We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel

360 Colony Street Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (23)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#46 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a perfect summer getaway in Winnipeg? Look no further than Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown! Our hotel is strategically located near popular attractions such as The Forks, Assiniboine Park, Polo Park, and Investors Field, making it an ideal choice for summer travelers. At Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, we prioritize the comfort and enjoyment of families. Our spacious rooms and suites are designed to accommodate families of all sizes, ensuring a relaxing and memorable stay. Plus, kids stay and eat free, making your family vacation even more affordable. One of the highlights of our hotel is our fantastic swimming facilities. Take a refreshing dip in our indoor pool, perfect for beating the summer heat. Your kids will have a blast splashing around, while you can relax in the nearby hot tub. Our pool area provides a safe and enjoyable environment for the whole family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
275Reviews3Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 125
  • 53
  • 17
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ian W wrote a review Jan 2024
Calgary, Canada8 contributions12 helpful votes
While the Hotel rooms were clean and the beds were fine, the building itself is in a high crime area of downtown Winnipeg. The evening security guard at the front door can attest to that. In fact, the front door does not automatically open at night unless the reception can see you. One morning there were two drunks riding the elevator with me at 6:30 am going to a "celebration" in another room on the fourth floor. One night a drunk was hammering on my door at 11:30 pm yelling "let me in, let me in". Then there was the woman in the next room screaming at 2 am. The next morning there was shattered glass all over the hallway on the sixth floor. The bench outside the front door attracts various people to hang around, drink, vomit and make a mess. This was a business trip. The jobs were fine but this place was awful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't book here. The neighbourhood is unsafe.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2024
Hello 680IanW680, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. The team learned about your review. The team will make the needed improvements to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lubiere wrote a review Dec 2023
Ottawa, Canada4545 contributions252 helpful votes
+1
Booked via IHG for 125$ GOC rate a night for 2 nights. Checked in early (around 10AM) and was greeted warmly and provided a room. Room was good sized, queen bed, LCD TV , Keurig coffee maker, good view of the Legislative Building. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast was included with my GOC rate, and was solid (eggs, bacon, etc...) . Gym was a bit on the old side. Decent sized indoor looked pretty clean. Neighborhood is a bit scary though, homeless people (but I have seen worse) so if this bothers you, stay outside of the core. Good access to transit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
T S wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Nice staff, however hotel is in dire need of renovations. The carpet in the Hallways is dirty and all wrinkled up. Rooms have a mix of musky and smoking smell to them. Had to switch Rooms, both were the same, so was my colleagues room as well. Have stayed in many other Holiday Inns around North America and never seen one in this bad of a shape and condition.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 20, 2023
Hi T S, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Winnipeg-Downtown. We stayed true to the strengths that our guests expect and value, a hotel that always has been and remains family-friendly. I'm sorry for the issues you experienced. I have sent your comments to our dedicated hotel management team to check these things you mentioned for a proper workaround. I also sent you a private message to extend our sincere apology. We would like to see you again on your next stay in town. At IHG Hotels and Resorts, we appreciate every feedback. Best regards, Dominador R. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CuriousCanuk wrote a review Jun 2023
Ottawa, Canada38 contributions96 helpful votes
I suppose you do get a good price compared to other downtown hotels but we (49 year old mother and two teenaged girls) did not feel safe. I don't recommend to stay in downtown Winnipeg. It's rough, even on a warm sunny Saturday there are just locals seemingly without homes or up to no good. Elevators in the hotel (only 2) were sketch (scary at moments). Restaurant is open random times or has private functions. I found this incredibly inconvenient as I did not want to venture outside the hotel due to safety concerns. The food was good in the restaurant though when it was open. Prices and selection were just okay... It seems there are many families there that use the hotel as more of a long-term accommodation option which was often annoying and did not provide the same vibe I was hoping for. I had teenagers knocking on my door when I was alone in the room both the nights we stayed here (Friday and Saturday night). I believe the abundance of longer-term guests and larger family units spread throughout the hotel is also why the service seemed lacking and unfriendly at times. There were two gentlemen that worked the front desk who were extremely friendly and helpful and aware but the rest of the staff wasn't ideal and often unhelpful. The room credit card hold/security deposit was $300 for 2 nights. We did not have a car but parking seemed to be an issue from what I can tell. Certainly security would be an issue. I can not even believe this is an IHG hotel. Brown water came out of pipes a few times. Water is not drinkable. Bathtub was painted and peeling. The beds were comfortable even the pull out I slept on (we had a king room). But I found a yellow stain and lipstick on my bed in a bag and it took 4 hours and 4 reminders for someone to bring a new one. They did not offer to take the old soiled one away. Cleaning staff were good and gave ample towels etc when I asked. They did have recycle in the room which was nice. We did not use the gym (it's nothing) nor the pool and hot tub (although they seemed decent and it was never busy when I checked. However in the evenings the families swim and there are puddles in the elevators and on every floor every evening. We stayed at the Fort Garry back in March and it was a way better choice. Although again it is downtown Winnipeg...I would not venture outside.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 12, 2023
Dear CuriousCanuk, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Winnipeg-Downtown while visiting Winnipeg and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest. I am pleased that the friendliness of our front desk, as well as our housekeeping personnel, met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service as well as experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests how we are doing. I also take note of your feedback about the cleanliness of our room and that you did not feel safe. Please be affirmed that I will forward your comments to our team to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize for your observation. Once again, thank you for deciding to stay with us. We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cheldar m wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Most uncomfortable stay I've been in, security absolutely everywhere on every floor, stopping the elevators on every other floor to see who was in the elevator, just opening your hotel room door they were standing right at your door, are they listening in on your stay?? Waited 45 mins for an easy dinner at the attached restaurant while there were arguing 3 tables from us .. was absolutely uncomfortable to leave or walk into this hotel.. we are members and we are never coming back... Must have been 50+ security guards staffed at all times there . 2 per floor, 3-6 in lobby, in each elevator, in every crevice of the building.. what are they anticipating? Why weren't we notified about the risks of staying at this location..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
clint wrote a review May 2022
Ear Falls, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
Charged $263 for one night, parking is $16.50 extra, wallpaper falling off the wall, bathroom towel holder was only hanging on by one screw, bathtub drain was rusted out. Door looked like it had been kicked in at one point and had about 30 screws holding it together! Not what i expected out of a Holiday Inn downtown! Parking was a disaster! You can go from hotel to parkade, but cant go from parkade to hotel. Had to walk all way around with luggage. Wont be staying there again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I personally wont be back unless i hear better reviews from friends or family..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun 12, 2022
Hello Stay42675788216, It is good to hear that you've chosen our Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites for your trip. At Holiday Inn, we boast of our excellent and efficient service. I am sorry that you had issues during your stay. Rest assured that I've shared your comments with hotel management for review. I'll be looking forward to seeing you back here on one of your trips. Stay Safe Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TAMAN1951 wrote a review Nov 2021
Liberty Lake, Washington6625 contributions860 helpful votes
Comfortable suite and quite roomy. Bed comfortable. Bathroom clean with great water pressure. Decent TV channel selections. Super nice checkin staff and very accommodating. Sadly on site restaurant is closed but other options are fairly close. Good value.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Not a John Doe wrote a review May 2021
on tour10 contributions2 helpful votes
This is no place for elderly, females or families. If you want cheap, stay here. It is very inexpensive and the rooms and staff are nice (ask for "medical discount"). BUT.. If you are elderly, female or a family please find a better place. We were accosted and threatened by a large young man with scars on his face because I asked him to wait for the next elevator (there was a limit of two people in the elevator at a time due to social distancing and my elderly mom was with me), but he pushed in anyway. With no mask on either.. We had to exit the elevator and wait for another. He looked at me and said "What? You got a problem? What's your problem!?" He said the same thing to me in the lobby as we came out of the next elevator. I was very afraid. I saw him going back and forth from the hotel many times visiting vehicles in the parking lot. I am convinced he was selling drugs out of his hotel room. But that wasn't the only thing.. As soon as the sun went down gangs of very loud motorcycles began racing up and down the streets in front of the hotel. It seemed like it was some kind of circuit. Then cars would race. All this was punctuated all night long with sirens. One night we heard loud gunshots. It seemed like the police abandoned the downtown area at sunset - just like a movie where the gangs took over the city at night. We were freaked out. If you're a gangster or a gang-banger this place would be ideal, but it's definitely not for a regular person, females, elderly folk or family. We never felt safe and despite our concerns the staff never helped us feel any safer. They never enforced their mask rules or social distancing rules. I think they were just as afraid of the riffraff in the hotel as we were. We will NEVER stay there again. It's simply not worth the risk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katria W wrote a review Jan 2020
Tampa, Florida57 contributions31 helpful votes
I wanted to post an early review after staying just over 24 hours at this hotel. Suites are great, front desk is wonderful, bar and restaurant staff is very helpful. Parking is a bear, as you have to park at a location behind the hotel and then find your way. As seems to be typical in hotels, ice machines are not working. My big plus is their towels are the softest of any hotel I have been in in 6 months, but bring your own toilet paper and kleenex tissues. If you like sandpaper, this is the best.....so why, in a cold environment, do we have to wipe with sandpaper and blow our cold runny noses with sandpaper. Horrible! One other suggestion....some paper products in the kitchenette area might be nice. Trip to Wal-Mart is necessary for the extras. 0
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Inside room, as the outside rooms have a downtown, noisy location.0
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GSS-HIdowntown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 25, 2020
Dear Katria, Thank you for your early review of your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Downtown! We appreciate your feedback and glad you are enjoying your time in Winnipeg! Sincerely, Justin D. Guest Service Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam H wrote a review Dec 2019
Kabukicho, Japan8 contributions
I stay in Holiday Inn Express's often for work and this is one of the worst. Very poor wifi, tv lacks many basic channels (TSN1?!), fitness center not maintained well (one of two tredmills not working). There are better hotels for the money in downtown Winnipeg.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Hi Sam H, Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and going out of your way to share your feedback. I'm pleased to see that you have rated our location a 4. On the other hand, I'm sorry about the inconvenience that you've experienced particularly with the WiFi connection, channels available on the TV, and poor condition of the fitness center. IHG's goal is to provide consistent and exemplary guest satisfaction so your comments will certainly help us in filling in the missing gaps of our continued enhancements. Even though your stay was not spotless, I am still thankful to you for choosing to stay at our property and we'll look forward to hosting you again. All the best, Dhang R Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Winnipeg area.
PRICE RANGE
C$167 - C$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn & suites, winnipeg downtown hotel winnipeg, holiday inn and suites, winnipeg downtown, winnipeg holiday inn, holiday inn winnipeg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg
LOCATION
CanadaManitobaWinnipeg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Manitoba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Winnipeg Art Gallery (0.2 km), The Old House Revival Company (0.3 km), and Prairie Theatre Exchange (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella's Cafe & Bakery, Banh Mi King, and White Star Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Hindi, Polish, and Filipino.