Whistler Fireside Lodge

Whistler Fireside Lodge

2117 Nordic Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V8E 0A6 Canada
Traveller (23)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 9 lodges in Whistler
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whistler Fireside Lodge is a located in Whistler, British Columbia; home of North America’s two largest vertical mountains - Whistler and Blackcomb. Relax at our cozy lodge after enjoying world class activities including; skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, hiking etc. Whistler Fireside Lodge is the only remaining original club in the Nordic Estate. We are a non-profit organization offering an original experience to travellers with a well designed 16 dorm beds, 6 private room, 6 loft room, a large kitchen, large living room, sauna and FREE parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Sauna
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Sun deck
Room features
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quaint

Location

2117 Nordic Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V8E 0A6 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Vancouver Intl Airport
101.9 km
See all flights
51Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 11
  • 5
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alexis B wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very cozy little hostel with an interesting cabin feel - there is a big dorm where you can sleep with your own locker, light, etc. The kitchen is massive and lots of appliances.The Quebecois at the front desk was very approachable and friendly, the young blonde female at night...not so much. She was complaining loudly on her phone and created a negative atmosphere for guests to hear (not sure what her role is though because she could have been cleaning the microwaves instead, for example). Hopefully when you arrive there will be more guests to drown out the sounds of her negativity - I definitely recommend coming during the winter or summer when there are more than miserable locals around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer N wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was where I stayed in Whistler whilst looking for more permanent housing and a job. It was a great experience. Fireside's Rochelle is nothing short of fantastic, she is upbeat and helpful and so knowledgeable about all things Whistler. She goes above and beyond for guests and I felt thoroughly welcomed to Whistler.
The rooms are clean and the kitchen and living spaces are large and contain everything one could need.
There's even a games room (where Rochelle beat me at pool!)
Thanks Fireside Lodge
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashleigh P wrote a review Feb 2014
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here for just under a week! The lodge was very clean and cosy - we stayed in a private room. The Lodge was quiet and in a good location to get to the village. We took a bus each day and it didn't take too long to walk to a bus stop. We would stay here again if we ever come back this way again! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl D wrote a review Oct 2014
gateshead
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay here if you wish to be treat like a guest not an inconvenience. Arrives early and we were asked 'what do you want' and when we asked to use the bathroom we were told we were pushing it!! Too rude. People left cups in the kitchen uncleaned, I was asked if they were mine, I said no, I got a reply of 'better not be'. What a disgraceful way to treat your guests!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whistlerorbust, Director at Whistler Fireside Lodge
Responded Jun 24, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your experience. I would like to say the majority of our staff are young people coming from all over the world, we have a lot of young people coming to the lodge every years and we never had similar complaint before. Michel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Enrico B wrote a review Nov 2011
Radebeul, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a real great lodge and very cheap. There are private-rooms (2-5 persons) and Dormrooms (max. 4 persons). It has a big and very clean kittchen, a lounch with a fireplace, a Gamesroom with pool, tablesoccer, tabletennis, a laundry an very great a Sauna! To the villages is it very close (2,5 kilometers) and to the Gondola (creakside) is ist only 800 meters. if you want you can walk.
I can really recommendet this lodge. best way of reservation is, if you go to the internetside www.firesidelodge.org and call them or write them a email.
Have fun there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim S wrote a review Aug 2009
Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Fireside Lodge was recommended to my friend and I by a guide on one of Whistlers many attractions - the Ziptrek Ecotour. This place is also briefly mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide to Canada but deserves a stellar review.
I got the impression that in peak season the rates would skyrocket because the facilities provided at about $35 per night were excellent. Firstly, security is obviously a priority for staff who closely monitor access card usage. The dorm rooms (4 beds each) while a touch cramped, are actually cosy and provide heaps of storage. The laundry and bathroom facilities were well above average and were also clean. The kitchen appears to have recently undergone a massive upgrade and are second to none: apart from being spacious, the cupboards and clearly marked and are all stacked with every kitchen item and utensil imaginable. There are plenty of fridges and a huge pantry.
Right next door to the kitchen is a plush lounge room that would be a great place to kick back and enjoy a coffee after a hard day exploring. Or, there is the fully decked out games room.
The Fireside Lodge is only a few minutes by car out of the main centre of Whistler and there is a bus stop only a few hundred metres away if relying on public transport.
The only things that prevent a perfect mark for the Fireside lodge was a squeaky ceiling fan and that the staff on hand dont seem to like answering the phone - trying to make contact to book in didn't happen despite numerous attempts and we only got lodging by actually going there. Wi-Fi is available at a cost of about $11 for 24 hours.
The Fireside Lodge represents outstanding value and is highly recommended by this traveller - it sets a standard for Hostel accommodation in British Columbia.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofienotsophie wrote a review Aug 2018
Helsinki, Finland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel is the biggest and best equipped hostel I have ever stayed at and I’ve stayed at my fair share of hostels all around the world! The kitchen is HUGE and has everything you could ever need, huge fridges and freezer. The lounge is very cosy and I imagine even cosier during winter with the fireplace and the snow outside. We stayed in the 18 bed dorm, all the beds feel very private as the room itself is huge and there’s plenty of lockers, outlets storage space and all that jazz. Not sure how accesible the rest of Whistler is without a car but did see a few people at the bus stops so I assume you can comfortably stay here without a car. 100% recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
morenamorena18 wrote a review Aug 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a stay at Fireside lodge last July since I was not given any kind of confirmation at time I called I assumed i would receive something via email so I did not ask.Two weeks later I decided to call and ask if I was good to go...that 's when i was stunned by rude the person treat me first he told me I did not a reservation with them,them he elusive came out later saying that a have and he wwent on for no reason whatsoevr saying explaining te place is low budget,that they don't give confirmation bla,bla,bla... very exited - in bad way and out of no blum said the had cancelled my reservation and said to me : now I have cancelled your reservation with us and you dont have a number to prove that you had one, how about that?
I was absolutly stunned by how rude Randy (he said he is the manager) treated me and I don't think he is one of the "young people from all over the World" as explained by previous comments of Fireside Lodge trying to defend/explain why guests and want to be guests have be treated so poorly. he mention he has been working there for 15 years..can you believe!! I have never encounter anyone with so much anger and resentment in my travels maybe is time for him to change line of work dealing with public specially if he has been doing this for so long.I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy besides you are not saving any more them staying at near by hotel at least you wont be treated like an inconvenience. e.i : How dare you ask any questions?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whistlerorbust, Lodge Director at Whistler Fireside Lodge
Responded Jan 30, 2017
It must had been a misunderstanding as we were fully booked at the time you were trying to book with us. If I understand you had no problem with Randy on your first call, only when you called back. I understand your frustration when you realized there was no booking for you but unfortunately it was beyond his control. You are welcome to try again, you will see our staff is friendly and helpful. Michel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoeyJoJoJnrJnr wrote a review Aug 2013
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel is definitely one of the best equipped I have ever stayed in! The kitchen was enormous and had anything you could imagine. Communal areas were big but cosy with loads of huge sofas to sit on and a fire which would be perfect in winter (there's a good games room too).

Rooms were nice and again, bathrooms probably the best I've stayed in - really clean and good showers!

Staff could have been more helpful with a map or some recommendations, but the place was well looked after and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dhj88 wrote a review Mar 2012
Vancouver, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge has some good and bad points. The dorm rooms are tiny, they do not have doors (curtains, that lead out into a corridor) and the bedding is old and very worn (bring your own sleeping bag).

The room I stayed in did not have a window, so it was very stuffy and smelled pretty bad. The lodge bathrooms were dated and not the cleanest, but they did the job.

The kitchen was good, very big, lots of storage and everything you need to make meals. The living area is big and warm with lots of big comfy sofas.

Its about a 15min walk to creekside gondola, or you can walk 3 mins to a bus stop at the bottom of the road ($2.50 cash or bills accepted).

This place is great for a few nights if you want somewhere cheap and quite to stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a good place to stay if you to ski everyday and want lots of sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: >The private rooms looked bigger, with doors. If you are traveling with more than one person...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
agamagoo asked a question Nov 2017
perth WA
what is the cost of bedding
Answer from Whistlerorbust
Richmond, Canada
Call or text 604-932-4545 or Check us out at Hostels,com
Matt854 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Darwin, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The further away from reception the quieter your room will be."
Read full review
dhj88 wrote a tip Mar 2012
Vancouver, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
">The private rooms looked bigger, with doors. If you are traveling with more than one person or want to pay a bit more then the private rooms are the way to go."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whistler area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaWhistler
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Whistler Fireside Lodge - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Whistler Fireside Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Peak to Creek (0.9 km), Lakeside Park (0.8 km), and Wayside Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a sauna, and barbeque facilities.
What food & drink options are available at Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rimrock Cafe, Red Door Bistro, and Creekbread.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Whistler Fireside Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
All Whistler HotelsWhistler Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WhistlerHotels near Whistler Fireside Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars