We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4825 49 Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3 Canada
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save!
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (127)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-06-16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-06-16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Yellowknife
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Explorer Hotel is the leading full-service hotel in Canada’s North with 259 guest rooms, variety of contemporary dining options and 7,500 square feet of flexible meeting and conference space. The Explorer Hotel offers top rated service and value for the business or government traveler, adventurer or for a team that is looking for a unique and special place to hold your next event for groups up to 540.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save!
648Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 292
  • 112
  • 19
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yellowknife- Kelly wrote a review Mar. 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Booked Staycation Package for my husband's 50th birthday. We were both amazed at the room, food and service received right from arrival. The staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to not only make our stay enjoyable but to also make my husband's birthday memorable. We would highly recommend staying or even just going for drinks and a meal, the food is incredible! Thank-you Explorer and staff for such a wonderful Staycation experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JMY775 wrote a review Mar. 2021
Northwest Territories, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
I cannot believe the treatment by Mr. General Manager of this beautiful hotel to a valued hotel guest when a guest reported missing items in the room. I happened to be in the hotel lobby area and overheard guest reporting missing items. As a witness to the whole conversation between guest and hotel staff, the guest was a little upset rightfully so but definitely did not speak in an accusing tone on the other hand the hotel staff spoke in a defending manner. TripAdvisor is a site to express customer’s opinion on a business, but not a site of credit (praise) for your own team and I believe not for businesses to discredit valued guests. For privacy I believe a GM should never ever disclose room number or missing items details on a public site, I believe Mr. GM is judgmental and wants to discredit the guest, isn’t marijuana now legal in Canada including Yellowknife, guest may have medical reasons and now Mr. GM of this hotel discloses the medical condition of this valued guest? I have spoken to several staff members the last couple of times I was at the hotel and was told they were not asked to do a criminal check or to do any drug tests so I was surprised that Mr. GM has 100% confidence in his team. Background check is not the same, I wonder if room actually had a safe? My last stay, I did not have a safe in my room. Guests with expensive items may have items that may not fit a small safe like a Zegna business suit and after witnessing the poor treatment this guest received. I, personally would not recommend this hotel and will not be staying here in the future. Strange to there was no mention from Mr. GM about security camera, most hotels these days have cameras in hallways for guests’ safety. As a return guest, I find the level of this hotel’s customer service and cleaning standard really has gone downhill. If this happened to me, instead of reporting this incident to Yellowknife RCMP, I would contact Human Rights Commission because I feel it is discrimination towards people possessing legalized marijuana. On my last stay last year, I reported to the front desk that I lost my phone charger, the desk clerk handled my issue immediately and handled it very professionally which is what made me decide to give this hotel a 2nd chance. The customer service was 5-star quality at that time but now I think not. Most likely Mr. GM will discredit my opinion, but I do not care because I will not return to this hotel anymore, because I do not want to be portrayed as a “criminal” or “liar” by Mr. GM when report missing items to his staff. I certainly will not recommend this hotel to any one else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Krysta B wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
After a nice afternoon of shopping we returned to our room with our items, house keeping had not yet been in our room as the bed was unmade etc. We left to an early dinner around 3pm returned to the hotel at 4:30pm, noticed that housekeeping was in and that there was a missing shopping bag worth $250 in items. We searched the room up and down x2 checked our vehicle and the bag was nowhere to be found. We contacted the front desk and they immediately were unwilling to help saying their staff does not steal and that we must have misplaced it. Very rude staff and unappreciative to their guests! This problem has not yet been resolved and we have not been reimbursed for our missing items.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer Hotel - Yellowknife, Owner at Explorer Hotel
Responded Mar. 10, 2021
Hello previous guest of room 615 at The Explorer Hotel, Upon your checkout of our establishment you approached the Front Desk and immediately started accusing us of theft, the day after you noticed the apparent items that went missing and began to demand we pay you an amount of $375 for missing items in your room. These items that you had mentioned included marijuana and marijuana paraphernalia, along with other vapor style products, in the exact amount of your final invoice for your stay with us. After your second attempt at threatening us into paying you, the amount missing suddenly changed from the $375 previously mentioned to a much lower $250, so why the change? Did you find some of the missing items? If you indeed did misplace some of the items is it not possible you misplaced the others? During your time at the Front Desk you were being extremely rude and disrespectful to our staff and myself, the General Manager. As we do not condone drug use on our property, or this foul treatment of our staff, we at that time informed you that we would not be compensating you for the alleged missing items as there was absolutely no proof of this. We did however look into the issue and we found that the Housekeeper that cleaned your room on the day in question, was in fact our Assistant Housekeeping Manager, who has absolutely no record of drug use, theft or any other discrepancies in his years of service with us. He is an exemplary employee and we are very proud to have him as part of our team! Further to your derogatory and belittling comments towards our Front Desk staff, once we informed you we would not be compensating you, you began to threaten us with, and I quote, “ I am going to put this all over the internet and news until you give me the money you owe me”, at which point we advised you to call the RCMP and have them investigate as we would no longer tolerate your abusive behavior. I would also note that our rooms are equipped with an in room safe, as most hotels do and have to question why your valuables were not placed in the safe. Having said that, we have the upmost trust in our employees entering the rooms and all staff undergo a thorough back ground check before being employed by us, so we do trust that you do not have to keep valuables in your safe, but in doing so it would ensure issues like this would never occur. We take pride in our “Home away from home” moto for all of our guests staying with us here at The Explorer Hotel, and we strive everyday to ensure all the needs of our guests are met to ensure all return when travelling through Yellowknife and we will continue to do so everyday. We have a great team here and take pride in all of their accomplishments, dedication and hard work they put in daily, especially through the global pandemic we are currently facing. As mentioned above, we urge you to contact the RCMP and we will absolutely cooperate with any investigation that may ensue. We wish you all the best and sincerely hope you, your family, your friends and all of your loved ones stay safe in these trying times. Karl H Schaefers
Read more
AM50 wrote a review Feb. 2021
Northwest Territories, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not a positive experience with this hotel! When I checked in, I overheard conversation between a manager and staff that indigenous people had to be checked in to the second (lower) floor, this was confirmed by the same staff who told me that this is their hotel un-advertised policy. I was shocked to hear this and cannot believe the owner of this hotel would endorse these kinds of racial policies. Indigenous Relation Department in Yellowknife should investigate the reasons behind these kinds of unfair policies!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer Hotel - Yellowknife, Owner at Explorer Hotel
Responded Feb. 25, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are not correct... we are no racists , especially with having employees from 15 different nationalities working at the hotel.... FYI ..The second floor is our self isolation floor.
Read more
Andrew An wrote a review Jan. 2021
Yellowknife, Canada3 contributions
Had a self-isolation in this hotel in January 2021. The room is nice and clean with a beautiful view. The services are good. The foods are good. I requested couple fresh lemon fruits everyday. They arranged with no issue. The staff are very helpful. Overall a good hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Good view and quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer Hotel - Yellowknife, Owner at Explorer Hotel
Responded Jan. 25, 2021
Dear V1325VGradrewa Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again very soon. regards Karl H Schaefers
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
explorer hotel yellowknife
LOCATION
CanadaNorthwest TerritoriesYellowknife
NUMBER OF ROOMS
259
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Explorer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Explorer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre (0.4 km), The Legislative Assembly Building (0.1 km), and Yellowknife City Hall & Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Explorer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Explorer Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Explorer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Explorer Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Explorer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Knight Pub, Traders Grill, and Elke's Table.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Explorer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Explorer Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Explorer Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Explorer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Yellowknife.
Are any cleaning services offered at Explorer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Explorer Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.