We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard St. John\\
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 402: English reviews
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Smitty's Restaurant closed recently in this hotel for "refurbishment". Therefore, there was no Cooked breakfast or evening meal available. They could only provide a Continental breakfast with day long complimentary tea & coffee. The eventual completed dining format was in some doubt during my two recent stays. This is unfortunate because in every other aspect, the Marriott is an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to lack of restaurant service during your stay, however, we can promise that our new restaurant experience will be truly incredible. We are proud to let you know that renovations are almost completed! Thank you for staying with us!

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel four times now. Each time has been quite enjoyable. I may be a little biased, since I have some wonderful memories of stays in this hotel. The first three times were retreats for myself and my husband. Romantic getaways. A break from home life. All of these were quite nice. The first time, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lejopi
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your kind words are very much appreciated, we love having you stay with us as much as you love staying here. It is so wonderful to hear that such momentous occasions in your life have been enjoyed here and indeed enhanced by our lovely property and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked this hotel based on the positive ratings on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The staff is excellent and very pleasant, willing to answer any questions, there to call a cab or recommend a restaurant, or offer a coffee while you wait in the lobby. Another huge perk - location, location, location. Located downtown, you're less than a 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadian_shamrock17
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed our excellent staff, central location and clean, spacious rooms during your stay. We are happy to report that our renovations are almost completed, our gym is already up and running with brand new equipment! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were there on July 23-24, 2014. We had reserved our room three months in advance but the hotel did not tell us until three days before we arrived that it was undergoing renovations. To compensate, we were given a room with a harbour view on the 5th floor. The restaurant in the hotel was open for the clients of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lameremichele
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable input, it sounds as though our centrally located hotel fit your needs nicely. We are very glad that you enjoyed your harbor view upgrade and free parking. Thank you for staying with us!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was under construction during our stay, but we were well informed prior (so no surprises), although it wasn't obstructive in anyway. Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean, considering the construction. Hotel is in a nice location with only a 7 minute walk to George Street. You will pass many restaurants and shops along the way.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark L
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to write this great review. We are so happy to hear that we were able to mitigate renovation disruptions and you had a wonderful stay! Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will be able to come back and see our finished product very soon!

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for a two night trip. Place is nice and new, breakfast buffet is great and always stocked up. The only complaint I had was that the noise levels in this place are not so great. You can hear standard talking , TV etc really clear and its a negative when your trying to sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrevorMNL
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your review is very much appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful newly renovated guest rooms! We will take your concerns into consideration. Thank you for staying with the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. We booked a junior suite but were upgraded to a one bedroom. The room was recently updated and the bed was very comfy. Our room overlooked the harbour and we had a view of Signal Hill. The hotel was still undergoing renovations but that did not impact our stay at all. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbg2
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and 5 out of 5 rating! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your spectacular view of Signal Hill from your Suite guest room. We will pass along your comments regarding our exceptional staff, we are very proud of the fine hospitality that they provide to you, our guests! Thank you for choosing to...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Courtyard Marriott was the last stop for my boyfriend and I on our East Coast trip. You cannot beat the location. Without a car, our time in St. John's was going to be spent on foot. From the Marriott we were able to walk to George St, our Whale Watching tour at Pier 7, tonnes of restaurants and shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra K
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you chose to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott while in St. John's, it seems as though our central downtown location was prefect for you during your vacation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated and stylish guestroom (and that wonderfully cool guest room AC!). We are very...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in early July. The lobby/restaurant renovations were underway, but staff seemed to do their utmost to minimize the inconvenience. We obtained a better room than originally booked and we took advantage of the junior suite's spaciousness. Continental breakfast was well done with plenty of fresh fruit. Close to many downtown attractions, restaurants, and shops, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our exceptional staff did a great job ensuring that inconvenience was minimized during renovations. It sounds as though our central water front location was perfect for you during your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!

Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Courtyard is in a really great location, very easy parking lot across the street. You can park your car and walk to most downtown sites from here. Out of the Water St. door to the east 100m is a beautiful Terry Fox memorial. If you are looking for all the perks from a normall Marriott stay, you will not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will take all of your comments into consideration. We are currently undergoing renovations which will be completed in the coming weeks and unfortunately some of our usual courtyard amenities such as our fitness room have been unavailable. We are looking forward to revealing the new refreshed version to our guests very soon! It sounds...

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
534 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
230 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 24 in St. John's
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A newly renovated, award winning hotel ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district; we are a short walk to Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland Canada
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
St. John's Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Hong Kong, China
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles LorneCindy, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back site by Water Street have lovely views of the Harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles karmag492, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Highest floors are best and insist on waterside when you book”
 of 5 bubbles uncom4tablynumb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Waterfront view”
 of 5 bubbles DaNLTravellers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View to the harbor side”
 of 5 bubbles Puffinman, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5