We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gower Street Guest House

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“quiet street”(3 reviews)
“each morning”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Gower Street Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
47
23
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
23
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetair conditioningeach morningtravel agentexcellent locationwalking distanceconvenient locationcomfortable bedssignal hilltodddowntowninlaidamenitiescaretakerbasilicaprovinceenvelope
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 88 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017

This B&B is located close to downtown and walkable to everything. There are restaurants galore at the bottom of the street, on Duckworth, Water and George, all easily reachable by walking about 10 minutes. When I first arrived, the smell of bleach was overwhelming, however...More

Thank WideWorldTraveller
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

I had a reservation booked for June 6-13th. I had to cancelled my reservation and could not reach the hotel via telephone (kept going to voicemail) so I sent them an email towards the end of May. I received an email confirming my cancelation and...More

Thank lucyM6792GS
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded April 21, 2018

We have no control over bookings made by online reservations services. In point of fact? We generally do not even know what you pay tem and if we can find out? We are prohibited by contractual arrangements from disclosing them. Only our Reservation Manager has...More

Reviewed January 6, 2017

We've been there for more than a week. The room was small. When we arrive a dropped a tangerine on the floor. Couldn't find it. I eventually found it under the bed. Although the room had been cleaned already three times. The breakfast is the...More

1  Thank real1963
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded April 21, 2018

Thank-you for your comments. The tangerine is a first. I guess the cleaner had the same problem as you folks did in finding it!! We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests...More

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

This is a brilliant downtown bed and breakfast hosted by Todd who makes fabulous cooked breakfast of pancakes or scrambled egg, sausage, watermelon, orange, grapes, on the side, with coffee, cereal, and sitting at a cosy table. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Todd...More

Thank Marie C
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded April 21, 2018

Thank-you for your kind comments. We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests pleasantly surprised by any little extras they may find, rather than be disappointed with unrealized expectations. Breakfast is on...More

Reviewed November 7, 2016

First time we ever tried B&B's. I figured what can we lose? It was lovely so we checked out four. The rooms here were well appointed and comfortable. Hot breakfast was an unexpected treat. The innkeeper is a seasoned travel agent so was a font...More

Thank jknapman
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded April 21, 2018

Thank-you for your kind comments. We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests pleasantly surprised by any little extras they may find, rather than be disappointed with unrealized expectations. Breakfast is on...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in St. John's
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$70 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sunmandan
July 23, 2017|
Answer
Response from WideWorldTraveller | Reviewed this property |
I believe there are about 7 rooms; contact them directly for availability of the times you have asked for.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Awful customer service. Never stay at this place"
Read review
"the property has no elevator, so if you have mobility issues, best to be on lower floor."
Read review
"Rooms on back might be quieter but the front were deadly quiet too"
Read review
"Room 5 has excellent views of downtown St. John's."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing