Cookes Motel
2121 Ocean West Way, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 5H6 Canada
Have you been to Cookes Motel?
Post photosWrite Review

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#17 of 19 hotels in Saint John
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
6Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sand-da-man wrote a review Aug 2005
chicago, illinois44 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For those heading to New Brunswick, or even en route to Nova Scotia through New
Brunswick on the 1, I suggest that you stop at Cooke's Motel in West Saint John.
Just off the 1 on the old main highway, the setting is not that impressive as
you approach: the buildings surely must date back to the '50s when this place
was first established. Nonetheless, each unit provides a spacious and charming
accommodation. In addition to the comfortable basic amenities, my room had a
frig, a micro-wave, and several cable TV stations. The towels, which were like
small fluffy rugs they were so thick, were in ample supply as well. An added
bonus is the HOT breakfast that owner Paulette Cooke provides for her guests on
order in the morning. In addition, she has a wealth of information concerning
the Saint John area- eateries and night life included. If there is a drawback,
it is that the units show their age a bit- my bed a little lumpy- and there was
no A/C (didn't need it the night I stayed in August '05, though). Nonetheless,
everything was very clean and the surroundings, a yard and picnic tables, too,
made for a pleasant stay. The final significant note is that this cost me only
$49C for a single! When you throw in that breakfast- the package is a steal!!!
I will surely be back next time I'm out this way, and I recommend it to others
looking to save a buck or two but still needing a good night's lodging.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kimberleywalker wrote a review Jul 2007
Swastika, Canada89 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there July '07. I based my stay on the previous review. Oh how times have changed!!!! It was horrible. The only positive was the great water pressure. The beds were lumpy and felt like crators in the center. The towels are now threadbare and sparse. The breakfast is the worse let down. You have a choice between 2 eggs, 2 (bacon, sausage) or ham and one piece of toast. Or frozen no name blueberry waffles and the meat. The eggs were consistantly overcooked, sausage undercooked, bacon precooked. Bread sparsely buttered and half size jam. Coffee tasted as if it had been run through a sock, the juice was watered down. I can tell you I would have been disappointed had I payed $20/night instead of the $50. Oh yes, the smell, mold, and upon inspection found the source on the curtains. I was repeatadly "attacked" by the shower curtain. All in all it was awful. BEWARE!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CookesMotelMgmt, Manager at Cookes Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2007
This guests stayed at our motel with her husband, daughter, mother, & a dog in two rooms for 4 nights. I gave her a rather large discount for her rooms based on the length of stay & combination of multiple rooms (approximately $85CAD). We have select rooms that we place animals in because animals tend to make a big mess. After supplying the guests with 6 additional towels in each room, which these people proceeded to use the towels on their dog (creating stains on the towels), they proceeded to complain about everything, including the coffee and breakfast which is most suitable for most people. We made stronger coffee specifically for them (Folgers brand). If they had not liked the breakfast, why did they continue to eat it every morning? On two mornings the previous owner came to cook the breakfast, still they are not happy? If their guestroom was so filthy, why didn’t they check out & go someplace else? We also provided a new shower rod because she said that the shower curtain was too far into the tub. We had just purchased this property from an older woman that had let it run down quite a bit. She had left us with only 12 sets of towels & sheets. We have remodeled the bathrooms, painted the rooms, & washed all bedding, shower curtains, & shampooed the carpets, etc. We have painted the exterior of the motel & started the cabins & the office. As of August 4, 2007, we have purchased new towel sets to accommodate our guests. I don’t believe they would have been happy in the Ritz-Carlton or Waldorf Astoria penthouse suites in New York City.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gail dyer wrote a review Sep 2016
Calgary, Canada4 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First, this property is combined with the "Regent Motel," where the customer reviews are much lower.

We found the beds extremely uncomfortable, and the location is right on a busy road. Although we paid for 2 nights, we spent one sleepless, uncomfortable night, and moved on, with no refund offered.

Can't recommend this!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lizza13 wrote a review Sep 2007
Bathurst, Canada118 contributions158 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here from September 7 to September 9, and we did enjoy our stay. The rooms were very clean, despite the age. The rooms were older, but kept up well. When I had called to inquire on the rooms and that bad review, the owner was very understanding. She told us that we could come and check it out for ourselves before we actually booked the room. I though, "hey, what is there to lose?" So, we went, and had a great stay. The breakfast was excellent. It's not downtown, so you don't get the heavy traffic from the city, and it's close to the main highway to get into Saint John. Overall, I did enjoy my stay and would do so again if we ever go to Saint John again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TorontoNadodi wrote a review Aug 2007
Toronto1 contribution4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cookes Motel @ Saint John, New Brunswick. August 16th to 19th.
Based on the bad review of July 2007, I almost cancelled my booking . I called Susan at Cookes Motel and told her about the bad review and how I was apprehensive about staying with them. She said," come and check everything out for yourself and then decide" and that is exactly what we did.
The rooms were large with two double beds, clean and well maintained. Towels and linen was changed every day. It was value for money. We had absolutely no cause to complain. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and very courteous. The breakfast could be improved a bit in terms of quantity. I mentioned this to Susan. Our overall rating on a 1 to 10 scale would be 7.5. If you are a budget traveller with no desire for extra luxury, this would be the place.
Eshwar P Sitaraman, Toronto.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan8606 wrote a review Jul 2015
New Smyrna Beach, Florida5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately, I came in on the last day of a long road trip, in the rain, with a cold & a wet dog. The office was locked and I stood in the rain to ring the bell before a teenage boy came to the door and caled the manager on a cell phone. If I had more fortitude, I would have taken off running at first sigtht of the room in spite of having made a reservation directly with the property and having completed the registration and payment procedure before seeing the room. The place is old and has been allowed to deteriorate . Furnishings seemed like products of dumpster diving; mismatched, very poor quality, with things like shabby Contact paper on surfaces, 2 well-used hand-off office tables, folding chairs, thinly painted particle board pieces. . Bathroom had only one bare lightbulb. No closet, one hanging rack with no hangers.

The room was basically clean, but had an odor that was musty and suggested previous tenants had not complied with the "No Smoking" restriction. I spite of inclement weather, I left the windows open and ran the ceiling fan for several hours. It had the equipment as listed: TV, microwave, frig, free WiFi, which worked fine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Choose a room at some other property!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Susan8606 wrote a tip Jul 2015
New Smyrna Beach, Florida5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a room at some other property!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint John area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
cookes hotel saint john
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint John
NUMBER OF ROOMS
343
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cookes Motel - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cookes Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Cookes Motel?
Nearby attractions include Irving Nature Park (2.2 km), Reversing Falls Rapids (6.3 km), and Carleton Martello Tower (6.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Cookes Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Suwanna Restaurant & Inn, Lock Stock and Barrels, and Big Daddy's Pizza.
Are there any historical sites close to Cookes Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Carleton Martello Tower (6.4 km) and St. Luke's Anglican Church (7.6 km).
All Saint John HotelsSaint John Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint JohnHotels near Cookes Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars