We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great fishing, great food, great scenery, great service, great accommodations and great peopole. My single favorite time each day was the shore lunch. A delicious meal with a different walleye recipe each day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacapecchi1
Chester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I normally wouldn't take the time to do a review, but I feel compelled to share my experience. A few weeks ago, I decided to do a fly in fishing trip to Manitoba. I did my research on TripAdvisor and Aikens had wonderful reviews so I decided to give it a try. Boy was I not disappointed. Everything was first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffhiscox
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your king words, Jeff! It was so nice meeting you at Aikens. We are so glad that you had such a great first "Aikens Experience" and we are excited to have you back. Take care, Janelle

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Outstanding fishing trip. We were there for 3 days and 3 nights. Starts with a relatively short float plane ride to a beautiful, picturesque Canadian Shield lake. Get off the plane to a warm greeting from just about everyone at the lodge, including our guide. Luggage taken straight to our gorgeous log cabin with all the comforts of home, facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deekhoudt
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2016

It was my 3rd trip to Aikens, and every time it was a quality experience. Besides great fishing, staff were friendly, and courteous. 3 days at Aikens went by too fast. Bonus this year was seeing a large Woodland Caribou! Will be back soon. Kevin C.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kevin_chorney
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Kevin! It's always a good time when your group is in camp. And that is a bonus seeing a caribou - Julie still hasn't seen one yet... only in pictures! Congratulations again on receiving a Century Club Award!

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Dozens of people have told me all about how great their Aikens experience had been, so clearly the bar was set very high. In reality, it was all I expected and way, way more. It's a clinic on how to run not just a lodge, but a business, period.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ace645
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We will make sure to share it with everyone! We're glad your first trip was a memorable one. We enjoyed having you up here too! Gibson and Enzo already miss you... See you in the city!

Reviewed 30 August 2016

My second time to Aikens and we have already booked for next year. It is very hard to describe the "Aikens Experience", You need to live it to understand what it means to both staff and guests. The guides are like fishing with your trusted friends, super easy to get along with. The housekeeping and service staff are the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Ken! It was nice having you guys up here last week. Seemed everyone had a great time! The guides really enjoyed the competition between the boats - adds for some extra excitement.. See you next August!

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Our first trip to Aikens and it was amazing. The staff is fantastic and the fishing is incredible. We had a smile on our fact the entire time. The food is top notch. Every Shore Lunch was something out of a restaurant. I would recommend Aikens to anyone considering a fishing adventure. Some of the best 4 days we've had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfm2207
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We're glad your first "Aikens Experience" was great! Thank you for the kind words, and we hope to see you again next summer.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Our third trip up to Aikens and first with the kids - Pit and Julie have such a commitment to service and it shows - the property accommodates 24 at the main lodge area which means it's never too busy, the staff is always willing to accommodate requests (scrounge up s'more stuff for a campfire, pack sandwiches for the fishing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hick55409
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! It was great having you all up here earlier this month. It was so nice to see all the kids getting along so well and having so much fun together! Cliff jumping, fishing.. they did it all! What great memories for everyone. See you guys again next summer! Take care, Janelle

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I had one of the most fantastic trips you could ask for. I have been going for several years with groups but took a chance and went solo . they made me feel like I was at home with family. this is a first class operation strongly suggest you give it a try if you want to leave email, voicemail,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greg f
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, Greg. It was great having you back up here! Thanks for taking the leap and trying a solo trip. Austin really enjoyed his time in the boat with you! And two Century Clubs!? You still got it! Take care and we hope to see you soon. Janelle

United States
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This is our third year at Aikens Lake Lodge with my now 12 year old son. My two previous reviews were 5 star - well, of their 107 TripAdvisor reviews, they are all 5 star but for one 4 star when the guest became sick and didn't get to fish much. Aiken's fault? No way. That's the best testimony I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
aikenslake, Guest Relations Manager at Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for another great review, Greg! We are so happy that you keep coming back every year, and that your experience gets better every time. That's awesome! We will be sure to share your kind words to everyone on the Aikens team. You are a great ambassador for the lodge and we hope that you keep coming back for...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (96)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
619 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
999 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#17 of 63 in Winnipeg
453 reviews
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#37 of 63 in Winnipeg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge is one of the premier fly-in fishing lodges in Canada. Trophy fishing for walleye, northern pike, and lake trout. World-Class service and amenities. The "Aikens Experience" is renowned as one of the best in the business. Come see why! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge

Address: Box 48084 | RPO Lakewood, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 4A3, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge Winnipeg, Manitoba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a long time in advance, as Aikens fills up fast.”
 of 5 bubbles _kevin_chorney, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great wilderness setting”
 of 5 bubbles carlreynolds7, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are very nice & close to everything”
 of 5 bubbles _oswaldbryan, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Sunset Chalet is the way to go!!”
 of 5 bubbles PVYankee, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I would reccomend a cabin! They are awesome and have a "living room" with a table and fireplace. They also have screened in porches.”
 of 5 bubbles lkottschade, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5