Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Coastal Inn Dartmouth

379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6 Canada
A towel sat underneath the mini fridge, probably because it leaks. And hand mild growing in, on and around it.
Traveller (18)
Air dryer had dust and hair stuck to it.
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
C$170
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$170
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#10 of 13 hotels in Dartmouth
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. Located close to the bridges to Halifax. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort YOU desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 1 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Grab and Go" continental breakfast, Free internet, Free Parking, Free Local Calls. Nova Scotia Accommodation registration # RYA-2023-24-03211232027379188-379
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

379 Windmill Rd, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6 Canada
103Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 37
  • 26
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AMsays wrote a review Sep 2021
Thornhill, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I finally found a hotel with a kitchenette so I decided to cook a homemade dinner. Made Pork Chops with Mushrooms and Noodles with Oysters. Worked out well. The hotel attendant, Ruth was most helpful in providing implements to use to cook and then, came to my rescue when I accidently went through an alarmed fire exit door. OOOPS.
The staff were all helpful. NIce to have a business centre. The breakfast was a bit meagre, the room a little dated but I left there feeling like i had had an excellent meal the previous night. Wonder who the cook was?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Somers, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Responded Sep 2, 2021
Thank you for your valued comments. The menu looks great. We are pleased you were looked after by our attentive staff. Hope to have you as our guest at another visitto Metro. Wayne Wayne Somers; Gen. Mgr.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmeePH wrote a review Sep 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Rm 115 on the ground floor. We were showed another room on the 3rd floor and it was dated, as mentioned by the other reviewers. We stayed 2 nights and the housekeeper did not clean the room on our first night, but took our garbage out and gave us extra towels.
The room was of adequate size and fairly clean. It looks like it had been updated because it didn't have carpet, but laminate floor. It didn't have a stove, but there was a newer fridge and microwave. The sheets smelled clean and the pillows had protectors, although it looked like the pillows needed to be replaced with new ones :-) Breakfast was mediocre but the front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful.

Overall, it met what we needed - a clean place to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RobandChristina wrote a review Aug 2021
St. Marys, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is located in a mix of mostly industrial and commercial. No views of any significance. Building and rooms quite dated. Mattress old. Kitchenette handy if that is important. Minimal amenities (such as towels which were old). Damp and musty- although A/C did keep the room cool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Somers, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Responded Sep 2, 2021
Thank you for providing your valued comments regarding your recent stay. Additional amenities are always available by contacting the Front Desk reception at any time. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations Wayne Wayne Somers;Gen. Mgr.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R v wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I tried to get a hotel and couldn’t do a cash deposit and my drive had already left. I had no way to contact anyone & The person at the front desk was an older man and would not let me connect to the internet OR use a phone. Mind you it was midnight & I was alone, and I am not from Dartmouth nor halifax. Absolutely discouraged with the service I got from them wouldn’t suggest anyone going to this hotel. The hotel up the street helped me out and was SHOCKER by how rude and ignorant this man was. Will NEVER visit again. Hopefully something is to be done about this man and how he treats people
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CoastalDartmouthGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Rv; Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback in regards to your encounter with our Front Desk Agent. I am sorry for the delayed reply. I have reviewed your comments with those concerned and made it clear that this type of negative service is not acceptable. If any guest wishing to check in can provide proper documentation including a valid photo ID, cash/debit deposit along with room payment or a valid credit card there should be no reason to refuse entry. Plus, you should have been permitted to use our phone. While we do have policies in place to ensure our guests receive a quiet night's sleep, this staff member misinterpreted and applied them too strictly. I am sorry for the events of that evening and hope you accept my sincere apology. Should you like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LL wrote a review Jul 2023
Almonte, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked the hotel the comments were that the rooms were clean. they looked nice and clean however that was not the case when we got there. The couch and carpet smelled like urine, the bathroom still had hair on the floor from the last customer and the air conditioner was filthy, there was still a dime from the last tenant. the fridge was dirty and unusable. too say we were disappointing in the money we spent is an understatement. Except for the fact that we booked through hotwire and were not able to get a refund I would never have stayed in this room. We left at 6 a.m. and declined the breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't go
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl B wrote a review Sep 2023
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The whole Inn had a funky dank smell to it. Like a basement or cabin that you only used a few times a year.

Everything looked worn and needed replacing. Our room had mold growing in and out of the fridge. There were cobwebs in all the corners, a layer of dust on everything.
Normally when you turn back the bed, if you had set new sheets, they would be smooth. These looked like hadn't been changed or if they were, someone got on the bed and rolled around on it to make them to appear that way? Or sheets that came out of a dryer and instead of folded were tossed in a bin and became all wrinkled. Take your pick I guess.
The room itself had a odd smell, like vinegar and cat pi$$. It wasn't pleasant.

And the room had a full kitchen, which if I had to guess, was installed in the 50's. It had a oven, so you could prepare a nice hot dinner, lol. The oven was very clean, surprisingly.

The good, it was available on a late night, no reservations on a busy weekend. The AC kept the room temp comfortable. There was a bed to sleep in and you got a free breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and it had free parking.

The misses isn't allowing me to plan/not plan hotels room ever again. I don't blame her.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
911ShelleyW wrote a review Aug 2023
Cochrane, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The convenience to the ferry across to the Halifax waterfront, and the fact it was quiet warranted the 2 stars. Unfortunately the hotel was dingy, the hallway down to the elevator not well marked. It smelt.. not mildowy, but not a pleasant clean smell. The place overall was dirty. From the hallways, elevator to the rooms themselves. The carpets were stained and room carpeting was dirty. The beds were clean so we did decide to stay. The breakfast in the morning was disappointing.. they had bagels but no cream cheese. Toast, cereal, yogurt and chocolate muffins was the complete breakfast selection. There was equipment laying all over in the breakfast
area ( it looked like several air conditioning units). We did expect better overall for a Coastal Inn.
We would not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chantal R wrote a review Apr 2021
Quispamsis, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the coastal inn for two nights. It was a very large space, very comfortable and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. I really enjoyed the sauna and the whirl pool that was in the suit, it was very relaxing, not to mention there was a very cozy fireplace in the room. The hotel overall is very clean and cozy. The housekeeping staff are very friendly and get the job done! I will definitely be back for another getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Audrey R wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quick and easy check in, lovely lady at front desk. Older inn, reasonably priced, room was clean, beds comfy and conveniently located for our day exploring. Breafast was simple,
toast, bagels, yogurt, cereals more than we would have at home for sure. Nice start to our day. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rowan wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lady at the front desk was shockingly rude. They could not have been less helpful if they tried. Completely unreasonable and just a waste of time. Room was expensive for what it was, outdated and really not clean at all. Not to mention the awful smell in the hallways, chose not to breathe through the nose when I wasn’t in my room. The rat traps really gave it some character. Felt like the building was built before the invention of insulation, woke up and thought I was on an arctic excursion. Also paper thin walls. Don’t waste your money or time, sleep on the streets before you come here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Toogood, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Responded Mar 8, 2021
Hello Rowan, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize for taking a few days to reply as I wanted to thoroughly look into your concerns. When you had originally made the reservation it was for two adults requesting one queen bed. Upon later discovery that there was an extra adult staying, who had not registered, you were moved to a larger room with two double beds so everyone had a bed to sleep in. Our front desk agent explained our policy and the rationale for the rate change. Perhaps this may have come across as not friendly or hospitable, as you did not expect the extra charges. The new room was a room that was recently renovated and I find it odd that you mention being able to hear noise as you were the only guests in that hallway. The heating unit in that room has been checked and works fine, so perhaps the other guests in the room had it turned off during the night, or it wasn't set properly. A call to the front desk would have quickly clarified the matter. I personally greeted you upon checkout the next morning and returned your security deposit after checking your room. The small pest traps located by the exterior entrances/exits to our building are there to ensure no related issues. We are inspected monthly by a professional pest control contractor to help us remain pest free. No one from your room mentioned any issues or concerns before leaving the hotel. I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I do apologize for any slight that you feel may have been directed at you. Should you wish to discuss your concerns, please feel free to contact me direct at 902-465-7777. Wayne Somers, General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Wayne S
Dartmouth, Canada
Hello. Yes there is either a Halifax Metro Bus Service or private Cab service to the airport. The Metro Bus service is the least expensive. Wayne
Wilma1234567890 asked a question Sep 2017
Charlottetown, Canada
Hi, do you have a pool?
Answer from Ron T
Dieppe, Canada
Sorry for the delayed reply. No, we do not have a pool at the Dartmouth location. However, our Halifax location (across the harbour at Bayers Lake) has a great indoor pool.
Answer from MktgMgrCI
Sackville, Canada
Dear Edie, Thank you for contacting us with your question. You may also visit us on our website. If you prefer not to book on the internet, you could call the hotel directly at 1-800-565-1565. I would recommend you reserve in advance in order to secure the reservation. We will gladly match our rate that is posted on the on-line travel agency sites.
T M wrote a tip Sep 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book online. Cheaper than calling hotel or other online booking websites. "
Read full review
LL wrote a tip Jul 2023
Almonte, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go"
Read full review
Caroll from Ontario wrote a tip Oct 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call hotel before to go and request what you need. They are very reasonable to help you"
Read full review
LongRoadTravelled19 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the upper level: The noise level from the lobby can be somewhat loud and easily heard in the ground level rooms."
Read full review
Sattonsilk wrote a tip Oct 2018
Guysborough, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Third floor is more updated and lower floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dartmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
C$143 - C$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityDartmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Coastal Inn Dartmouth - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Which popular attractions are close to Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Nearby attractions include Hugo's Bar & Grill (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fan's Restaurant, Ali's Place, and Nenas All Day Breakfast.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Coastal Inn Dartmouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 (5.4 km), Halifax Citadel National Historic Site (4.3 km), and HMCS Sackville (4.4 km).
Is Coastal Inn Dartmouth accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dartmouth HotelsDartmouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DartmouthHotels near Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars