We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Melville
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our kids love staying at this hotel! The pool is just the right size and very bright and open. The beds are very comfortable. We have stayed a few times and find the 2nd floor to be a bit noisy in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prichard24
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Prichard24, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your kids enjoy the pool and water-slide. We are more than happy to arrange a higher floor room when you call us direct. We look forward to your next visit. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort...

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The "handicapped room" was wheelchair friendly but it was not good for handicapped. The bars in the bathroom were intended only for a person with a strong left side and I have a handicapped left side. I was unable to use the shower and had great difficulty using the toilet. the toilet seat was low and the bar was on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimaB9122WF
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear jimaB9122WF, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in one of our handi-accessible rooms. We do have additional items available upon request to make your stay more comfortable, such as portable suction cup assist bars, booster seats for the toilet and other items. Please ask the front desk for availability. Our beds are lower in these...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good shuttle service, supportive drivers in service helped with bags, guide in shopping spots . very relax and supportive in advices. Some native guests are lousy. Vender machine didn’t work in third floor, no water and beverages.didnt repaired until the their day

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101fonce
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear 101fonce, Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay. I am glad that the shuttle drivers were helpful. I am sorry there was an issue with our vending machine on the 3rd floor but we do have a number of other vending machines throughout the hotel. Sincerely, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel

Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shortly after we checked in to our room we found four empty beer cans under one of the beds and four more in a cupboard above the microwave. Definitely made us wonder as to what else had not been cleaned, so we asked for another room. Housekeeping staff always had piles of linen on the floors in the hall. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosaliethroop
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear rosaliethroop, Thank you for your comments on your stay in January. I am sorry that I was not made aware of this after your stay as we like to make sure our guests are looked after prior to leaving the property. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our staff to ensure that we are more diligent...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great. Restaurant is very good and the staff in the restaurant were very nice and very friendly. The rooms are great but we didn't have a very good bed. We moved rooms and the bed was almost as bad as the first but we didn't ask to move again. The rooms are very nice though and roomy. We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerryk226
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear jerryk226, Thank you for your review of your week long stay with us. I do apologize for the bed and we will be looking into it. We do try to have a bed that works for everyone and we usually receive positive comments. I am glad that you found the rooms to your liking and had enough size to...

Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were nice and clean. They have a fridge and microwave which was nice. They also offered free shuttle service to and from the Jets game which was nice as didn't have to drive downtown and didn't have to pay for a cab. Staff seemed to be friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshleyB_2724
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

AshleyB_2724, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and our Jets shuttle, I hope the Jets game was a good one! We look forward to your next visit. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel

Brandon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came in for a comedy show at Runours comedy club. This hotel was listed as being close and it was a great choice. $8 cab ride to the show. Staff at the Viscount were great. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Will definitely come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank koryw140
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear koryw140, Thank you for your taking the time to submit your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you enjoyed the show at Rumours. We hope to see you soon, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel

Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were like 2 hours away from Winnipeg for holiday. As they had big snow storm warnings and we had a late-morning flight, we've decided to drive towards the city a night before instead of possible struggling early morning with the snow. As we wanted to do some shopping, we didn't wanna be right at the airport, so we choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 665alex666
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear 665alex666, Thank you for your review of your last stay with us. I am glad you made it into Winnipeg before the roads were closed. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and rooms to your liking. Glad you enjoyed the pool and water-slide. We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Chris Dubberley...

Winnipeg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

attended the royal princess ball. I was blown away on how nicely decorated the ballroom was. The lighting and table layout was fantastic. Felt very sofisticated environment. and the food was delicious. and loved the staff was on top off the clutter on top tables.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jessica M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the Viscount Gort. I am glad that you enjoyed the Princess Ball - the room did look fabulous. We hope that you will join us for future events. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel

Thompson
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Winnipeg, great location and great prices ! Lounge and restaurant are very welcoming and staff was very friendly! Parking lot was under construction during this stay which was a pain but overall the stay was comfortable!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidlT6421BW
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear davidlT6421BW, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Winnipeg. It's always nice to read that our guests would recommend the hotel. I will pass on your comments to our lounge and dining room staff - they always appreciate them. We look forward to your next visit. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
495 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#17 of 63 in Winnipeg
420 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Price Range: $103 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Montevideo Department, Uruguay

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure not around freeway side”
 of 5 bubbles yveed, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to have a room away from the major free-way - higher is also probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Plenderleiths, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th floor south side quiter”
 of 5 bubbles 892louiseb, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed on all the floors I'm sure and never had any complaints”
 of 5 bubbles Slynne2016, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Doubt if a good room is available in this hotel while construction continues”
 of 5 bubbles MartinF451, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5