We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hometel on Signal Hill

Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, free continental breakfast, free local calls, free long distance calls in North America, limited free parking on site, free parking on nearby streets, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, in-room coffee/tea maker, 2 bottle of free water, free daily local Newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Golf Course
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
233Reviews
61Photos
5Q+A
64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 112
  • 32
  • 19
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were 6 adults staying at 2 houses at Hometel on Signal Hill. Perfect place with easy access to both hiking on Signal Hill and to Quidi Vidi Village, and downtown to restaurants and bars. The area is quiet, breakfast yummi and very warm and helpful assistance at all time. We
Read more
Response from Gordon M, Director of Sales at Hometel on Signal Hill
Responded Oct. 26, 2018
Danish Tour Manager, So wonderful to get your review and hear that you had a successful tour of St. John’s. We are delighted that you enjoyed our set up which allows people to book a room or a full house. Each of our rooms are fully contained Hotel rooms so that everyone can have their own room plus bathroom and if sharing a house have a living room and kitchen. Located at the heart of old St. John’s and close to hiking trails and close enough to all the delights the city offers. We will look forward to you coming back again soon.
Read more
Mixed review on this place. I've been to St. John's many times, a city I adore more than any other in the world. This booking was a disappointment. I love to find unique and memorable accommodations when I travel, this one did not provide that experience. My fault perhaps,
Read more
Response from Gordon M, Director of Sales at Hometel on Signal Hill
Responded Sep. 20, 2018
Julie, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to do a review. Thank you also for acknowledging our check-in, staff and cleanliness - these are certainly things we take pride in. Hometel on Signal Hill has 4 different room types and it is not clear from your description - which room type you were in. We have 2 third floor premier rooms and each of their bathrooms are larger than the bathrooms for the units on the second (Standard Rooms) or the first floor (Deluxe Room). 80% of our rooms have been upgraded with new beds and an accent wall color. Sorry though that we missed the mark with you. Glad you had an awesome time in beautiful St. John’s.
Read more
The hotel / B&B is close to Downtown StJohn’s. Short walk to Duckworth & Water Streets. Staff friendly on check in and knowledgeable about the area. We were on the top floor and was quiet. It was reported by our friends who were on the bottom floor that it was noisy early in the
Read more
Response from Gordon M, Director of Sales at Hometel on Signal Hill
Responded Sep. 20, 2018
Kaliki, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am delighted that your stay with us was a positive one. It looks like we checked off many boxes for you for your stay. The stairs can be a problem but our helpful staff are always happy to help with luggage - going up or going down. The stairs are also great training for your climb up Signal Hill - there is no such thing as a leisurely stroll through downtown St. John’s.
Read more
We visited St. John's in August, 2018. This Hometel was in a great location and easy to find. Our bedroom was really great with a fantastic bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was great. We climbed Signal Hill and returned around the harbourside. The next day we went the
Read more
Response from Gordon M, Director of Sales at Hometel on Signal Hill
Responded Sep. 18, 2018
Jean, Thanks for the wonderful review and we are delighted to hear that you had a great time in St. John’s also. Our location is perfect for the kind of holiday that you planned and had. We deliver a nice nutritious continental breakfast and beautiful clean rooms which always get praised along with our great staff. You will have to come back again and enjoy many more of the sites and sounds of St. John’s Metro
Read more
The hotel/motel is centrally located if you have a car. It is 1.5 km from the centre of St John’s but it is central to the signal Hill venues and Quidi Vidi village/brewery. The facility is 10 townhouses all connected. Each townhouse has three units. The units are standard hotel
Read more
Response from Gordon M, Director of Sales at Hometel on Signal Hill
Responded Sep. 18, 2018
Bhoppins, Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property. Our location is wonderful for those who enjoy being in the heart of old St. John’s - as you mentioned. Many people enjoy walking also either up toward Signal Hill or down toward the city centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed many of our positive qualities - and while our location is great - it is our cleanliness and our great staff that people grade as our best qualities. Parking can be a challenge no doubt especially when we are busy. There is street parking in the nearby area.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHometel on Signal Hill
Premiere Queen (Garden View)
PreviousNext
12345
What is your cancellation policy?
Thanks for your question. I have two answers for you. For our individual rooms it is 48 hours. For full home rentals, we ask for a 10% non-refundable deposit. For full home rentals, we also ask for 7 days notice for cancellation. Sincerely, Gordon Martin Director of Marketing
1 vote
Noise level was normal for people moving around (above or below your unit). Parking is a serious issue especially if Hometel is fully occupied. Residents across the street are very irate with hotel as the area is a driving/parking hazard. Beware - received $60 ticket for infringing about 6-8" on tenant's driveway.
0 votes
The problem has been repaired and all the rooms now have a upgraded heat pump air conditioning unit which replaced the air conditioning units in the windows.
0 votes
Hometel is a great place to use as a base for your exploration of St. John's and the Avalon Peninsula. We are right in the heart of St. John's yet on a quiet street away from the noise of downtown. We have no basement rooms yet our ground floor rooms have obstructed views. We have a variety of room types including 2 ground floor suites that can give you a small kitchenette if you are staying longer. Our rooms are exceptionally clean. Our staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Our parking in the summer is a challenge. We do have limited parking on site and plenty of parking in the surrounding community within 0.2km from the hotel. We do our best to work with our long staying guests to ensure that their time on our property is awesome.
0 votes
"Make certain to ask for a higher floor."
"I would choose a room on a higher level, not the main level unless you want to park your vehicle outside your door."
"A room on tbe top floor may be quieter."
"All floors are quiet only 2-3 rooms on each floor. There’s no elevator, so if you don’t like stairs, stay on the first floor."
"Ask for a room on the top floor"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hometel on signal hill hotel st. john`s
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandSt. John's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing