We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9845 Eastside Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 1Z2 Canada
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!20% off room rate
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

#1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Vernon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the stunning natural environment of one of the best places on earth, along the rugged shorelines of Okanagan Lake, lies what is perhaps North America's finest 4-seasons waterfront resort. Situated on 60 acres, this resort offers 2 pools, 4 hot tubs, children's playground and tennis courts for your enjoyment. There are hiking and biking trails onsite and adjacent to the resort at neighboring Ellison Park. World renowned Predator Ridge Golf Course and The Rise Golf Course are nearby. The Outback Vacation Homes offers 4 different types of accommodation to suit all budgets. Choose from Trout Lake townhomes, Forest Cabins, Bay Villas and the stunning Ridge Homes. Each vacation home is stylishly furnished and the gourmet kitchens are fully equipped. The perfect location for your family vacation get away, romantic weekend, or fun retreat with friends....
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beach
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate
64Reviews0Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mikhsurg wrote a review Jul. 2021
7 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
We had my family and friends out to the Outback to kick off a summer of getting to be together again and it was such a beautiful escape. We rented a Ridge Home and a Forrest Cabin, and both were beautiful. The resort had many amenities we enjoyed including the lake access and the pools. Both cabins had beautiful views. Will come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adam R wrote a review Jan. 2020
Langley City, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a great family vacation with 3 different families all renting here. Between the two pools, beach, playground and the tennis courts there is something for everyone. Had a lot of wildlife with the deer wandering through - very fun for the kids. Where our cabin in the forest was located it was a long walk up and down the hill when the shuttle wasn't running but overall great staff there to help give rides for all the young kids. Also we were only 10-15 minutes from grocery stores, coffee shops and anything you need in vernon. A great resort, we plan to go again and again for years to come.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Jan. 17, 2020
This property is absolutely a wonderful spot for families! We are very glad to hear you all enjoyed the homes and amenities of The Outback, we look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chaeya C wrote a review Jun. 2019
Calgary, Canada35 contributions1 helpful vote
Independent cottages, free parking, WiFi, easy access to the rocky beach through a tunnel, pools, tennis courts and daytime customer service. In spite of excellent amenities, the map does not indicate clear path to the beach and to the waste/ recycle disposal area. Signage on the property to these areas is also lacking. Parking stall numbers are not shown on the map. There is also no charging facility for electric vehicles Access to the property involves winding mountainous road.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Depending on the number of guests and your preferred activities, pick the apartments. The houses...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris N wrote a review Jun. 2019
2 contributions
We stayed here from the 14th to the 21st June. The place is amazing, beautiful grounds nature at its best and architecture is amazing. We rented a 3 bedroom Forrest unit. We really enjoyed our stay. The unit was smaller than expected and the funiture was very dated. The couches where leather but very scratched.The rest of the furniture is well used which you kinda expect with a rental. We did not mention this to her but this was our mistake. We checked out and then received a email from Ruth who informed us that we had damaged the unit? She alleged we scratched the table, stained the floor and scratched the wood floors... We did not in any way damage the home and I tried to explain this to her. She initially kept back 1800$ and said this was due to the damage!!! I wonder how she thinks the leather couch gets to be in tatters and the table and floors remain pristine? Now she is still keeping money back. Beware rather book through VRBO or another company that protects you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Jun. 22, 2019
Thank you so much for your feedback, Your family was a pleasure to host all week but unfortunately due to our departure inspection we were very disappointed to the condition that the home was left in, We have documentation and photos of the home, new stains on the carpets, debris and mess all over the floors, walls, and appliances, dirty band aids on floors, etc. The reason for the high security deposit hold was the kitchen table had Numerous, long, and definitely new, scratches all throughout half the dining table. We are here to protect the home owner’s home thus we were unsure if this could be fixed or a new table had to be ordered, as this was excessive. We had our maintenance assess the new damage and come up with solutions, upon finding solutions we released the Majority of the $1800 hold back to Chris on the Same Day, holding just enough to have the carpets cleaned. We understand homes can have a “wear n tear” factor and do not charge for these reasons, we do complete pre-inspections on our homes and know what is acceptable “wear n tear” for occupancy. We pride ourselves in the four star standard we achieve in this stunning gated community. VRBO and AirBnB also do take security deposits that are held to go against possible damage or excessive housekeeping fees in order to protect those home owners as well. Regards, Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnjellyB wrote a review Sep. 2018
Calgary, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
My family of four stayed in one of the Trout Lake 2BR unit/pet friendly on the ground level. The price is on the higher side of our usual budget, but with all of the great reviews we decided to splurge and had high expectations. We've rented in Kelowna/Vernon area before so we were familiar with the area. On arrival into our unit we noticed that it wasn't particularly clean (stuff on the walls, the grease build up under the microwave etc...) and the patio screen door was completed torn open. This particular unit looked used and abused in my mind and was not worth the price. I did go back to the front desk to ask if we could be moved, but the girl at the desk told me once you are booked in a unit you cannot move as they are individually owned. I mentioned the cleanliness and the issue with the screen. She responded saying that they pride themselves on how clean the units are and that they do get a deep clean at the end of the season. So I guess your unit will be cleaner if you rent it a the beginning of the season than at the end? They did send someone very shortly after to fix the screen which was appreciated. The biggest issue we had was noice from the unit above us. During the week, we could hear them walking, and even if they flushed the toilet, at night, we could here their conversations but it did quiet down by 11pm. Friday/Saturday night was another story. I'm not sure what they were doing but I actually thought someone was going to fall through our bedroom ceiling and this went on until about 2am. At check out on Sunday, I did let the front desk staff know, they said it was surprising as the unit above us belonged to the head of the Strata, but they would mention it to them. The other reviews are correct in saying the grounds and the views are quite nice, but the cons outweighed the pros for our time spent there and we would not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Feb. 8, 2019
Thank you very much for this valued feedback, we do recall your family's stay and had offered to come do another thorough clean the day after you arrived but this was declined by your family. Also sent our maintenance man promptly to attend to any deficiencies, our policy is pre-arrival checks on every home and departure checks so aim to have high standards, thus apologize this may have not been met. We had you on a limited end of summer promotion, so glad we could have helped keep the home rate closer to your budget. Unfortunate to have such noisy guests above, this is rare on this property as it is a secluded high end community. If you wish to return please contact us direct so we can ensure a superior stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richardzz1 wrote a review Aug. 2018
London, United Kingdom26 contributions41 helpful votes
Spent a week in a Ridge house here with family and friends. The best feature is the lakeside location, the lake is clean and warm with great scenic backdrop. Site has tennis courts and a small gym and a couple of swimming pools. The Outback has been very cleverly and sympathetically built into the hillside and woods surrounding the lake. The cabins are well spaced so you do not feel crowded at any time. The home I stayed in was high spec with modern decoration and good wifi and other electronics. Only downside was it wasn’t as clean as we would have liked. Great location to get away from it all and relax with the family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Aug. 29, 2018
Hello Richard. What an amazing review of Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes! Thank you for highlighting the things that made our resort so enjoyable for you including our serene lakefront location, modern decor and many on-site amenities. We look forward to the opportunity of seeing you and your family again soon! Many thanks. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
estrellag53 wrote a review Jul. 2018
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
I’m glad to recommend Outback Vacation Homes in Vernon, B.C. This past June, my family and I spent a great time in their location. We booked a comfortable and luxury house, close to the lake and the pool, with all the services you would need. You can enjoy the nature, the wildlife and a quiet relaxing place. It was a good experience for all the family; we are planning to do it again every year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Aug. 29, 2018
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your pleasant experience at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable and luxurious homes, as well as our many services and amenities and the surrounding nature. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you and your family again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori B wrote a review Jul. 2018
Calgary8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a relaxing stay at the Outback resort. The layout is well designed and the units are huge. Loved the gym and the pool area. I would agree with a previous review that the beach could have been cleaned up. We appreciate the fact that the atmosphere is relaxed, people are on vacation and deserve a good time. It would be comforting if some security were available in some extreme cases. Obviously, guests don't want to call the police as is suggested in the room guide. We did see teenagers drinking alcohol at the hot tub. Frankly, didn't really care, but could have got out of hand. Long drive to town to get groceries, would be nice if the resort had a sandwich shop, convenience store or something like that. All in all, we will probably return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Jul. 6, 2018
Hello Lori. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your pleasant and relaxing experience at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes. Although we don't have a restaurant or convenience store on site, there are a few great services in the area that will deliver groceries right to your vacation home and even a YLW airport shuttle service that will stop at a grocery store on the way to the Outback. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you back here again. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle S wrote a review Jun. 2018
1 contribution
My friends came up from Vancouver to celebrate my birthday with me at Outback and we stayed at one of the Ridge Homes. While the weather did not cooperate, we had the most fabulous time enjoying the home and the view. The staff were so helpful and we all said we would love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Jun. 27, 2018
Hello Danielle. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your pleasant and accommodating experience at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes. Our staff strives to provide outstanding service and we are glad to hear that we were able to do so for you and your friends during your birthday celebrations. We hope to see you back here again soon, hopefully with better weather next time! Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rywin11 wrote a review Jun. 2018
2 contributions5 helpful votes
We visited beginning of June and from the pictures and the price, I was expecting an amazing resort. However, it fell well short of that. The grounds are quite nice and views are fantastic...but you quickly get over that after an hour touring the grounds. 1. What fell short was the fact the beach was covered in dog poop, debris, and vegetation from the waves. Nothing has been cleaned up and it was not usable. The water was pretty dirty with plenty of dead fish floating around. 2. This is what drove us crazy. We had very noisy neighbours above us with kids jumping and running around at all times of the day, it never ended but this is out of anyone's control but the disrespectful people who were above us. Just keep this in mind that renting a top unit might be in your best interest if you're looking for peace and quiet...we didn't get any peace. 3. Many dogs are running around unleashed. Signs say to keep them on leash but there is nobody that I saw who actually enforces anything around here. 4. People would just take over the pool area. Again, nobody to enforce the rules. A sign says no glass or drinks but for majority of the last day we were there and wanting pool time a family with young kids took over the pool and hot tub area. They put the tables and chairs together, laid out all their meals for the afternoon and had there kids running all over the place in and out of the hot tub. We didn't feel comfortable using the space with a family of 6 using it like it was there own back yard. For the $1200 we spent for 3 nights, it certainly could have been better spent elsewhere. There wasn't much to do other than the pool or hang out in the suite and both of those areas were compromised by ignorant people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rent a top unit, no need to be by the beach it's been taken over by dogs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The-Cove-Team, Manager at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Responded Feb. 8, 2019
Thank you for your valued response. Unfortunate timing in your stay with the Okanagan Flooding occurring, resulting in debris on our beach. Daily Strata worked to clear but daily the runoff would bring more debris in. This is a pet friendly property, only some rental homes are pet friendly, but yes there are policies when you rent or own here to abide by with your pet. The common areas are for guests and owners to enjoy together, if there were any persons being disrespectful or rude we should have been notified and could have had the property management come by. June 2018 was a tough season with the Okanagan weather and flooding, thus you were not able to see the full beauty of the property, in the future if you wish to return contact us direct so we can ensure an exceptional stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$193 - US$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the outback hotel vernon
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaOkanagan ValleyVernon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes - UPDATED Reviews, Prices & Photos (Vernon, British Columbia) - Specialty Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes
Which popular attractions are close to Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Nearby attractions include Ellison Provincial Park (0.2 km), Fintry Estate & Provincial Park (5.8 km), and Oyama Red Barn (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Range Lounge & Grill at Predator Ridge, Block One Restaurant, and Pane Vino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Outback Lakeside Vacation Homes accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.