JAG

JAG

115 George St. West, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 0B7 Canada
Traveller (308)
Corner king room
Room & Suite (77)
JAGFood Dessert
Dining (37)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 23 hotels in St. John's
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in St. John's? Then look no further than JAG, a romantic hotel that brings the best of St. John's to your doorstep.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service while staying at JAG. In addition, JAG offers a fitness center and breakfast, which will help make your St. John's trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is paid private parking available on-site.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting St. John's, JAG is located a short distance from Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist (0.9 km) and Cape Spear Lighthouse (2.1 km).

During your visit, be sure to check out one of St. John's' popular shrimp restaurants such as The Rooms Cafe, St. John's Fish Exchange Kitchen & Wet Bar, and Saltwater Restaurant, all a short distance from JAG.

St. John's is also home to MUN Botanical Garden, a popular garden that is not too far from JAG.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at JAG as you experience everything St. John's has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

115 George St. West, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 0B7 Canada
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
St. John's Airport
557Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 397
  • 118
  • 21
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Randy wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic Staff, Room and Eats!
We were given a Special Rate for our Room that usually applies to a smaller room which we appreciated very much.
My wife and I have stayed there many times and totally enjoy the music theme of the hotel. Especially the large pic of an infamous guitar player over the bar. I won't name him, you will have to guess! (Which many people get wrong)
Great location for walking downtown to shops and bars.
Hopefully will stay there many more times in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Jr suites are great if you are having people visit. lots of sitting area!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Mar 10, 2021
Thanks so much for the great recommendation. We really appreciate and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deb-terr wrote a review Aug 2022
Brockville, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I had a fabulous time staying at the delightfully unique and enjoyable hotel! The reception was very friendly and check in was easy and swift. Our room on the fourth floor was meticulously clean, comfortable and quiet. We also enjoyed our included breakfasts, a choice between two freshly made ones, which we could also book a time for each day, and included in the rate of our room. I would suggest booking with them directly to get the breakfast option. We also loved the made in Newfoundland chocolates left in our room every evening and the cool musical vibe permeating the atmosphere! Their toiletries were also exceptional as well as being made in Newfoundland. As well, the location of this hotel simply cannot be beat!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Thanks so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hookedonjetfuel wrote a review Jun 2022
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great and being closer to the water there's not as much climbing hills to go sight seeing. The lobby is SO much fun. If you like rock and roll, you'll enjoy the decor and also the music. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. There is a fee for valet parking but it's worth it as there was a rash of car break ins going on. The valets were really efficient so you had your car in moments.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelnfoodcriticblogger wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were not overly thrilled with the room. Couple of the lights didn’t work, the duvet was worn, and you could feel the the knobs on the linens. Our bed in general the foot was higher than the head position not sure why and we only had two pillows. Wasn’t a very comfortable night’s sleep. I really thought this was one of the nicest hotels in St. John’s but it was average comparable with Ramada. We did get it for a cheap rate...88+tx on Expedia. I guess you get what you pay for. Not really any on street parking without a permit. And Valet service was free during COVID but expect to pay for it after. The bell boy/doorman was very kind. They did keep things clean constantly in the front entrance n elevators. The hand sanitizer station by the main door was empty the whole time we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Nov 1, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and yes, they are being very diligent with regards to Covid-19 cleaning. We have several hand sanitizers stationed in the lobby, desk, elevators and all public spaces. The rate that is paid is definitely not an indication of the quality of the room you receive. We believe that every guest deserves the same quality experience that we strive for regardless of the price paid. We do have letters in all rooms and advise on check-in that because of Covid-19 we have decreased items and amenities in the rooms however indicate that any additional items required would be brought to you by our team 24 hours a day. We have not noticed any beds with position issues and we typically only get great feedback on the comfort of our beds. Our maintenance department does regular inspections of our rooms but if you would like to contact us with the specific room you stayed in we can investigate a little further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caperrobert wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an amazing property . The decor and music are unlike anything you will experience anywhere. Rooms are very comfortable, staff is typical Newfoundland, very friendly and social. Location is downtown near all the bars and restaurants, staff turn down the bed every night and put music on in your room. The music memorabilia on the walls is beautiful. If you like music and a great vibe stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Thank you so much for the awesome review. We really appreciate it! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr Andy S L wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I began our two weeks trip around beautiful NL in St John’s. There were a number of great hotel choices available and I stumbled upon the Jag Hotel by accident at Expedia. So lucky for us as this was an excellent choice! I can’t believe the value for the money here. I think because of covid and the resultant slowdown in leisure and business travel, the hotel was able to offer such an unbelievable price for a top rated hotel.
The room was spacious and very comfortable and looked almost brand new (I think the Jag is under ten years old). I loved how quiet it was at night which made for excellent sleeping. The nespresso coffee machine with free coffee and tea in the room was a nice touch. Overall it was very relaxing while we were in our room.
There are loads of restaurant choices down by Water Street and if you are into the bar scene, world famous George Street is only five minutes by foot. Many of the city’s attractions are also within walking distance. If you have a car you might be lucky to snag one of the free parking spots on the street too. All in all highly recommend the Jag Hotel for your next trip to lovely St John’s.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Thanks so much for the 5-star review! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodel wrote a review Jun 2024
Los Angeles, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed six nights at the JAG Hotel and it was a very pleasant stay. The lobby is roomy, inviting & trendy, with interesting art and décor that is obviously rock & roll themed. Check in was smooth and efficient, and the front desk staff was friendly and personable. Shout out Sky! The rooms are very standard hotel fare, I’m not sure if we expected guitar-shaped beds or mic stand lamps haha. But our room was spacious, and had a view of the ships in the harbour.

There was no fan in the washroom of the room though, so showers caused lots of mirror condensation, which was fine since it went away quickly. The TV didn’t have loads of channels or variety, no movie rental options or connection with devices.
Our only major issue was with Exile restaurant… generally, the staff was not the most welcoming and always asked if we had reservations. We totally understand busy establishments, but sometime when we WOULD have reservations, we still were made to feel like we did something wrong. Obviously reservations are extremely important at Exile, but let’s also remember that some people are on vacation and theres always possibility that travelers could come down to their hotel restaurant on a whim. Another hiccup was first night, our bartender didn’t seem to know what “settle up” meant, and poured another round. We good-naturedly accepted a few of the drinks but when we realized he was preparing a second round we explained that we wanted the bill and not a second round, and he seemed EXTREMELY annoyed. Let’s train the staff on what “settle up” means please.

Standouts were the lady in the blazer in Exile that was always friendly and accommodating (sorry didn’t get your name!), and Madison the hostess that was also nice. The entire front desk and housekeeping teams were OUTSTANDING

All in all, we would stay at the JAG again because it’s just a short walk from the major strips of Duckworth and Water streets, so always close to the pubs and shops.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: make RESERVATIONS at exile!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Departure2995 wrote a review Sep 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel Aug of this year. Entering the hotel there is someone there to one and close the door for you. Really liked this! Upon entering you could see water and lemon water there to have a drink if you so wished. Probably should be refreshing this water throughout the day. It looked like it was there all day and not changed. No ice or dew on the container to say it was cold and fresh. Checkin was ok. Nothing really there to compliment or complain with. Given room key and went to room. I was dreadful upon entering m. It smelled musky, the 2 chairs were well worn and the AC unit had more dirt. Apparently, it want cleaned at all as ice who knows when. I would not get a shower or remove my clothing to sleep. I think the hag should be upgrading what they have there then building an extension. My first and last time staying at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. After a long day’s travel, we are so happy to treat our guests to a warm welcome from our doormen followed by a cool drink to quench their thirst. We refill and ice the units several times a day however it seems you may have arrived at a time when it was due to be topped up. We will be more diligent in checking that in the future. Had your concerns with your room been communicated with our team we would have gladly moved you and rectified any issues. We pride ourselves on clean, comfortable rooms. We are very excited about our expansion and the upgrades and renovations that are happening at both buildings. We do hope you reconsider and come back another time in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
9163cindyr wrote a review Aug 2021
Chatham, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself was great. Parking not so great but it is in the city. Very clean and the rock music theme is fun. This is an upscale hotel so there was a charge for everything and a $100 hold on our credit card. No other place we stayed for over 3 weeks on the island did this. Our room was great. Large and very clean. Everything was in plastic (tv remote coffee maker cups etc). Beds were super comfy and lots of pillows. Full Breakfast came with room which was great. Husband asked for orange instead of coffee. Waitress never said a thing but when we left we were charged for it. She could have mentioned that. We were on motorcycles which we parked in underground parking. Both bikes in one spot but we were charged 2 valet parking charges AND HST to each. Just Seemed a bit much. Location is great for walking to Water st and George st. Would recommend just know there are extras.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Construction going on around hotel. Charge for underground parking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at JAG
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are not sure how the other properties you stayed at take care of their billing practice however it is standard practice for us to place a small hold on everyone’s credit card for incidentals. Our valet parking is charged per night/ per room. If you had 2 motorcycles from the same room that would have fit in the one parking space you should have only been charged once per night for your room. Unfortunately without knowing your details and room number we are unable to verify this. Hopefully you had a wonderful trip to our province and we would love to see you come back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BONNIE W wrote a review Jun 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My expectations exceeded what in reality this hotel offered. While there is valet parking at $15/day, there is little other option for parking. The wild patterned and coloured carpets in the rooms and hallways are loud and gaudy. Paintings of musicians including Bob Dylan, Mick Jagger and Iggy decorate the foyer. Our view overlooks the port where hundreds of sea cans are stored. Traffic from the street is noisey. We were told there is a white noise cancellation device in the room but we aren’t accustomed to one. There is an exterior renovation going on making navigating challenging. We were not told about this when we booked.

The beds are comfortable. There’s a mini fridge and coffee maker. An herbal offering would be nice for those of us who aren’t coffee drinkers. The wifi is excellent. Television uses Comcast so you can stream easily from your own accounts securely.

If your idea like mine was to walk around downtown, this is not the right place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Limited parking. Valet parking $15/day. Noisey street outside our room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K. Kelly asked a question Mar 2024
Guelph, Canada6 contributions
Does The Jag Hotel offer an airport shuttle service?
Answer from LenaB
Norway8 contributions1 helpful vote
Unless it has changed since last summer they do not. However, there is a taxi service outside the arrivals doors at St. John's airport that offer flat rates from the airport to downtown hotels. In 2023 we paid $ 35 and they do accept credit cards. I would advice you to contact JAG dirctly, though, it case things have changed.
Colleenm asked a question Oct 2019
Is there room service?
Answer from SALESGUY46
Moncton, Canada16 contributions22 helpful votes
Yes.. amazing room service
vezina32 asked a question Feb 2018
Dartmouth, Canada16 contributions
Is there a charge for parking if you don't do the valet parking
Answer from kashaw100
St. John's, Canada16 contributions1 helpful vote
There is a $12 valet secured parking fee
Jonathan D asked a question Sep 2017
Oahu, Hawaii3 contributions1 helpful vote
Is breakfast included with a stay?
Answer from kashaw100
St. John's, Canada16 contributions1 helpful vote
no
Jonathan D asked a question Sep 2017
Oahu, Hawaii3 contributions1 helpful vote
Is breakfast included with a stay?
Answer from Chris D
Toronto, Canada46 contributions11 helpful votes
Nope.
BONNIE W wrote a tip Jun 2024
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited parking. Valet parking $15/day. Noisey street outside our room."
Read full review
Laurie B wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Water pressure on the 5th floor was not good, hold the toilet handle down for a long time to flush, shower took forever to warm up."
Read full review
Jodel wrote a tip Jun 2024
Los Angeles, California299 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"make RESERVATIONS at exile!!!"
Read full review
Al W wrote a tip Oct 2023
38 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room not overlooking the container opertion acoss the road - you'll miss the limited virew of the harbour but it'll be quieter."
Read full review
Maps32654471437 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Appreciated the excellent hotel restaurant after a long day touring. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. John's area.
PRICE RANGE
C$214 - C$293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandSt. John'sDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JAG - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about JAG
Which popular attractions are close to JAG?
Nearby attractions include Christian's Bar (0.4 km), George Street (0.3 km), and Newman Wine Vaults (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at JAG?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at JAG?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at JAG?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at JAG?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JAG?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gypsy Tea Room, Saltwater Restaurant, and St. John's Fish Exchange Kitchen & Wet Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JAG?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is JAG located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of St. John's.
Are any cleaning services offered at JAG?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JAG offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at JAG?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All St. John's HotelsSt. John's Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. John'sHotels near JAG
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars