We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman Hotel Victoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel wasn't amazing or outstanding, mediocre is an understatement ... The beds were super hard and the blankets very thin, the air con was really loud and the washrooms were not all that great. BUT... Compared to many hotels around the area that were near the Commonwealth pool, this hotel was probably the cleanest and economic out of all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katsa L
Victoria
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The room was very nice, like a suite and very clean. Front desk people were great and accommodating for any request. They actually phone you to see if everything is alright with the room. Good location.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinedL8822TD
Mount Barker, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Really helpful and friendly staff. The Shark club has good meals and great Margaritas. The rooms are nice with coffee and a fridge. The bed was huge. They even looked after my bags for a few days while I went up north.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erwin71
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of the team. We for sure do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and our exceptional guest service. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back real soon. Kindest Regards, Brian Johnson

Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed at the Sandman in August of 2015 with our team when we were at the National championships in Victoria. This hotel from the moment you walked in was lacking. The "welcome" at reception seemed like you were bothering the staff. The rooms were tired and just didn't have that clean feeling and smelled funny. They were less than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pancho P
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. I do welcome you to contact me directly to discuss your stay with us. In regards to the restaurant it is a licensed premise, however on request families and minors can be served in our bistro area. We just ask that they inform us and we will gladly have a server come and take...

Long Beach, California, United States
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I booked this hotel by mistake, thinking it was closer to my daughter's apartment. I discovered that the hotel was clean and well maintained. Most of the staff were well informed, helpful and courteous. The location was very close to downtown and the university. The only negative was the restaurant. Service was literally non-existent. The food was poor and over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the great feedback and will share this with the rest of our team. I will also be sure to pass on your comments to the General Manager of the Shark Club. We do look forward to seeing you again real soon. Regards, Brian Johnson

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Our room smelled like urine and dead animals (rm 329). When we mentioned this to the staff, all they did was spray something on the floor and leave. We wanted to talk to the manager multiple times but they lied that the manager was not at the hotel and could not speak with us. When we went downstairs, we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinek45
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. I would have been happy to discuss this in person with you when you were here but I was away on vacation at this time. I am not sure whom you were referring too. I am happy for you to contact me directly to discuss this past stay. As we value your business and...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This hotel was okay, I guess. They allow pets, which is good. The wifi connection is TERRIBLE. It cut out every few minutes. I contacted the front desk and they gave me the number for their internet provider (I'm on vacation, I don't want to run up roaming charges calling these people repeatedly). Someone's old two litre bottle of pop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I just wanted to let you know that we have listened to the concerns of our guests regarding the wi-fi and am so happy to anounce the upgrade of our entire wi-fi network in the hotel. We have taken on a very large upgrade to the system and it is now one of the strongest wi-fi...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This hotel was very interesting, the man who greeted was very accommodating and helpful. We went up to our room and were very disappointed. We upgraded to the king suite because we were with a wedding party and thought people would want a room to hangout in. However we weren't so lucky the room was SOO small and the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestCoast_VI
Surrey
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This is our second stay here. Our last stay was in 2007. The hotel has not changed much, except I saw more shady type characters in and outside the hotel this time. The hotel feels safe though.The reason I am giving it 4 stars is, because it has so much to offer. Full kitchen, free parking, large suites, free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pak
Armstrong, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2015

fully booked but they gave me a family suite. It was huge, two queen beds and a separate family room which included a stove, fridge, microwave and sink. I was blown away. If you had a big family it would be really economical to stay here as the room could sleep 6 people and if you had a baby there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela P

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 52 in Victoria
275 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
203 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The beautiful capital city of British Columbia, Victoria is one of BC's most popular tourist destinations. Filled with amazing history, architecture, and a vibrant arts scene, Sandman Hotel Victoria is ideal for long restful vacation stays and short business trips. Whatever your reason for taking a trip to the sensational city of Victoria, Sandman Hotel Victoria will make sure your stay is absolutely flawless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Address: 2852 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: $128 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Victoria staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
Parksville
over a year ago
Sutherlin, Oregon

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not facing Douglas Street”
dougmA2193OQ, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fairly quiet on the 4th floor. Not sure if there is a view as such. We were just interested in a good sleep.”
kayaklady2, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor was great!”
codym977, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We have a variety of rooms and they are all good!”
daisypower88, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 401 is a VERY large 'Accessible' Suite. We 3 guys so used the king, the pullout and had a cot brought in. It was perfect...”
GrantT980, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5