We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West

Save
Share
3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Wyndham
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$59
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (7)

About

#46 of 65 hotels in Winnipeg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Winnipeg does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out Grant's Old Mill (3.1 km) while visiting Winnipeg, Howard Johnson Winnipeg is a short distance away.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, room service, and express check-in and check-out while staying at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West. In addition, Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West offers a lounge, which will help make your Winnipeg trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar St. James, Boulevard, or Pad Thai Restaurant. Otherwise, you may want to check out a southwestern restaurant such as Burrito Splendido.

Should time allow, Lights of The North is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Winnipeg.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
46Car recommended
Grade: 46 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
358Reviews5Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 122
  • 83
  • 54
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Johnny W wrote a review Dec. 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Check in fast and friendly and room was clean and TV was good size and bathroom was super clean. Shower was okay but not high pressure like I like it. But the beds were comfortable and soft and location was great and exterior door was perfect too. After a 7.5 drive from T-BAY it was a good break from the road and vehicle for the family. I would say for the price and staying for the night only it definitely worth it and I will be back for sure. Staff was cleaning the snow in front of our room at 6am and snowing hard that night so good to step out of the room to warm up the vehicle and not step into a foot of snow right away. Johnny
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Room 122 and has an exterior door so you can load and unload and not walk thru a hallway of...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Connor Ward, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Johnny, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We here at the Howard Johnson are always working hard to ensure everyone enjoys themselves from friendly and speedy check ins to making sure the snow is cleared before you head out for the day! We would love to know how we can get 5 out of 5 stars for your next stay though! We are excited to hear that you will be returning. Thank you, Austin Front Desk Supervisor
Read more
64trevor wrote a review Aug. 2020
Aurora, Colorado6 contributions
Excellent Staff: Friendly and Helpful. Good hot breakfast included with the room. Large room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Reasonable cost for the room. The only downside is the stairs which are many and steep. An elevator would be most helpful. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Connor Ward, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
Responded Aug. 12, 2020
Thanks so much for your review!
Read more
laurie h wrote a review Jul. 2020
2 contributions
Terrible hotel lots of ppl just hanging out at bar and casino., horrible customer service.. booked ground floor room because my husbands leg in a boot cast and they gave us a second story with no elevators!!! Dirty room wasn’t clean sheets stunk!!! Stay somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Connor Ward, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
Responded Aug. 12, 2020
Hello, Thanks so much for your feedback. First of all I want to say we are very sorry to hear about your bad experience.Certainly we strive for amazing customer service and we failed you. After looking into your complaints, which we take extremely seriosuly, we were able to provide you with some insight as well as other who are reading this. You in fact booked a second floor room, not sure how but it is what was booked on booking.com. We tried to accommodate but our hotel was totally full and there was nothing we could do. We do understand your frustration though as we would have done the same. We pride ourselves on having an extremely clean place, which we believe we do. We looked into all of our cleaning reports and your room was clean thoroughly up to all COVID procedures. We even checked the next morning and your sheets smelled clean. So we do not know how to answer that complaint other than we are sorry you felt that way. We want to offer you a discount or a refund on your stay, as complete satisfaction is what we believe in. If you could reach out to us we can make things right. Thanks and Take Care
Read more
Kris P wrote a review Apr. 2020
Spruce Grove, Canada13 contributions3 helpful votes
Snow not plowed to enter lobby or parking lot. Web site did not advise that hotel was under repairs (which looked like construction was not underway). Small room, unclean, bad location, felt unsafe, curtains do not close across windows, hair in bathtub.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from connorwpg, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
Responded Apr. 18, 2020
Hello Kris, Thanks for the very negative review. I want to take this time to let everyone reading this know that background of this post. One - You showed up in a blizzard. When it snows 3.5 feet it is really hard to keep up with snow clearing until the blizzard is over. Two - Your room was very clean and safe and we were very much under construction even after we repeatedly told you. Three - We believe you were on drugs and were treating our staff very poorly. I would like everyone to know that this review should be not taken as true, as it was written in haste by a guest who was not of sound body or mind.
Read more
dzamoral wrote a review Feb. 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota1 contribution
Great stay, friendly staff, and near downtown. Area is near plenty of places to shop. My room was very clean and nice. I love that was casino and lounge on the property! The staff was very helpful! and really polite. I can’t wait to stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Connor Ward, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
Responded Jul. 19, 2020
Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate it. Thanks
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson winnipeg
LOCATION
CanadaManitobaWinnipeg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West
What are some of the property amenities at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar, Quiznos, and Hat Tricks Sports Bar and Grill.
Are there any historical sites close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Winnipeg West?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Forks National Historic Site (13.4 km), Fort Gibraltar (13.8 km), and Le Musée de Saint-Boniface Museum (13.8 km).