Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa

Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa

Traveller (292)
Hawaii Suite - Newly upgraded tornado steam shower, 20 jet hot tub, and fireplace.
Room & Suite (151)
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 62 hotels in Winnipeg
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This property has identified as Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderful relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refrigerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infra Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has: All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Coffee shop
Billiards
Darts
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Adults only
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Winnipeg Airport
660Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 542
  • 60
  • 18
  • 20
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dan T wrote a review Mar 2024
Headingley, Canada4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As soon as we entered our room we were transported to another place. In our case it was Egypt. We settled in, shot some pool, and had an delicious meal delivered to our room. I can’t say enough about the staff of this hotel. They were all amazing. Everything about the room was top notch. Large jacuzzi, pool table, mega shower, sauna, and all the other little romantic additions. We will be back and highly recommend this hotel. Take a trip to another land. You won’t regret it. Ask for Lowell.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a bit of an issue so make sure you park underground. If you have mobility issues make...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 10, 2024
Thank you for your wonderful review. The Egyptian suite took moths to build. The artwork, furnishings and design represent this exotic culture. We really appreciate the fact that you love the room as much as we do. It’s great to know that you also really enjoyed dinner and that our guest service was wonderful. Please keep telling friends and family about your great escape! We would love to see you on a return visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim K wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures do not do the rooms justice...the rooms really are much more beautiful than the pictures. We stayed in the Hawaii suite but did get to see some of the other suites. We are coming back and will choose a larger suite next time. We found everything so clean. There is no hotel furniture anywhere. Everything in the room like the artefacts we were told originates from the country/room you are staying in. Staff are kind and caring and always there when you need them no matter what. The steam/shower was fantastic with the complementary essential oil we choose. We had the four course Italian dinner served to our room hot and plentiful. After dinner we enjoyed the hot tub with bubbles! What a gem of a hotel in Winnipeg. Definitely going back for our anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us in the Hawaii Theme Suite. The artwork, furnishings and design allow guests to enjoy a Hawaiian getaway without the hassle of flying there. It’s great to know how much you enjoyed the 20 jet hot tub and the tornado shower steam room. Dining in the comfort of your suite is a convenient way to enjoy our Italian cooking. It allows guests to complete the evening perfectly while cocooning in the suite. We would love to see you again on your anniversary! Please keep telling friends and family about our boutique property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jennovak25 wrote a review Dec 2020
Winnipeg, Canada70 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I returned to the Japan room for two nights to try to recharge my batteries after this hell year. I couldn't find the DVD player and I did mention this to Lowell, but thankfully the tv has connection to both Netflix and YouTube so I was fine.
I now can say that bringing one's car here is handy but it's not ideal because of people who need you places when you're on holiday, lol, but the times I was here I did enjoy. It's so difficult to leave, I almost don't want to, but I should go home. Tomorrow is New Years Eve, and I have work today. I'm just so sad that my stay was over so quickly.
I hope maybe I can come back when we go back into standard Orange or Yellow and I can walk to stores near by again like Toad Hall or Tara Davis Studio. Japan, being a corner room, gets a little cold at times but it has some of the nicest views. You can see the Richardson building, and down to Main Street while still in the same room.
One thing that I advise people is to still wear your masks while in the hallways, I know some people don't think it could happen to them but it could and I don't want people to get sick, and I did indeed wear a mask here and Lowell could get in trouble if you don't wear a mask.
Anyways I recommend staying here to people who need an escape and want to do so safely.
Maybe next year will be a little less bad.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell Laluk, Owner at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Nov 17, 2021
Thank you for your kind review. It’s so great to see guests like yourself return time and again. Yes. Masks are mandatory and we recommend everyone to wear them in our common areas. Hopefully we will get through this Covid problem fast. I know you love Japan but you might want to try another great escape suite next time. We would love to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
no N wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a process to check in. What should have been 5 minutes took 20.Had to wait to be let in building,parking and the room. The room was showing it’s age. Sauna had boards lifting up so we had to place towels down first so we would not get injured. The room was way over priced for what you get. No individual soaps,shampoos or any lotions. They had streaming tv but 90 % of channels were not included. Balcony had not been cleaned(dirty ashtray and Kleenex) the coffee was not commercially produced,it was just some in a jar so wasn’t sure if anyone had put anything in there.Meal was way overpriced for what you received.Toiletries we’re purchased at Costco and it was the same as if you brought your from home. Linens were mismatched. Bed was ok but sheets were crumpled and there were face masks behind bed. Entertainment was old and outdated. Staff were odd and we had to be escorted back to offsite parking . Celebratory beverage was juice supplied again by Costco. We were extremely disappointed in the hotel. The photos were nothing like real thing. We will not stay there again or recommend this place to anyone. It might have been beautiful and worth the price 20 years ago but not today. I could get same style room at mass hotel for hundreds less and have better service and offering . Lesson learned . Should have been a special trip but we were very put off by experience and expectations
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 23, 2022
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a wonderful experience with us as so many others have had. We are always trying our best to provide a wonderful environment for couples. Normally we exceed guest’s expectations. I agree to disagree that our rooms are tired. All the theme rooms have state of the art equipment that many million dollar homes would envy. Hot tubs are large 4’x6’ multi jet, steam rooms, sauna and pool tables are in many of the higher priced suites. Large decks overlooking our historic exchange district are wonderful spaces to enjoy. We even have outdoor saunas on the decks for guests to enjoy. These are not your normal hotel rooms. We try our best to be helpful to guests and I find nothing wrong with our staff walking to the heated secure underground parking lot to help you get in and out of the parking garage. Try as we might we can’t please everyone. You may be right to try another hotel next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodie P wrote a review Oct 2020
Portage la Prairie, Canada308 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights. The room was beautiful, better than we had imagined. Authentic decor. The balcony was misrepresented as being private. There is also a big transformer unit taking up most of the space and preventing you from sitting and being able to "see the view". We purchased the honeymoon package. The supper was delicious but we felt the package itself was overpriced. The staff was wonderful and friendly although we had expected more appropriate attire given the room cost. Our first night there was a party in the penthouse that woke us, and others up, and prevented us from going back to sleep. At least one couple left because of it. We feel the offending party should have been asked to leave so that others could have enjoyed the stay they paid for. We also booked a couples massage which was fantastic. Being right downtown you also have access to plenty of things to do (shopping, food, entertainment). Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay and plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the guests above disturbed you on the first night. We made sure they were quiet the second night you stayed as it is normally. Having dinner served in the comfort of the suite with the candles lit, bubble bath, aromatherapy, movie and music package, homemade cheesecake, sparkling apple juice and parking is $200/night and something we recommend. It could be considered a little pricey but worth it. You may also opt just for the dinner next time you stay and only pay $100. It’s really good to know you thoroughly enjoyed the couples massage and our location to walk about as well as the room design and atmosphere. We hope to see you again when you need another great escape!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis R wrote a review May 2020
St Andrews3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms nice. Hot water and towels great. No eating options on site but excellent food supplied, at extra cost, by Sorrentos. Staff very nice. Clients sketchy.... abusive, loud, very young, act as though they own the place. How they can afford to stay a week or more there at those rates suggests big money from...? SWAT team raided the place 5 hours after we checked out May 27 and arrested guy in next suite for firearms offence. Event fit atmosphere. I suspect negative reviews are silenced. We'll see.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room with access to outdoor deck. Makes for more living space...and another way to escape...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 31, 2022
We apologize for the inconvenience that happened. Of course you must realize that the hotel has nothing to do with anything that happened may 27. It’s an unfortunate event that could have happened anywhere This really should not reflect negatively on our service and wonderful room design and amenities offered to you during your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy P wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Super grungy!! Would compare it to the Marlborough except for the fact it’s way more expensive. Staff has no uniforms and some weren’t even wearing proper footwear. The place is a dusty mess, you get a hot tub and steam shower in your room… comes with essential oils with pubic hair stuck to it. The massages were lovely which is the reason for the one stars but overall we won’t be coming back. The meal was sub par, delivered by a skater with a broken hand. The concept of the place is great, has some rich history but needs a major facelift!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 11, 2023
We are sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience with us as so many others have had. Your reference to aromatherapy oil bottles for guest use being dirty and dust filled rooms is simply not true. Our cleaners spend hours making rooms clean and comfortable for guests. I notice that you did not mention that fact that the hot tub, steam room, bathroom and bedding were all clean and sanitized. The room may have not been dusted in all high corners but it was far from a “dusty mess” as you would have others try to believe. The way you make it sound is way out of line with reality. We are a family business and my son served you dinner. He had a snowboarding accident and his hand was in a cast. I am thankful that he came to work trying his best to serve our guests. He took your bags in the room. He lit your candles throughout your suite and was pleasant and accommodating. He also served your dinner. Unfortunately all you saw was the cast not the fine person who was trying his best to help make your stay a wonderful night. This too goes for our front desk manager Keith who was recovering from an accident to his foot. Kieth could have easily decided to not come to work and stay at home collecting full worker’s compensation benefits. He knew how busy we were and came in to help instead. Yes he had a different kind of footwear on - because it was a cast to help his foot heal. The only thing we can agree on is that the massage therapist were excellent. It’s unfortunate that you did not let us know your concerns during your stay as we may have been able to rectify them at the time of check in.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mishyannt wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the time when we were escorted to park our car to the time we checked out I can't say enough great things about our stay. My husband surprised me for our 25th Anniversary and I loved every minute of it. The room we booked was under renovations and we were given the penthouse suite. Candles lit up everywhere, pool table, arcade machines, hot tub with waterfall, steam shower, two tvs, bar, piano, king size bed and private balconies. Covid protocols were followed and I felt very safe.. The room was impeccably clean. Bed was very comfortable. Yes, there was noise outside but it's downtown and people were enjoying themselves. We listened to the music coming from the exchange and people watched from our private balcony. We just want to say thank you very much for making our 25th Anniversary so special.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell Laluk, Owner at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Dec 25, 2021
Thank you for your kind review. We are always trying our best to have our guests feel welcome and comfortable. It’s so good to know how much you enjoyed your 25th anniversary with us. We hope to see you again when you need another getaway.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff W wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a unbelievable experience. Right off the hip we met the very friendly and helpful staff. When they brought us up to our room we couldn't believe how gorgeous it was. A jacuzzi, jet shower and sauna with pool table also. Balcony with a overhead heat light for comfortably sitting in the colder temperatures. The massage therapist were unbelievable and I'm still feeling unreal right now. Food was delicious. Me and the Wifey will definitely be back again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for your kind review. It is wonderful to know that our customer service was excellent. Our suites have been meticulously designed to allow guests to feel an exceptionally high end experience while staying in downtown Winnipeg. Balcony suites are fun as guests can enjoy the outdoors and then jump back in the hot tub, steam or sauna. It is really good to know you enjoyed dinner and the couples massage. The therapist have always received rave reviews for their service. I will pass on the compliments to them as well as the chef! Please keep telling friends and family about our getaway hotel and spa. We would love to see you again when you need another great escape!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie M wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came for hotel tour today and met the front desk manager for a full tour of hotel was super surprised each time she opened the next door to show us the rooms, literally were gasping at the beautiful decorations in each theme. Africa is our favourite and she explained how we can have a spa experience in our own suite, which was very helpful.
Definitely worth the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Responded Mar 11, 2023
Thank you for your kind review. It’s wonderful to know how much you appreciated our room design and atmosphere. All our theme suites have authentic artwork, statues and furnishings that represent the country of the theme room. It’s great to know that Rose was helpful in explaining our different theme rooms. We are always trying our best to have our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Hope to see you again when you need a vacation getaway!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Winnipeg area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
mariaggi`s theme hotel winnipeg, mariaggis theme hotel
LOCATION
CanadaManitobaWinnipeg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Manitoba Museum (0.4 km), The Portal (0.04 km), and Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clementine, Peasant Cookery, and Deer + Almond.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Forks National Historic Site (1.4 km), Fort Gibraltar (1.1 km), and Le Musée de Saint-Boniface Museum (1.6 km).
Does Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Winnipeg HotelsWinnipeg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WinnipegHotels near Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars