms online and pick the one you feel you would like
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelly Ele, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Feb. 10, 2021
Hello Guest; Thank you very much for staying at the Pendray Inn during your visit to Victoria. We're delighted to see you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward in seeing you again in the near future. Sincerely, Nelly Ele
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron B wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution
I stayed one night in the Harbour Room and I'm glad I did. It was a very clean and quiet room with a really comfortable King sized bed. The entire staff was really friendly. There is a beautiful, panoramic view of the Inner Harbour. It was a pleasure waking to see the sunrise over the Harbour. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nelly Ele, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Dec. 7, 2020
Hello Guest; Thank you very much for staying at the Pendray Inn during your visit to Victoria. We're delighted to see you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward in seeing you again in the near future. Sincerely, Nelly Ele
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline wrote a review Oct. 2020
Port Coquitlam, Canada2752 contributions160 helpful votes
+1
We went to Victoria for 3 nights and had tried 3 different B&Bs which this was one of them. We had never stayed in a B&B before in all our years of travelling so we wanted to experience it since there are so many here in Victoria. We picked this one because the Pendray room caught our eyes, the Afternoon tea that is offered here, the room rate includes breakfast, the location and the free parking. We booked the room through their own website and saw an ad that says in-house guests receive 25% off the Afternoon Tea. When we went in, I told the lady staff that we were going to stay there for the night and we had a reservation for the Afternoon Tea so should we do the check-in first to receive the 25% off or what? Apparently, she didn't know about the discount and she said we should check-in first which is in the next building - the Huntingdon Manor, then come back here. So we went and did the check-in and mentioned to the front desk lady that the staff at the restaurant didn't know about the discount. She said she would call there to tell the staff. I feel that this is a bad communication between them. We ordered a Traditional Afternoon Tea C$56 and a Deluxe Afternoon Tea C$67 to share. After you have ordered, you need to do the payment on the spot, and they ask you if they could add a 15% gratuity on top to your bill. Firstly, how do I know what type of service we'd receive, and secondly, in front of other guests waiting in line, how to refuse! There was only this lady staff that helped us take our order at the counter, received the payment, and showed us to our table. Then a male staff came with our tea as there was a long line-up. The previous guests in front of us, was helped by just this lady from ordering to bringing their tea. What I mean is, after the guests sit at the table, she would go and make tea, bring it to the guests, then came back to the counter to help the next guests in -line. Now that she knew our bill was 25% off, as I confirmed with her whether front desk staff had called her, she forgot to subtract it. She spent some time subtracting it....therefore the line-up was long again. Anyway, we did enjoy the Afternoon Tea and we liked all the food served. Since our room wasn't going to be ready till about 3pm, we went out and about. After coming back, our room was ready. Our room was located upstairs of where the Afternoon Tea was served. As mentioned, we stayed in the Pendray Room. It was a good size, nice view of the harbour and a balcony with a table and two chairs. The bed was comfortable with many pillows. We liked that there were bathrobes and slippers in the room. I felt touched by receiving a card and snacks in the room! Thank you, Nelly! Breakfast was included in the room rate. Breakfast was served in the same room where Afternoon Tea was served. The restaurant does offer Afternoon Tea and breakfast to non in-house guests as well, so there's a menu for you to choose. Same thing again, the staff takes your order at the counter, ask you if it's ok to add a 15% gratuity to your bill although breakfast is included in our room rate. Again, hard to refuse, and wasn't expecting this. We've been to many, many places where breakfast was included in the room rate and had never ever been asked if a gratuity was ok to add to the bill. All in all, it was an experience for us to stay in a B&B with such a start, and was hoping the next one would be better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Canton, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Oct. 23, 2020
Dear Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Pendray Inn and Tea House. We're glad to see that overall, you enjoyed your experience, but we're sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations, especially in terms of communication. Regarding the 25% discount offer, you are correct. It was an oversight on our end, and not properly communicated to the front of house staff. We have since rectified that and everyone is now aware of all active promotion and discounts . As for the gratuity request, in order to limit points of contact due to COVID-19, we shifted from a table service to a temporary counter service. To facilitate the process and reduce the bottleneck as much as we can, we now ask about gratuity at the time of order, which is standard practice for counter service. We do understand it’s not ideal but this is only a temporary measure and we hope to resume back to our regular service in a not too distant future. Please note that the gratuity is not mandatory and I’m sorry if that was not clearly communicated to you. We will review the message with our servers to ensure it’s clear and doesn’t imply any sense of obligation. We're pleased you enjoyed the welcome treat and card from Nelly and that you appreciated the panoramic harbour view from the room. Thank you for staying with us during your to Victoria, and we do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. With kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bjc75 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Brandon29 contributions24 helpful votes
This delightful B & B was originally a mansion built in the 1800's and now converted into 9 lovely rooms. The Inn still maintains it's grandeur of a bygone era with a beautiful fireplace, stain glass window, wooden banister and antique furnishings. We had the Queen Anne Suite which was lovely. It had a separate seating area from the bedroom and a small balcony that overlooked the harbor. The bathroom had a claw foot tub that I don't think was authentic but kept with ambiance of the era of the house. The bedroom was beautifully decorated in blue as was the sitting area. The included breakfast was wonderful and served on white table clothes and real china. If you are looking for sleek and modern then I would not suggest you stay here but if you want elegance and charm this is the place. There are no elevators or air conditioning but fans are provided in the room. We found just opening the window was enough to keep our room cool and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. As an added bonus the Inn is close to wonderful restaurants, and within walking distance of China Town, Parliament Building, the harbor and Beacon Hill Park. The Inn also offers free parking. Can't wait to go back - if I could I would give this place 10 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Queen Anne suite has a separate sitting area and small balcony overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Canton, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Oct. 23, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Pendray Inn and Tea House and appreciated the manor's historic charm and friendly staff. We strive to give our guest a "return to past" experience, mixing elegance with modern comfort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. With kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sirpa G wrote a review Oct. 2020
Vancouver, Canada80 contributions30 helpful votes
We took our Harley for late summer run to Victoria. I chose Pendray Inn mostly based on the delicious looking breakfast! And it didn't disappoint! We loved the building and the history of it. We loved our little suite with a harbour view. I hope the Pendray Inn will survive the Covid times and gets a good fresh coat of paint as it's looking somewhat neglected on exterior. We rented bikes from next door to Pendray and had a great scenic biking day all around the peninsula. Great trip!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Canton, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Oct. 7, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Pendray Inn and appreciated its historic charm and delicious breakfast! We agree that the exterior is in need of some upkeep. COVID-19 has definitely hampered some of our maintenance and upgrade plans, but we hope to address it in the near future. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Victoria and we hope to welcome you back. With kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miranda P wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution
I just stayed in the Notre Dame suite and the website said it had a king size bed. The bed was more a double- maybe a queen. That was very disappointing. I also went to take a bath but there was no plug for the drain. Also no lock for the bathroom door as it had clearly been broken off a long time ago. I mentioned the bed situation at front desk and they politely argued with me that it was a king bed. Clearly they had not been in the room for some time because you can see right away it is not a king bed. I would not of booked this room if I knew the bed was small. Very misleading. The hotel is nicely situated in the inner harbour but i was disappointed in the room we stayed in
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Canton, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Oct. 7, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank your for your feedback, we're sorry that we did not meet your expectations. There was indeed a mistake on our website stating that the Notre Dame room had a king bed while in fact it is a queen. The room recently changed bed type and we forgot to update the information on the site. Please note that at no time this was intentional false advertising and the error has now been fixed. The front desk has also been reminded of the change, so we should not expect any issues moving forward. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarolynLeanne wrote a review Sep. 2020
Surrey, Canada192 contributions114 helpful votes
I cannot recommend Pendray Inn more! This place is steeped in history and you truly feel it as you walk around the home. From the creaking staircase to the painted ceilings, it's hard not to be completely enveloped in another place and time. This manor is from the 1800s, so you'll have to expect no elevators, small cracks on the ceiling, and bathroom doors that don't close quite right. None of that bothered us. We thoroughly enjoyed the included breakfast in the tea room as well. I cannot wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Canton, Marketing at Pendray Inn
Responded Oct. 1, 2020
Dear CarolynLeanne, Thank you for kind feedback and recommendation! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Pendray Inn and Tea House, and appreciated its historic charm. It's a little 19th century jewel which we strive to maintain as authentic as possible, all while providing modern comfort. Thank you for staying with us for your visit to Victoria, and we look forward to welcoming you back! With warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$135 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gatsby mansion hotel victoria
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaJames Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Pendray Inn - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Victoria, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pendray Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Pendray Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Pedaler (0.01 km), Inner Harbour (0.4 km), and Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pendray Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Pendray Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Pendray Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Pendray Inn?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pendray Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Legislative Dining Room, Red Fish Blue Fish, and Nourish Kitchen & Cafe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pendray Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Pendray Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.3 km), Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (0.5 km), and Craigdarroch Castle (2.3 km).
Does Pendray Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.