We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
620 Main St, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1E8 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-10-14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$132
TravelocityUS$132
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (54)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 22-06-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tattingstone Inn
Updated 22-06-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Casual Elegance in a Historic Setting. Located on Main Street in picturesque Wolfville, Nova Scotia. The Inn is a short distance from Acadia University and downtown area restaurants, shops and galleries. Featuring 14 rooms with private ensuite bathrooms on an acre and a half of manicured grounds to enjoy.​
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
495Reviews2Q+A90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 371
  • 78
  • 33
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NJ M wrote a review Jun. 2022
Halifax, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful property ,clean rooms, great bath products, nice breakfast but not well-informed on celiac disease and non-gluten requirements such as separate toaster for gluten free bread, and separate frying pan for eggs, etc. More education for staff on health and safety required if advertising safe eating for those with celiac disease.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
karenmpower wrote a review Jun. 2022
Rothesay, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in the Harwood suite! Extremely spacious with a gorgeous bathroom, and a huge deck with wicker furniture! It felt more like a condo than a room at an Inn! Breakfast was 5 star and so delicious! Vast selection of hot breakfast entrées. A lovely walk to downtown Wolfville and the .Saturday morning market. The bed was super comfortable along with the bedding and the pillows! So important when you are travelling. We were in Wolfville for our son’s wedding. We had our rehearsal dinner party at the Inn and it was perfect. We had 26 people with a cocktail hour out on the deck and the patio (beautiful grounds), and then a 3 course sit down dinner in the dining rooms. We could not have asked for a more special evening!….the attention to detail was amazing! We highly recommend this beautiful Inn!!🤗
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Harwood suite was amazing! It is on the second floor of the Carriage House building.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the detailed review, Karen You and your family were such a delight. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. We strive every day to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and it is quite rewarding to hear we’ve accomplished this with you. We will be sure to pass along your exceptional comments to all of our team. We thank you for recommending us to others and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
John B wrote a review Jun. 2022
River John, Canada33 contributions4 helpful votes
Attractive property both inside and out; onsite parking; warm welcome from owner upon checking-in; very clean and comfortable rooms; excellent freshly-prepared breakfast with a variety of choices. As it had come highly-recommended, would have liked to dine at this facility but no opportunity as the dining room was closed on the day of visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We're thrilled you enjoyed our crazy-good breakfast selections. I have to agree we do have a wonderful team here that does a fantastic job. One of the most frequent comments we hear is about how friendly and welcoming our staff are. So sorry you missed one of our Supper Club Dinner nights. We will be resuming them in the fall and hope to see you then.
Read more
Joanne L wrote a review Jun. 2022
Joggins, Canada1 contribution
We received Gift Certificate from my work family for our wedding last fall and finally made the trip to The Valley couple weeks ago. We chose Toad Hall for the night away, very quaint two story accommodations; very clean and decorated nicely. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Inn is within walking distance (bit of a walk but still nice) to downtown shops, bars and restaurants. Will definitely be back to stay and highly recommend this Inn to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Toad Hall is very private.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tattingstone, Joanne. We're so glad you took advantage of our great location, such an easy walk to what seems like countless great shops and dining options in downtown Wolfville. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you left with thoughts of returning. Nothing pleases us more than to see our visitors come back and we do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Nhiker wrote a review May 2022
ks580 contributions200 helpful votes
This inn was wonderful. It is a short walk into town or to the Coastal Trail. The building is lovely, as are the rooms. Staff was attentive and helpful. The breakfasts were the best food we had on the entire three week trip. And this was the nicest place we stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, Nhiker! This is such a lovely review and we are so flattered to have been the best breakfast and nicest accommodations for your entire trip! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and in particular that our extra touches did not go unnoticed. Thank you for the many compliments, I will be sure to share them with the team. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit!
Read more
Richard S wrote a review May 2022
St Peter Port, United Kingdom119 contributions69 helpful votes
The Tattingstone Inn was a very mixed experience. Parking behind the inn was convenient and check in was fine. We were offered help with our luggage and taken to our room which was large and seemed well appointed, but the first surprise was the bottles of wine and water with prices attached. On the one hand I suppose it is handy to have the option, particularly as there is a fridge in the room, but it did feel a bit commercial. The bathroom was OK although the bath was ridiculously short, particularly for a six footer, the sink had a crack, and I never particularly like shower curtains. It also became apparent that the decor of the room and hotel was quite tired; peeling paint and dirty window frames. We had been contacted in advance to advise that our first evening was the last of their gourmet meal experiences, and would we like to join them, $135/head including matching wine. We decided to accept and the meal was excellent with generally extremely pleasant wines. At the end we were offered tea or coffee and we asked for two espressos. We had been asked on check-in to choose a time for breakfast in advance and we went for 8.30am. Breakfast itself was reasonable although we were a bit surprised at the limitations on choice with prices given for additional items; this felt rather like the same culture that had priced the items in the room and was not something we had seen previously in many years of international travel. The next evening we went into Wolfville for dinner. It is either a longish walk or a short drive to the restaurant area and we chose the latter; parking in town is easy and my wife's feet were suffering somewhat! On check out the next morning I was advised that the credit card had already been charged (I had provided details on booking) and that the bill would be emailed to me. I didn't have a problem with that but when I received it early that evening in our next hotel in Charlottetown, I was somewhat surprised by the content. A small amount, I know, but when we had been offered coffee or tea after our $270 dinner, I had naïvely assumed it was included, but a separate $5.90 had been added to the bill. Even more surprisingly was an amount of $45.90 gratuity. No idea of the basis of the calculation and I can only assume it related to the dinner. Clearly it is usual to give a tip after a meal, and conceptually I don't have a problem with that, but one is usually given the choice both of the fact and the amount. If this is intended to be a compulsory predetermined gratuity, it should have been included in the price of the meal i.e. "$315.90, gratuity included". The Tattingstone has the potential to be an excellent Inn in an interesting town, but we were left feeling it was both the worst and most expensive (excluding the gourmet meal) of the hotels on our tour of Maritime Canada.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
We value the time you have taken to share your feedback and thank you for your gracious review of our Supper Club Dinner. We are an establishment where details really do matter so out of fairness to all readers on this site, a number of points need redress. Your dining experience: When we invite or make a dinner reservation for our guests we make it a point of telling them the cost as well as our gratuity policy. However, if we did miss informing you of our automatic gratuity for special dinners I am left with a question: since you stated you found “the meal was excellent “ however there wasn’t a gratuity left on the table nor did you inquire if there was one included in the cost when you were checking out? So I can only conclude you had no intention of giving our staff a gratuity for the attentive service they provided. Had an espresso been included in the price we would have offered one along with the coffee and tea. You also failed to mention the additional 10% discount applied to your room when we added our Stay and Dine package to your reservation. Our Breakfast: We are one of a few Inn’s which serve a made-to-order breakfast restaurant-style experience every morning. We’ve in fact become known for our breakfast service. Offering a whipped yogurt appetizer along with no less than a dozen options ranging from traditional eggs and bacon to 3 different styles of Eggs Benny, French Toast two ways, Pancakes, or some of our more unique creations like our Breakfast Skillet, Huevos Rancheros, or the Eastcoaster. In addition, we offer several gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan options. Your Room: You mentioned in another review you posted about The Great George as a wonderful experience, which I totally agree with as I have stayed there myself. They too have wine and water in their rooms for purchase yet you didn’t mention that in your review of their Inn? You also indicated in your review we were “ the worst and most expensive” however The Great George’s deluxe king room is 90.00 more than ours if you are comparing apples to apples. Even if you booked their Classic King, it is still 40.00 more than ours?? Since purchasing the Inn we have made a considerable investment throughout this property. In our seven years as owners, we have undergone several renovations, from our larger projects adding 5 more rooms, increasing our room selection from 9 to 14 rooms, including 2 luxury suites. The covered veranda and new stone entrance with rock gardens were completed in the spring of 2019. The entire Carriage House has been renovated with new cape cod siding and all new windows. Some of our smaller projects include converting several queen rooms to king-size beds, new furniture, and carpeting in several of our rooms, replacing 150 year old windows in the Main House,  adding a stone patio in the gardens with outdoor furniture for guests to enjoy.  Your room, in particular, has received a new king bedroom set, seating area furniture, and freshly painted walls with a bathroom renovation scheduled for this winter. We take pride in all we’ve accomplished since purchasing the Inn in 2015 but are very aware owning a 150 year old property there are always things needing attention. If I had my wish it would all be done but then reality sets in, there is only so much time or budget available so you have to pick your projects on a yearly basis which we have done even throughout this pandemic. With the rise in the cost of materials, we still have managed to give 2 rooms in the main house a complete makeover as well as a full kitchen renovation with new appliances. . We are quite impressed by the experience our entire team provides our guests every day. “You have such a beautiful property” …. “you have amazing staff” and “your breakfasts are wonderful” are comments heard by our overnight guests both in person and on this site every single day. We’re sorry that somehow you missed that experience. So you will excuse us if we take considerable exception to several comments you’ve made. You can be certain that we understand we still have lots of work to do however I can say with confidence because we are constantly focused on improving we already are an excellent Inn and are amongst the best properties in the area!
Read more
Robert C wrote a review May 2022
Chatham-Kent, Canada161 contributions25 helpful votes
My wife and I spent a delightful night in Toad Hall, a small guest house attached to the main building. A cozy living room downstairs, bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Breakfast room is filled with sunshine and many tasty choices to pick from so any tastes or dietary concerns will be met. Friendly, efficient and hospitable staff. Amongst the best we’ve ever experience. Only regret is we only had one night….could have spent a week!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Erika Banting, Owner at Tattingstone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Tattingstone Inn! We are honoured you considered us amongst the best you’ve ever experienced! I will be sure to pass along your thoughtful compliments to our entrée team who work very hard to create a beautiful atmosphere for our guests to escape to - they do an amazing job! We hope you'll visit us again in the near future….hopefully for at least a few days.
Read more
mauwa852 wrote a review May 2022
Mississauga, Canada33 contributions46 helpful votes
Lovely inn in wolfville. Centrally located, Fabulous breakfast. Warm hosts. Well appointed room. Had a fridge. Recommendations for dinner. Whipped yogurt. Great wifi. Decent cable. Comfy bed. Lovely shower.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
SuzyDes wrote a review May 2022
Oakville, Canada130 contributions53 helpful votes
Right from driving up the driveway, meeting Erica and then walking into our room ... we had an amazing stay. Our room was beautifully decorated. Warm and super comfortable. Great sleep on the beds. Daily breakfasts, made to order, were absolutely delicious. The surprise breakfast starter made from a combination of yoghurt (that's all Erica would divulge🤨) was very tasty. Pleasantly stuffed and happy we were set for our day to explore the high tides and the surrounding areas. I would recommend the Tattingstone Inn in a heart beat! Stay here if you get a chance. A short walk into Wolfville were there are a number of lovely pubs and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
kt_montreal wrote a review Mar. 2022
Montreal, Canada7 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We had an amazing stay at the Tattingstone last week. Our family of four (including two teenagers) were very comfortable in our room with two queen beds, a couch, fireplace and a beautiful bathroom + a private entrance. The staff was extremely welcoming and got to know our family by name. The inn is steps away from the university and very close to downtown and the waterfront. One of the highlights of our stay was the unbelievable breakfast that was included. We would, without reservation, recommend the Tattingstone to anyone visiting Wolfville!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaWolfville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tattingstone Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Tattingstone Inn?
Nearby attractions include Annapolis Cider Company (1.1 km), Wolfville Farmers Market (0.7 km), and The K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre and Harriet Irving Botanical Gardens (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tattingstone Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tattingstone Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Tattingstone Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tattingstone Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tattingstone Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Naked Crepe Bistro, Troy Restaurant, and Paddy's Brewpub & Rosie's Restaurant.
Is Tattingstone Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Wolfville.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tattingstone Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Tattingstone Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Grand Pré National Historic Site (5.4 km), Prescott House Museum (2.3 km), and Acadian Deportation Cross Memorial (7.6 km).