Splash-n-Putt Cabins

Splash-n-Putt Cabins

Trans Canada Highway, Traytown, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2L0 Canada

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 2 campsites in Traytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are located at the West entrance to the Terra Nova National Park, and share a parking lot with the Terra Nova Attractions Water Park. We have twenty, fully renovated, two bedroom cottages and a conference centre. We are rated as a 4 star resort by Canada Select. We cater to conferences, training seminars, family reunions and any other gathering of 100 or less persons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
17Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Danah N wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed two nights in cabins 12 & 13. Cabins were clean and tidy. Utensils, kettle, toaster and coffee perk in each cabin. We were very happy to have cabins directly across from the playground and the cabins had a ramp on the step which was nice for the kids riding bikes. The BBQs were dated and had some rust and the linens are in desperate need of updating but other than that everything was great. Staff were all very friendly. Super convenient that the water park is within walking distance! (Website needs updating as it does not list all information, we didn't even know there was a playground)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JayLaw1 wrote a review Jul 2014
NL34 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice little spot in the woods. Right next to Splash n Putt park, and very handy for visiting same. Right at the west gate of Terra Nova National Park, and also handy for visiting that. 7 Minutes from Glovertown, 5 minutes to Traytown. 3 hours to St. John's Airport. Just under an hour to Gander.

Nice little cabins, which are absolutely spotless. Two bedroom plus a pullout couch. Full kitchen and bathroom. Nice front deck with bbq and picnic table. Staff very friendly and helpful. None of the literature mentions the wifi, but there is wifi available, just check your device to see which router is closest to your cabin, and ask for the code at the desk. (It's satellite based internet so it isn't blazing fast, but it will let you do the basics.)

There's a communal fire pit for anyone to use, and a small playground for the young'uns.

The place is kept spotless, and they hang the towels and sheets out on the clothesline when the weather is nice.

One small nit to pick: some attention needs to be paid to small repairs. Cracked switchplate, a hole in a door which the patch had not been completed on, broken window cranks... small little things. We didn't much mind those things, as we weren't spending much time in the cabin.

There's a TV with 5 satellite channels and a small electric fireplace.

Don't forget to take out the trash and wash the dishes before you leave! Housekeeping service is available, but costs extra. Not an issue on a two-night stay, for sure.

Liked it, would stay again on a Glovertown area visit.

Bonus: round of mini golf after checkout before the drive home! :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank W wrote a review Jul 2015
St. John's, Canada19 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great little cabin very clean. Adjacent to Splash N Putt park. Quiet area, some highway noise. Outside deck w/bbq and table (propane free w/stay). Kitchen includes fridge, stove, microwave, toaster,coffee maker, pots pans cutlery. Two bedrooms w/double beds, pullout sofa in living room. Decent beds fairly comfortable. TV is SMALL. Full wash room,towel service,(swap towels at office) Water pressure in shower is awesome! Some minor cosmetics. Most room doors stick or would not latch properly, no big deal...Would stay again and recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenda L wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at these cabins July 2nd to 4th, 2021. We were a party of 2 adults and 4 kids so we rented a 2bdrm with a pull out couch. The cabins were incredibly clean and the service was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again. It is a 1 min walk from the water park and so was very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suzziesmith wrote a review Aug 2015
Corner Brook, Canada2 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here about 10 years ago, thought it was cute then. Came back now and nothing has changed, same dishes, same comforters, window coverings, couch/chair, bedroom furniture including uncomfortable mattresses....after that long I would assume something's would be updated. The only thing changed was the price, it went up. They had a new flat screen tv, maybe 15".

After traveling would be nice to have a comfortable bed to sleep in. Overall, not impressed could do some more upkeep on the place and take the cabins out of 1989.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nina D wrote a review Jul 2015
Gander, Canada4 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabins are within walking distance to the park, extremely overpriced, $30 for two go-kart rides. The cabins haven't had much work done with them in MANY years, the bed frames are about 25+ years old and the mattresses and bed clothes (lets not go there) the worst sleep in history. I spilled some water on the floor while I was there, wiped it up with a paper towel, well lets say it was black. Make sure you wear something on your feet. The TVs are the size of a computer screen, with only 5 working channels. The pots and pans are old and scratched to pieces. There is a coffee pot, but no coffee. Would be cheaper and more comfortable to stay in a hotel, at least in a hotel they give you shampoo and a coffee, which I think should be included for $186 taxes in a night.

Overall I think the entire place is over rated and definitely not worth the price for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scotte823 wrote a review Apr 2015
Flatrock4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Tray town cabins for the last five years and we always have an amazing family getaway. We have a 5 year old girl and a 15 month old. There are always other families with lots of kids on site and the girls have a great time. The cabins are cozy and very accomodating. The heated pool on site is actually heated and great no matter what the weather. The location is great as it is minutes from Splash n Putt amusement park and also very close to Eastport and Sandy Cove beaches. We are staying there again this summer and I would recommend this spot to anyone considering the area. Staff are also very helpful if you need anything.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marlene H wrote a review Aug 2014
4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great but the price for 4 people is almost $200 per night. The cabins are in dire need of repairs. Windows that do not open without manually pushing them out, cracks in walls torn screens,, and the pull out couch that is worn out, dirty and provides absolutely no support. You have to empty your own garbage and request clean towels. If you have a pet with you, you have to pay an additional $20.00 per night. Staff are friendly and the communal fire pit is welcoming. Make sure you bring your own wood!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: most rooms are the same.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ToddN346 wrote a review Aug 2016
Clarenville, Canada37 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures from the outside looked nice. The scent of cleaning solution was a put off moment as i entered the cabin but i thought" it's clean". I was wrong! There was several tangled hair in the tub and an insect that i killed trying to identify. Still thinking of making the best of it we settled in.
I'll list the problems or cons as there are few pros besides proximity to water park.
1) mildew and dirty grout lines in the disgusting tub
2)cracked deteriorated chaulking in tub and around toilet
3)too many insects inside the cabin
4)kitchen utensils were dirty
5)pots and pans were a hodgepodge of old, wornout with broken handles and no oven pan
6)the miniature tv with very few channels and loopy volume problems
7)coffee maker but no coffee
8)no stove exhaust hood that made it more stuffy inside and lead to 6 or more smoke detector set offs when there wasnt any visable smoke. I had to stand on my toes on the chair with broomhandle to silence
9) hot inside the cabin and the few fans gave little relief
10)no air conditioning
11)in attempting to cool things down i opened all windows and all screens have been abused and were bent this allowed mosquitos and bugs in
12) the bed and sheets were old and the matress terrible and we all had the worst restless sleep
13) i was told a late checkout was 30$ more on top of the 204$ i paid for a night with 2 kids
14)
I wouldnt have been so dissatisfied if i could have gotten some sleep. I will not recommend these cabins as 10-15 minutes away are much better at better rates. The only benefit is the close proximity to the water park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avalon S, Owner at Splash-n-Putt Cabins
Responded Aug 11, 2016
Hi Todd, sorry for the late response but we had made changes to our website, emails, etc. and this wasn't updated. I am sorry you had a bad experience but glad you decided to write a review as we appreciate all customer feedback. As new owners ( operating for two months ) we are striving to make improvements to our cottages. Our employees work very hard to keep the cabins clean and we will certainly look into this situation. We would love for you to return again. We have had many good reviews on facebook and I hope this is an isolated incident. Please feel free to contact us anytime if you wish to do so. Thank-you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim T wrote a review Oct 2014
Carbonear, Canada30 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cutomer Service galour!!! My son and I recently spent 2 nights there for his 5th Birthday and it was the best weekend. The weather was beautiful and the cabin was awesome. You just need to bring your food and toothbrush. We love going here every year because of the comfy accommodations and the staff, Kim! She is a fabulous advocate for these cabins and the surrounding areas. Kudos to her and the owner! Love it...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for one near their playground!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Jennifer H
3 contributions
The floors were not swept. The bathroom only had a complimentary bar of soap. The fold out sofa bed sags in the middle. The heaters do not all work. The screens in the windows are old. The cabins definately need so maintenance. I would really recommend saving your money and booking elsewhere.
Kim T wrote a tip Oct 2014
Carbonear, Canada30 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have kids, ask for one near their playground!"
Read full review
Marlene H wrote a tip Aug 2014
4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"most rooms are the same."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Traytown area.
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandTraytown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Splash-n-Putt Cabins - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Splash-n-Putt Cabins
What are some of the property amenities at Splash-n-Putt Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Is parking available at Splash-n-Putt Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Splash-n-Putt Cabins?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.