We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coastal Inn Halifax

Show Prices
#22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coastal Inn Halifax
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Coastal Inn Halifax
 Click to rate
Halifax Region, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reasonable price, upgraded to a small suite for only 15$ Clean with friendly staff lots of parking nice very large bedroom but low flow shower head was noisy and annoying Comfortable bed Lots of closet space

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Brian B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our two rooms suites and found our staff to be friendly. Thank you for mentioning that our low flow shower head was noisy as we...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good staff as phoned to tell them I would be late as was held up in customs and they had everything ready when we arrived. I use this hotel a huge amount as the staff is so friendly. Never have had an issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lighthouseladyca
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi lighthouseladyca, Thank you so much for your comments with regards to your stay with us! We are so pleased you had a great experience and our staff was able to meet your expectations upon your arrival. Most importantly, thank you for returning time and time again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Kimberly Clarke,...

Kentville
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Clean comfy room. Good shower. Halls a lttle noisy. Allowed us an early checkin which was great as my wife had surgery and I could bring her back to rest. Nice pool. Breakfast was a disappointment. Eggs and saugage were cold. No sugar, no gluten free option and no one to ask. The worst sin was the awful coffee. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivian W
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Vivian W Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor as we look forward to everything our guests have to say. Thank you for mentioning the clean comfy room, good shower and how we were able to accommodate you on an early check in. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the eggs and...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We registered pretty late at night, but we were welcomed with a smile. Loved that there was an elevator as we had a small child with us and made carrying him and our luggage up to the second floor so much easier. The room was gorgeous and quite spacious. The bed was super comfy and fell asleep quite quickly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Kristina S, Thank you for all your lovely comments as we truly appreciate them. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a quick trip. We are happy that you found the room to be spacious and thank you for mentioning the super comfy beds as we know how important it is for...

Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stayed here for an overnight sister's trip. The location was great, price was decent and the staff are really friendly and made us feel welcome. Very laid-back, "homey" feel to the reception area. The room was fine - bathroom floor tiles need repair and the hair dryer sounds like it is on its last legs. Wish I'd brought some conditioner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErsulaD
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi ErsulaD Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback our guests may have and we are glad you found our staff really friendly and our location convenient. Thank you for letting us know about the hairdryer as we will replace that and...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

on a recent trip to halifax we stayed at the coastal inn in dartmouth we were on the 3rd floor and there was no smell of smoke or anything else, while the hotel is a little older, the beds were so comfortable, the room was very clean, it was very quite and the kitchennette was older but everything worked. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura a
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Coastal Dartmouth. We truly appreciate all your great comments and glad you enjoyed your stay! Your review actually posted under our Halifax location so we were wondering if you wouldn’t mind removing your review from there and reposting it on the Dartmouth location where you stayed....

Yarmouth, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016

First I would like to say that I would stay here again. There is always room for improvement but overall this was a good place to stay. The hotel is showing some wear but it has recently been upgraded with new flat screen TV's. The pool is quite small but in saying that I didn't use it. I did use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jegbd
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi jegbd, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all feedback our guests may have as it enables us to focus on areas that may require attention. We are so sorry our TV was not in operation in the exercise room, it literally just...

Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The hospitality was very good. The receptionist that checked us in was friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfy. The bed was comfy and clean. Had no trouble finding the entrance but it could be better marked. Nice for Frostys from Wendi's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank germanypa
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Germanypa, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the feedback our guests have and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the service to be very good and our guestrooms clean and spacious. We hope to see you again in the future!...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. A little pricey. Hospital visit and seeing where my husband and I both have handicaps ground floor was perfect for us and for the dog. In saying that we got charges 109. For room plus 10. More for ground floor 10.more for dog. Total. 151. Don't think we should of been charged 10. Extra for ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Debbie Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us as we appreciate all feedback our guests may have. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the ground floor level as these rooms are high in demand and the first to be requested. Thank you for mentioning the grounds as it is something we...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This hotel is somewhat out of the city centre, if you do not know the city, not easy to find. (Do not arrive after dark if you can help it, you may get temporarily lost). The rooms are spacious and very clean, the beds are first-rate. The hotel staff is professional and helpful. Facilities (pool, exercise room) are excellent. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duschinsky
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi duschinsky, Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor as we truly appreciate all the feedback our guests may have to enable us to concentrate on areas of concern. We are so pleased you found the rooms spacious and clean and the beds first-rate! We will make sure to share your comments with our team on how...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
234 reviews
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Future Inns Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
195 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $135 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking on a site make sure you are paying in canadian. My mistake”
VivianW863, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size beds are awesome!”
jegbd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appear to be OK.”
duschinsky, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving, it is nice to be on ground floor as patio doors open up to your parking space.”
GAVandGPV, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel”
laffininbl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5