We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
30 John Brenton Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3J 3S9 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (25)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (5)

About

#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Dartmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shubie Park Campground is the best camping in Halifax! Great sites, friendly staff, clean facilities, hiking, biking, swimming and easy access to Halifax and Dartmouth await you at Shubie Park Campground. Your perfect home to explore Metro Halifax and beyond!
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
126Reviews6Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 36
  • 20
  • 7
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Honeybear wrote a review Sep. 2021
Blainville, Canada112 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed only one night at this campground and the location was great. There is not too many campgrounds close to Halifax. I don’t think I would have stayed more than one night but it was very convenient. Service was excellent
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Oct. 8, 2021
Thank you for the great review and the lovely words about our service Carole - we would love to have you back again for a few more nights!
Read more
DT-PEI wrote a review Sep. 2021
463 contributions88 helpful votes
Prompt, easy and very friendly check-in. Easy access to the drive through site. Best advantage is the location in the middle of Dartmouth with easy access to everything needed. A plus is the easy walking distance to the Shubie Park walking trails along the canal. Only negative was the proximity to the road noise from the 118.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Honey wagon service available for those unable to get a EWS site.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Oct. 8, 2021
Thank you for the kind words about our service and location. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Read more
Sylvain B wrote a review Sep. 2021
1 contribution
Very expensive camping Not refundable if you change your mine No fire ring No picnic table,very small site for an 30 footer motorhome The wifi didnt reach The site too far away for the signal We dont recommend this camping
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Oct. 8, 2021
I am so sorry that your stay was not what you expected. It is true that we have a few sites without a fire ring - we do ask on our website that if you want a fire ring, to ask in advance and we will do our best. As we are located in a municipal park, some of our sites can not have a fire - I am so sorry that you weren't able to book a fire site for your stay. All of our sites do have a picnic table and wifi and our cancellation policy is one of the most flexible in the industry. I am so very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully we can make it up to you on a future stay.
Read more
Shannon T wrote a review Sep. 2021
2 contributions
We had a great stay at Shubie campground, it was so close to the university, which allowed us to stay there while moving our daughter in and easily make trips back and forth. Yes you can see the IKEA sign (it's not right next to IKEA though, it's just a really big sign), and yes it is a city campground with not the most privacy, but the staff were absolutely lovely, everything was clean and tidy, and the other campers were friendly and courteous. There are some awesome trails to walk with the dog or with kids, a playground, a beach, tennis courts etc. We would definitely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Oct. 8, 2021
Thank you so much for the kind words!! We are delighted that you had a great experience with us, that you appreciated our kind staff and clean facilities and our great trails. Hopefully we will see you back with us very soon!
Read more
Don S wrote a review Aug. 2021
Holland, Michigan4 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently enjoyed a stay at Shubie Campground in Dartmouth NS. Our original plan was to finally visit my Dad and family here for 10 days or so. That suddenly changed and the folks at Shubie were kind, sympathetic and quickly worked to help us out. My Dad had suddenly passed while I was here just before I was scheduled to leave. They worked their magic and basically kept me where I was for whatever time I needed ( in the middle of summer camping season too). This made things so much easier for us. So very much appreciated by our family. Thank you thank you The campground itself is in close to the city and all that it has to offer and not far from bus stop. While the sites are not delineated evenly, they are plenty big and most for rvs have electric and water. Very few have on site sewer but honey wagon available as is dump station. Sites are primarily grass. Free Wi-Fi was useless but we used our cell plans so wasn’t an issue. Good wood, although a little pricey at $10. Noise level was fine esp so close to highways, as campground is surrounded by trees. The beach and plenty of trails are accessible easily from campsite. An off leash dog area along a couple of those trails is also a great amenity to have for those of us with fur babies. To sum it up, this is a great place to stay and base your holiday from as well. I fully recommend it and the staff
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Aug. 23, 2021
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy we were able to help you out during your stay. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us again during happier times. Safe travels!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityDartmouthEast Dartmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shubie Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Shubie Campground?
Nearby attractions include Shubenacadie Canal Waterway (0.6 km), Dartmouth Crossing (0.9 km), and Cineplex Cinemas Dartmouth Crossing (0.6 km).
What are some restaurants close to Shubie Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ela! Greek Taverna, Seamus David's Pub, and Modern Orchid.
Are pets allowed at Shubie Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Shubie Campground?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 (7.6 km), HMCS Sackville - Canada's Naval Memorial (6.8 km), and Halifax Citadel National Historic Site (7.1 km).
Is Shubie Campground accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.