Hillcrest Motel

Hillcrest Motel

1315 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X8 Canada
Lovely stay!
Traveller (29)
rennovated rooms
Room & Suite (18)
Snapshot
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 6 motels in Saint John
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located off St. John Route 1, this 24/7 open motel is a 10-minute drive from downtown Saint John. It features free Wi-Fi and beverages onsite. All rooms are rennovated offer a microwave and fridge. A flat-screen TV is included in the rustic-style rooms at Hillcrest Motel. The spacious rooms provide a work desk and bath amenities for our guest convenience. Barbecue facilities are available at the premises. The motel also offers free parking. Brunswick Square Shopping Centre and the Aquatic Centre are each a 10-minute drive from this motel. New Brunswick Museum is 4.5 km away. help us to serve you better!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
95Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 26
  • 15
  • 2
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am giving this Motel five stars for Service!! I have stayed at many motels / hotels in my travels and as far as a Motel on a Budget is concerned, this little place worked just Great! My room with Kitchenette, was lovely and clean and comfortable. Nick was AMAZING! He looked right after me and made sure I had everything I needed to make my stay (9 nights) here very comfortable. I have family business here every month, and this is my new place to stay!! The Hillcrest Motel is Affordable, Comfortable, Quiet, and has the BEST Service I could ask for! Thank you Hillcrest and thank you Nick!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RBoT02 wrote a review Aug 2011
Stuttgart, Germany5 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed for one night, the best you can expect for this price - very nice hosts, clean room with fridgerator and microwave, free wifi and parking
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian W wrote a review Aug 2012
Montreal, Canada334 contributions231 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this motel following the many good reviews on this site. Very satisfied! Excellent place with small, super clean rooms, great service, friendly owner, view over Saint-John. A 8-10 min. drive from downtown. Would definitively come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrequentFlier721562 wrote a review Jul 2022
Owen Sound, Canada26 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While this hotel looked feasible as a low cost stay, it was a mistake. The rooms and furnishings were run down as was the bathroom. Our lights did not work at all and there were no bedside lamps. The light situation was figured out when I noted that the main light switch turned off the fan and the light bulbs were simply unscrewed to allow the fan to run at night. ‘Why not open windows’, you may wonder. There was a trade off with this endeavour as there were no screens on any window so air was available if we were willing to put up with bugs. The final nail was the loud party in the room next to ours. If just confined to their room, the party would have been a nuisance. However, multiple people right outside our window, drinking and swearing from 2 am to 4 am was too much. If you are DESPERATE for a mattress to sleep on, and no more, this might be the place for you. If you want a functional room with standard amenities, look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunshinegirl54 wrote a review Jun 2012
Brampton, Canada850 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband have been here many times. We stay here when we visit family..... we drive in from Ontario... and always welcomed here...
parking is good. and not far from Tim Hornets coffee shop... Great view!
the rooms are simple and clean...... with a microwave and small bar fridge... with a small T>V>.
we stayed here last July 1 week-end for 4 nites....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
james m wrote a review Aug 2012
New Bern, North Carolina13 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Needed simple lodging passing through to PEI. Took a chance based on the trip advisor rating, and it was spot (or in this case spotless) on. Place was comfortable, and as mentioned very clean. NB: no air conditioning. AM pastries and coffee were spartan but good. Owners were very nice. View a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jules63 wrote a review Jul 2012
Montreal, Canada109 contributions95 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a place to stay after getting off the ferry from Nova Scotia and this place, although far from fancy, fit the bill. It's inexpensive, very clean and well kept. The owner was friendly and directed us to the services we needed. Good value for those on a tighter budget.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LLPCanada wrote a review Aug 2012
Port Hope, Canada37 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn't expect too much from this motel, based on the location and price, but we were very pleasantly surprised. I have never stayed in such a clean room! I travel for business quite often, and usually stay in 3 to 4 star hotels, and they have never been this clean. The building is older, but really well maintained. The sort of funky 50's wood paneling shines! The hosts are a lovely young couple, very warm and friendly. The rooms all have a min fridge and mocrowave, and there is also coffee and a bit of breakfast food in the "lobby" in the morning. I would highly recommend this motel, and already have. OUr only complaint is that the sheets were a bit tired and pilled. While I can't give it 4 stars based on amenities, I'd give it 10 stars for cleanliness!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: we stayed in one of the front rooms facing Manawoganish Rd. - no road noise that we heard, and a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mysticmaxx wrote a review Sep 2013
Providence, Rhode Island2 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't say enough nice things about the family that runs the Hillcrest. I used to stay there every few months while taking care of things for family in NB but had a lapse of 3 years until this Summer. I'm happy to say they are still as friendly, thoughtful and hard-working. To just give the most outstanding example, there was the time they gave us a lift down to the Irving (gas) station at 7 in the morning because we had (unknowingly) emptied our gas tank the night before on the drive in. Add on to this the fact that it was February and freezing out. Add on to that the fact that we were up and about that early because we had to go finalize arrangements for a funeral. You can imagine how much we appreciate the help! The rooms are very nice and as others have pointed out, you are conveniently located to ammenities and the highway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon J wrote a review Aug 2012
Nova scota1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked into this motel at 11pm and was forced to leave at 2:30am due to a broken pipe in the bathroom. I woke at 2am to a room full of steam and went to the office to notify the owners. The motel was full for the night so I personally had to find a place to go to with absolutely no help from the owner. . I got no apology,all i got was attitude from this woman!! The next morning I went back because I left something in the room. When I went to the office she told me that my credit card was being charged $155.00 for the plumber, and she said that I had CUT THE PIPE and she had called the police!!!! I am a 58 year old woman and was in town to visit my sister in the hospital. I was in shock!!! I do not carry tools around with me to vandalize hotel rooms. I had to wait for the police to arrive and give my statement. I later found out that I was not charged for the plumbing fee because they had no proof, but I was still charged for my nights stay. I paid the fee, and chaulked this up to a very bad experience and moved on. I sincerely hope that people read these reviews and take into consideration that if you stay at this place you could be in for a very bad time.The woman who owns this motel is by far the rudest person I have ever encountered in my life.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hillcrest M, Manager at Hillcrest Motel
Responded Aug 29, 2012
This is the response for the review posted above. The lady who claims to be 55-56 yrs. old, was asked to move out middle of the night because of the smoke smell and inappropriate noises from her room (2-3 people in a room with one bed) and complaints about that from guests staying beside her room. We were threatened to give her money back, or she will post bad reviews as it was embarassing for her to be kicked out. But for us, our guest`s comfort comes first. The story mentioned above is fake and is a way to give a bad name to our business. We are sorry about the inconvenience but we had to do our job. Thanks, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kizer S wrote a tip Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"family room is the best in my opinion and make shore to give them the best desciption of what you need so they will accomadate"
Read full review
FrequentFlier721562 wrote a tip Jul 2022
Owen Sound, Canada26 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel."
Read full review
danearle wrote a tip Nov 2017
Yarmouth, Canada143 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 5 near mechanical systems."
Read full review
notnowwhen wrote a tip Aug 2016
57 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The motel sits upon a hill, therefore all rooms overlook the city of St. John from the parking lot."
Read full review
Hilary K wrote a tip Aug 2015
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms on the street level have the best view and are the most airy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint John area.
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint John
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hillcrest Motel - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hillcrest Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Hillcrest Motel?
Nearby attractions include Irving Nature Park (2.3 km), New Brunswick Museum (5.2 km), and Saint John City Market (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hillcrest Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Hillcrest Motel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hillcrest Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hillcrest Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hillcrest Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vegolution, East Coast Bistro, and Italian By Night.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hillcrest Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hillcrest Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Carleton Martello Tower (3.2 km), Loyalist House (5.5 km), and St. Luke's Anglican Church (4.7 km).
Does Hillcrest Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Saint John HotelsSaint John Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint JohnHotels near Hillcrest Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars