We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hotel

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Hotel
 Click to rate
Labrador City, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel in its self is decent! Clean, comfortable beds and what not! HOWEVER, with the four of us staying at the hotel we only had TWO face clothes and just ONE coffee cup! Yes, little things but it all adds up to your hotel experience! To top it all off (worst thing)my husband and I dropped our 15 year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelpenney
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to extend my apology for your experience. There should have been ample supplies in your room for 4 people and that was our error however a call to the front desk would have corrected the problem immediately as we have staff on shift 24 hours a day to take care of your needs. It is our policy...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location. Hotel is nice, however very basics. The new renovation is a great update and has a new clean feel. Parking is sometimes limited. Restaurant is very nice and food is good. Service is slow when busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your comments as they help us improve the things we can be doing better. Our renovations are still ongoing and we hope to be completed soon. I am happy you like what we've done so far and hope you come back soon to see the completed work!

Labrador, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stayed here for business, room service cleaning was spotty, gym didn't have any access to water...there is 2 restaurants which is nice. No airport shuttle which is a shame. Staff was friendly though, just an average hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee896
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there; Thank you for providing us your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know the things we can improve on. It's how we get better! We recently renovated our fitness room and a new water cooler is on site now but I apologize it was not there during your visit. I will look into all...

Grand Bank
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Staff were excellent and amenities were great, will definitely be staying here again!!!! The food at Jack's restaurant is great, have eaten here on numerous occasions and usually try something new each time. Always come away completely satisfied!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! I am extremely pleased that you were happy with your stay and will be coming back to see us. Hopefully on your next visit you can get to try some of the brand new items added to the menu in Jack's Restaurant :)

Reviewed 23 February 2017

The friendly staff,make you feel very comfortable, they go above and beyond, new renovations taking place at the present time but the hotel is kept very clean and beautiful would recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We feel that we have a great staff and I am happy to see they treated you well. We are very excited about the new renovations and can't wait for you to see the finished product. Hopefully we'll be all done the next time you come to visit :)

Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Extremely helpful staff. My review is all about the service. When people just want to make sure you feel like your home. Was out there in a snowstorm. The staff made sure everybody was comfortable and safe. Very clean and beds really comfortable. Used to stay at another hotel whenever I'm in town. Never will go back since staying at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleaX4465BC
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there; It was really great to read your review! Our goal at the Capital is to make our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home" so I am extremely pleased that you experienced it. We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully, minus the snowstorm :)

Old Perlican, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Hotel check in was fast. Renovations were being done but that never interrupted us in anyway. The staff go out of their way to help out in anyway they can. Rooms were clean as usual. I've stayed here for our lions convention for the past 8 years and always treated good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd A
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there; I am so happy your stay was enjoyable and the staff treated you well! We enjoy the Lions Club convention every year and look forward to having you see the completed new look at the hotel next year. It's the first time in many years I can recall there not being a snow storm on your convention weekend...

Labrador City, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017

excellent service, staff real nice, price excellent,, great meals, Went out for medical reason and close to Health Science... this reason should be added as to purpose of our stay...not there to select... reason why i selected solo for sort of trip... as no medical there to select too bad they do not have few rooms, perhaps floor level near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank npinsent
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope all is well with your health and next time you visit us it will be for rest and relaxation :) We work very hard to ensure our guests receive the best possible service at the best possible price, I am happy you were pleased with all aspects...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016

ate lunch with a group from work - restaurant was about 1/2 full yet service was incredibly slow. Server was polite but took forever to get appetizers, waited about 45 mins for main courses, and we weren't even offered coffee/tea. We actually had to track down another server to get our bills! The food was fine, but if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there; Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the service at Jack's. I do apologize if the service you received was not up to the standards that we expect from our employees. I will certainly follow up with the chef. I am not sure the size of the group that was here but for a...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed here many time for our annual Christmas Party. Room is always nice and clean - check in is always prompt. Great place to stay.The area is always decorated nice for Christmas and the food at the buffet is amazing! Cant wait to return :) tonight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hereandthere043
jhill4480, Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great comments! We really appreciate hearing from our guests. We strive to provide a great guest experience and your feedback helps us continually improve. Happy to hear you had a great meal as well! Thanks again :)

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
254 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
370 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Capital Hotel

Address: 208 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $116 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel St Johns
Capital Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little extra for a king.”
hereandthere043, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is always great!”
cavelleclark, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At The Top Floor Like Room 400 Or So”
Shadow100000, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I only saw our room but the hotel does have elevators”
mandypeck56, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid staying on a Friday or Saturday unlesss you're there with a wedding.”
cfuerth, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$104
Booking.comUS$104
Orbitz.comUS$104
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates