We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
30 John Brenton Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3J 3S9 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (5)

About

#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Dartmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Shubie Park Campground is the best camping in Halifax! Great sites, friendly staff, clean facilities, hiking, biking, swimming and easy access to Halifax and Dartmouth await you at Shubie Park Campground. Your perfect home to explore Metro Halifax and beyond!
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
116Reviews6Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 35
  • 19
  • 5
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sailor548 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Nova Scotia, Canada19 contributions7 helpful votes
With the Covid thing in full court press, summer 2020 was somewhat limiting in long-trip motorhome options. This year we spent 70 days at Shubie in two segments, with a trip to another NS campground in the middle to 'break up' the summer. Since we live close to the park, each year we use a stay at Shubie to mobilize the rig at the beginning of the season and another visit to demobilize it at the end, before storage. There is a new management team there this year (with prior experience at managing other campgrounds) and both of our 2020 extended stays were fantastic. The pleasant amenities haven't changed, but the attitude of Team Shubie management and staff was the significant draw. In the challenge of pre-season bookings, Kristi (General Manager) provided the ultimate in flexibility within the government's limitations on campground openings. Adam (Camp Manager) and Arielle (Office Administrator) - (please forgive any error in spelling) managed the daily maintenance team with an excellent schedule of attention and maintenance. Upon move out, sites were checked for garbage, lawn mowed and fire pit cleaned. They were helpful in many non-standard regards and participated in the general campground life with friendly personal interactions with all of the campers throughout the season. We don't 'do' seasonal - but if we were to do so, Shubie will be first on our list.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: NOT A HOTEL !! Campsites are spacious and suitably-distanced for Covid physical distancing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Jan. 25, 2021
Thank you soooo much for the kind words! We are very grateful that you chose our campground as your "home away from home". I'm happy that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again next summer!
Read more
Geoff R wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
We phoned Shubie Campground a day ahead of time to see if we could camp in a tent in there park for the weekend we made it clear we were tenting . We are retired and still like to camp in our tent once in a while , even though we do own an RV. We are a 3 hour drive away so we wanted to make sure everything was ok. We were told there was no problem. When we arrived we were told all the tent sites were closed and we Had to have an RV site and pay the full RV rate. That wouldn't have been so bad but we were also informed that the bathrooms were closed . We were told none of this the previous day. Consequently we stayed only one rather expensive night and cane home early . Stubbies is overpriced for the services you receive but we do go there because we like the park , but this was in our opinion extremely poor service. And definitely spoiled our weekend plans. Our weekend camping trip turned into one expensive night with no bathroom facilities
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Jan. 25, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. I am so sorry that our facilities were closed when you arrived and you were not properly informed in advance. Please reach out to us via email at webmaster@shubiecampground.com so that we can provide you with the experience that you were looking for this coming summer. Again, we are so sorry for any miscommunication and that this was your experience with us. We hope to make it up to you.
Read more
KAPh wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
Was blown away by the exceptional service of staff at Shubie Campground! They really went above and beyond to accommodate our group. The site itself was clean and quiet and is very conveniently located - it's right next to beautiful walking trails while also being minutes away from the city amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Jan. 25, 2021
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are working hard to make each campers' visit a memorable one. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and hope that you will visit us again in 2021! We would love to host you.
Read more
ajeffrey1980 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Dartmouth, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
I love camping here. The campground is clean, facilities are clean. Sites are nice. Great place for kids and families with the beach right there, Shubie park or walks, biking, sightseeing, canoeing. Playground for children. It's not far from town if there's anything you need or want to do off site. Staff are lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Aug. 31, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words about our campground and our staff ajeffrey1980! So happy that you had a great stay and that we were able to make your "staycation" a good one.
Read more
Claire wrote a review Aug. 2020
Fredericton, Canada5 contributions
We booked for the weekend but we were unable to stay the whole weekend due to the Hurricane in Sept. 2019. We were a bit dissapointed that you weren't allowed to have a fire past a certain time, which we found to be a bit early. But overall clean amenities and nice campsites. Good location close to downtown Halifax.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi W, Guest Services / Front Office at Shubie Campground
Responded Aug. 31, 2020
Thank you for your note Claire - I'm glad you found our facility clean and quiet and close to the city - as for the 11:00 pm cut off time for campfires, we are a family-friendly campground located in a municipal park hence our quiet time at 11:00. I hope you were able to enjoy your fire until and that we can host you again soon.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityDartmouthEast Dartmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shubie Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Shubie Campground?
Nearby attractions include Shubenacadie Canal Waterway (0.6 km), Dartmouth Crossing (0.9 km), and Cineplex Cinemas Dartmouth Crossing (0.6 km).
What are some restaurants close to Shubie Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ela! Greek Taverna, Seamus David's Pub, and Modern Orchid.
Are pets allowed at Shubie Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Shubie Campground?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 (7.6 km), HMCS Sackville - Canada's Naval Memorial (6.8 km), and Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada (7.1 km).
Is Shubie Campground accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.