We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn St. Johns

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn St. Johns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn St. Johns
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This Holiday Inn is not a good stay. Needs remodeled. Beds/pillows not very comfortable. Bathrooms VERY tiny. WIFI did not work reliably/at all in most places including my room and the lobby. Electrical outlets unsafe/not working. TV unwatchable MANY pixelated channels. Two water slides! but no whirlpool/hot tub. Attached restaurant is awful/overpriced. Walking trail around lake out back littered with...

Thank Levi J
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I stayed at this hotel from the 16 - 22 Feb 2017, the rooms were large and clean, very comfortable bed and the room service was excellent. My room was cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were very attentive to detail. The Front Desk was very helpful for the many questions I asked daily being a first time visitor to...

Thank PeterPalmer38
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi PeterPalmer38, Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted to hear you had a great first time trip to Newfoundland. We pride our staff on their hospitality and are happy that they were helpful to you with any questions you had. It sounds like the service was met every step of the way during your stay with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I normally sont complain bu the beds and pillows here are extremely unconfortable. The pool has a nice area but thw floor has a extremely slippery surface. It is very dangerous. I almost fell while walking. The breakfast that i prderwd from the menu took forwver to come out. It seemwd like they forgot to enter it in. However my...

Thank Kris2355
Churchill Falls, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I'm not impressed with this Hotel anymore. It use to be my go to place when I visit here but now it's showing its age, outdated, was not cleaned to normal standards, mattresses and blankets are worn out :( will not be staying here again

Thank Mountainmax
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Mountainmax, I am saddened to hear of your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. This is certainly not the service we are known for. If you wish to reach out to me to discuss you may do so by email Shannon.Denine@whg.com in an effort that I may look into this further. While I understand that your stay...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I came here with my four children because of the water slide and nice pool. I fully expected them to be packed full but the weekday crowds were okay. The children love it for this and the water slide was one to remember. For the adults it was a holiday inn like any other, exactly what you would expect. Breakfast...

Thank Silver C
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Silver C, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay with us and your children were able to take advantage of our pool and dual water slides. It is definitely popular for both kids and adults alike. As well happy to hear that despite breakfast time being busy that you did...

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I've been at the hotel for 6 days and have had great service. The staff are really nice and pleasant. The shower and toilet is a little dated but really clean. My room has a mini fridge built in to the entertainment-dresser media console and up to date. The only thing that I have not liked is the lack of...

Thank Norm H
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Norm H, Thank you so much for your comments. We're so happy to hear that our staff are friendly, we will be sure to pass along the kind feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the HDTV despite lacking any of your favorite channels. So delighted that the heating in your room was quiet and very accurate, your...

Bridgewater, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My daughter recently stayed at your hotel with a group visiting Newfoundland for a skating clinic. Her stay was supposed to be 2 nights but was extended to 5 nights due to poor weather and flight cancellations. We heard nothing but good things about how wonderful your staff was in accommodating this group of children for several days. You went...

Thank bdn440
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Even though we made reservations long in advance not one employee we interacted with advised us of the breakfast that is served at the East Side Marios. We had to learn that the on our last night from other guest. The new pool was nice but a poor design each time anyone comes down the slide a pool of water...

Thank Nunatsuak27
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Nunatsuak27, Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences of your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in you not being made aware of the restaurant hours including breakfast. I am surprised to hear of an issue with water being splashed onto the floor after sliding as we recently did...

St Davids
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I find it convenient when I visit SJ to stay here. the service and accommodations are consistent as well as very good. Check in and out is very quick and efficient. lots of convenient parking space near enough to the business community.

Thank Brent C
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Brent C, Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased with the service and accommodations as well as the parking. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Shannon D. Operations Coordinator

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The best thing about this hotel is the super friendly staff! They will answer any question and full fill any need! We had a problem with our bathtub and they sent the plumber immediately! Though the rooms really need renos, the bathrooms and sink area are just way too small a bigger person might find it uncomfortable! The beds were...

Thank Lucy Q
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Hi Lucy Q, Thank you so much for your comments. We are thrilled to hear you found our staff super friendly and able to fulfill your needs during your stay. I am saddened to hear of the trouble with your bathtub but am glad to hear it was rectified immediately. We are excited to announce we will be beginning renovations...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (81)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Room/Suite (21)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (2)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Other (22)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
#1 of 22 in St. John's
254 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
648 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $140 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn St. Johns staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St. Johns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a room on the top floor at the rear facing the outdoor pool. Very Quiet.”
PeterPalmer38, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the Elevators to keep away the noise.”
669silverc, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View of the pond and park in the back is nice”
956lucyq, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“i liked our room on the back, overlooking kennys pond”
dndhynes, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Traffic noise an issue,”
theresab232, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$107* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates