We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Coastal Inn Halifax

Show Prices
#22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coastal Inn Halifax
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coastal Inn Halifax
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Good room and clean. Pet friendly, traveled with dog (additional $20 fee). Convenient sliding door for outside access to unload/load car and great feature while traveling with dog. Convenient location as we did a quick drive to Peggy's cove and back and quick access to Halifax city center. Breakfast was good but with limited seating area. Pleasant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay. We are glad you found it clean and liked the first floor access especially when travelling with your dog. We really are conveniently located off Hwy #102 and the #103 and only 40 km to Peggy’s Cove! Thank you for mentioning our pleasant staff. We will make sure to...

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The room was clean and in a nice hotel, with a big lobby and great staff. Rather disappointed in the location as we thought it was close to the lake and in a more quiet area of town. But, for one night it worked out fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Ellen, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad you found our hotel to be clean with a big lobby and our great staff! We are so sorry our location in Bayers Lake make have given you the impression of being located by a lake. It is just the...

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Quiet cramped in the breakfast area. Excellent for what you would pay though. Very clean and close to peggy's cove and shopping areas. Do visit home sense to grab some steals. Stayed there for 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amnah y
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

HI Amnah, Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be clean and our location convenient to attractions such as Peggy’s Cove. We hope you will have a chance to visit our beautiful city again sometime in the future! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during a busy weekend as it was close to where we needed to be for a competition. Being a family that doesn't own credit cards by choice, we had to pay $200 cash deposit. Front desk was rude when I questioned why the deposit was so much. Wish they would write on your file how you leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Michele, Thank you for your comments as we appreciate all feedback our guests may have with regards to their stay with us. We are sorry you felt the refundable deposit was too much but thankfully we still accept cash where some hotels do not without a major credit card. We certainly apologize for any rudeness encountered by our front...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

After having a super crappy stay the night before we called up the hotel and asked for an early check in. I think her name was Sarah was able to get us in 2 hours early. Super friendly staff, the room was clean and comfortable. A home feeling. Breakfast was good. Location was great for day trips. Will be recommending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Keith, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you found our staff to be super friendly and your room clean and comfortable. We know how important it is for our guests to feel like home when away from home and we are so glad you did! We always try to...

Digby, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon when it was Lakeview Inn. Thought we would return, not knowing it had changed hands. Our stay was okay but not like when it was Lakeview. It was comfortable but we had booked a king bed, got 2 doubles. We found it a bit noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pheightlewis
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi pheightlewis, Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback our guests may have as it enables us to make corrections where needed. We do apologize for the mix up in the room type you originally booked. This tends to happen during busy times either due to a maintenance issue in...

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The Coastal Inn was a good little stopping point for us on our road trip through Nova Scotia. Out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Halifax but still close enough. We went to Peggy's Cove from there and it was just a short trip. The room was nice and clean, no complaints. Breakfast the following morning was very busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Deborah C Thank you for taking the time to write your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy you found our location convenient for your travel needs especially when visiting the tourist attractions like Peggy’s Cove! Thank you for mentioning you found your room to be nice and clean and we truly hope to...

OWEN SOUND
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Stayed here for 5 days - room is too small and damp for that length of stay. Good location - right off highway and 5 min drive to Bayers lake shopping district ( Walmart , winners , marshals etc ) Within walking distance to a multi use trail 20-30 min drive to downtown tourist attractions Upon arrival asked front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chester4091
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Chester 4901, Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location convenient right off the highways #102 and #103 and ideally situated within the Bayers Lake Shopping area. We apologize for the issues you encountered upon check in and that they did not get resolved immediately. We will...

On the Road
Reviewed 23 July 2016

It looks more charming than it is. It's a motel, decent but not charming or anything of the kind. Functional. Breakfast ends 9:29 AM on the button or else -- the clean-up lady is literally standing over you impatiently as you as you clean up whatever remnants from other guests (eggs and sausage are gone because they all got eaten,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Round_World
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Bikers_Round_Worl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We are truly sorry you did not have a great experience with us and we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention so that we may be able to address them. We have made note to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, fantastic place to stay out of the city. Rooms comfortable, staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was more than enough, great value for money. Just one small comment, in no way a negative - you can hear the people above moving around. Therefore I would recommend a room on the third floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thank you so much for your great score and comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our beds to be comfortable and our staff friendly. We are glad you found the breakfast more than enough and great value for the money. It's true, being on the top floor can be a bit...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#15 of 28 in Halifax
231 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
2.4 km away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Garden South Park Inn
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
99 reviews
6.3 km away
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#26 of 28 in Halifax
159 reviews
6.1 km away
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking on a site make sure you are paying in canadian. My mistake”
 of 5 bubbles VivianW863, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size beds are awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles jegbd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appear to be OK.”
 of 5 bubbles duschinsky, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving, it is nice to be on ground floor as patio doors open up to your parking space.”
 of 5 bubbles GAVandGPV, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles laffininbl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5