We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria

Overview
Visit hotel website
310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria
Special Offer:Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Hotel deals
About
Description
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: More Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
80
Price range
US$59 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Howard Johnson City Center
Also Known As
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
,
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
,
Howard Johnson Victoria
,
Victoria Howard Johnson
Location
Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 206 nearby hotels
Days Inn by Wyndham Victoria Uptown
1,078 reviews
.28 km away
Robin Hood Motel
165 reviews
.43 km away
The Scotsman Motel
14 reviews
.50 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Victoria
961 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3,141 nearby restaurants
The Ruby
216 reviews
.61 km away
Glo Restaurant & Lounge
351 reviews
.48 km away
Crows Restaurant
47 reviews
.54 km away
Old Coachman Eatery
22 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,718 nearby attractions
Outer Shores Expeditions
5 reviews
1.38 km away
Vancouver Island Brewery
65 reviews
1.24 km away
Point Ellice House
134 reviews
.81 km away
Hoyne Brewing Company
21 reviews
.74 km away
Reviews & more
438Reviews
59Photos
0Q+A
53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 117
  • 117
  • 63
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This hotel has seen better days, Any attempt at remodeling is amateur at the best, The room was so cold when we arrived (45°F on the air conditioner) that it took til morning before it warmed to a reasonable temperature.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Customer Service was exemplary across all front counter staff, management, housekeeping, and maintenance. The rooms were large and well appointed. The heated pool was large and pristine. All amenities were available. Parking, lighting, access, and security were good. Hotel is eas
Read more
You have beds, but the air conditioner is a wall unit that is super loud, the beds are okay, the kitchenette is VERY SMELLY, and the pool was freezing. want to rinse off in the shower at the pool DONT it backs up and looks like its as old as the hotel. We wanted to go away for a
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria
Responded Sep. 25, 2018
Dear cthies316960, Thank you for writing a review and letting us know things were not as we nor you expected. We apologize for the noisy A/C unit and we would be curious to know which room you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team check the A/C unit and ensure that the problem is dealt with properly. Did you let the front desk staff know of the issue with the noisy A/C unit during your stay or at check out? They could have offered you a different room or given you an upgrade as we were not sold out. Also, the A/C unit is not going to work the same when it is raining heavily which I feel needs to be mentioned due to the week in which you stayed. We would like to know more about what the kitchenette in your room smelled of; as we are not aware of any particular room smelling different than the others nor any particular kitchenette suite that has an ongoing lingering smell. We apologize for the smell issue you described; did you give the front desk an opportunity to make it better? They could have offered you many alternatives; beside air fresheners. We apologize for our pool change rooms and we are disappointed with you as we were not aware there was any drainage issues in one of the showers in one of the pool bathrooms. We do require information to become aware of these issues and often within the daily duties of the janitor or maintenance people they do not come across these problems, so we only become aware of them when a guest let’s us know. Did you let the front desk staff know about your pool concerns? Again, Our staff could have told our maintenance team and something could have been done about it during your stay. Our pool is definitely heated and at the time of your stay was continually recorded 4 times a day at 84 degrees Fahrenheit or 29 degrees Celsius which is clearly heated and above average for Canadian pool operators whose mean average is 79 degrees Fahrenheit. We understand you were disappointment and we will correct what we can and again ask you to perhaps contact us so we are aware which suite is below our standard and our guests satisfaction. We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay and we would like to let you know that we are willing to remedy it. Thank you,
Read more
We just stayed here last night and we will never ever stay there again. I’d rather sleep in my car.

The sign in front of the hotel clearly states restaurant and pub. We find out from the front desk after we checked in that it closed last February. No apologies.

Our toilet in
Read more
Response from christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria
Responded Sep. 25, 2018
Dear KateK1017, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay however, there were a couple statements in your review that are inaccurate. We did let you know and we apologized to you at check in when you asked about the restaurant and bar. We also apologized to you later in the evening when you asked again about the bar. Our front desk provided you with many options and alternatives for finding alcohol in our area including letting you know of a pub by the water and one up the street 4 minutes walking distance from our location. We are not currently advertising that we have a pub online nor around our building and we have the lights off and other signs that the restaurant space is not being used at this time. We are sorry to hear you had any issue with your room as we called and interacted with you several times throughout the night and the toilet was not mentioned once. Our staff can easily fix most issues within a room in mere moments and we are sorry you did not give us the opportunity to make your stay better by letting us know the issues with the toilet you were having. We also specifically do not offer a continental breakfast at all. No wonder you were disappointed with the breakfast if you thought something entirely different than what we had told you at check in and what we can offer when our restaurant facilities are clearly not open. If our restaurant space is closed we can not cook nor have guests use the space at all as per the City of Victoria. We can understand how frustrating this can be as it affects us everyday and we would love to have the space be open and viable. We offer for free Coffee, tea, muffin and yogurt and the logical reason why it is self-contained is so no one can have touched the food before you eat it. I would like to add that coffee whitener is offered in the rooms as is real cream available at the front desk when you are self-serving coffee or tea in the morning. We are sorry you had a disappointing stay and we hope you find more suitable to your specific needs accommodations the next time you are in Victoria.
Read more
Victoria is not a cheap city, so it's difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel. HoJo generally fits that bill, and this one was one of the more economical. However, it's an older property and could use an upgrade, as my room's carpets were stained, the paint chipped and the ba
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from christy z, General Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Victoria
Responded Sep. 25, 2018
Dear rrober889677, Thank you for writing a review and letting us know how your experience with us was. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and understood that we are not a brand-new property but we are reasonably priced for Victoria in the summer and we try to offer more via customer service than most hotels and franchises. We will be undergoing a full retrofit this off season and will be getting a face lift to our exterior building as well; of course, we hope you choose to try us again after our renovations are complete but our prices will change as we improve. Our staff will always remain the friendly, helpful type you have grown accustomed to. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Ouch!
ceiling has water damage
bath tub not clean
Clean Bathroom
Previous
"They have rooms, office rooms, and family suites. There is an elevator. Away from the second floor side access door is quieter."
"pick another hotel"
"Ask for a suite that looks out over the Galloping Goose Trail (it's green and quiet)."
"higher floors are better"
"2nd floor rooms have direct access to the parking lot"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing