Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada

Fan directly above bed has not been cleaned in quite some time.
Traveller (191)
Panorama of the Hospitality Suite at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
360
Panoramas (12)
Studio King Suite
Room & Suite (223)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, Apr 24
Breakfast included
C$215
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$215
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
C$206
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 32 hotels in Halifax
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Homewood Suites by Hilton is a welcoming, extended stay option in downtown Halifax. Spacious studio, 1- and 2-bedroom suites offer complimentary WiFi, full kitchens and separate living and sleeping space. Guests enjoy complimentary breakfast daily, indoor pool and fitness center. The attached Conference Center also offers flexible meeting and event space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7 Canada
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,241 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Homewood Suites by Hilton in Halifax-Downtown receives praise for its spacious and comfortable rooms, complete with kitchen facilities, and its convenient location within walking distance to downtown attractions. While guests appreciate the friendly staff, some have called out issues with breakfast management and internet connectivity. While the hotel's cleanliness generally meets expectations, there are remarks about occasional cleanliness lapses and dated decor. Despite mixed feelings about the value due to high parking fees and perceived subpar services, many travelers enjoy their stay at this Nova Scotia property.
Location
Convenient
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,241Review29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 803
  • 285
  • 68
  • 32
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
davidlE7948EN wrote a review Nov 2023
Temiskaming Shores, Canada25 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very well maintained and the room was clean and comfortable. Service was fantastic. On my first morning, I woke up on Nov. 8 to find that I had forgotten a very important item preventing me from comfortably leaving my room. I called the front desk to see whether the hotel possibly ĥad what I needed, but no. Minutes later, I received a call from the hotel manager who explained that she had an employee on her way to the hotel,who would stop enroute and pickup my needs and deliver it to me. This was the best possible solution to my own mistake and .I was and am very grateful for the customer service which went above and beyond any I had ever before received. Bravo and Thank-you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudip Duttagupta, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Dec 1, 2023
Dear guest - Thank you for your taking the time to review the Homewood Suites Halifax. Very heartening to hear your stay with us was satisfactory and your kind comments about our service. Hope to host you again in the future! Yours in service,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrailBlazer368033 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is 5 minutes from Via Rail which is how I arrived to Halifax & then rented a vehicle right in the train station. The hotel is clean and modern, requiring the use of room key even to use the elevator for enhanced security. Free breakfast for all 6 of us was wonderful though the breakfast has limited choices but everything wa very good. Free coffee, tea, hot chocolate all day long in the lobby. Our suite was equipped with a full sized fridge, dishwasher & counter top elements and was fully stocked with the needed basics included paper towels & garbage bags. The sofa bed was comfortable. All together a wonderful 3 night stay. Will come again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tessap1992, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your stay with us. I am so glad we were able to provide all the amenities required during your stay. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
DannyTravels85 wrote a review Jan 2020
New Brunswick, Canada125 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Homewood. Originally booked a king studio, and upgraded online to a king suite with harbour view. You can't go wrong with Hilton, but this one we thought was exceptional. Pretty much a full kitchen, full size fridge, 2 burner stove top, microwave, sink, and dishwasher, along with all utensils and dishware. In room Keurig, but coffee in the lobby area is 24/7. Spacious living room area, as well as separate bedroom, both room with a view of the harbour. The continental breakfast is the best I've had at any hotel. The fitness center is probably the best I've ever seen in a hotel. My one and only complaint would be that the pool was a bit chilly. This is one of the most 'value for your money' hotels I've ever stayed in, and will be my go-to now for the HRM. I'd also like to mention I did not find the elevators slow...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelGaudet, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are all very happy you enjoyed your room and the upgrade. The Homewood is your home away from home! Please come back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mega_Bruno wrote a review Nov 2020
Fredericton, Canada165 contributions183 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I really don't like to say anything bad about the travel industry at the moment because I know the situation around the globe is depressing enough, but this time around I just simply wouldn't call my recent stay a pleasant one, nor can I justify a 3-star or above rating based on my stay.

I arrived fairly late so I decided to check in online and get a mobile key. When I arrived at the hotel, the gentleman at the front desk seemed to be fairly confused and insisted I should have been next door at the Hampton. I tried to let him know a couple times I checked in online but he seemed puzzled and kept scrolling through the list he had. I ended up showing him my reservation code, he punched it in and said "oh you checked in online!" which I tried to tell him a few times a minute ago. I found this amusing afterwards, but not on the spot at 1am tired from travelling. He did find my reservation and apologize in the end, and to be fair to him I can see how guests can confuse the two Hilton properties so no big deal.

The room I stayed in on the 16th floor had all kinds of issues, namely weird noises coming from weird places. Bathroom fan sounded like a turboprop engine and cannot be turned off (by design?). My room seemed to have two independent A/C systems and the wall thermostat could only control one of them. And when wind picked up overnight, the window rattled and creased like crazy, and this woke me up a few times.

Gym seemed to be closed, as my key card did not work. This alone would have been totally fine because Covid, but I got conflicting information from my call to guest services, my visit to the front desk, and also the info provided on the app. I gladly gave myself a rest day in the end, but would prefer to have known this earlier.

Breakfast was chaotic at best. I appreciate the fact that this hotel still had their hot breakfast up and running, but service was extremely slow and nobody seemed to care about social distance at all. Queue for food was all the way to the lobby, kids were running around with no supervision, adults were hogging the tables after finishing their food, and given the fact the seating area was tiny to begin with, I had to carry my food all the way upstairs to my room. I understand the staff had nothing to do with what other guests were doing, but without interference this didn’t look very good on the hotel either.

All around, the Homewood was a disappointment. It had a prime location and the view was awesome, however the experience was far below par. A shame, to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Bolduc, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Good morning Gareth T, I would like to thank you for your visit and the time you took to complete your review. We value both greatly and I ma truly sorry that we did not meet the service level you are accustomed to. Please be assured that the service and experience you received was not the norm, nor is it what we wish for. I offer you no excuse, as your expectation is equal to mine. As a point of clarification on the fitness center and pool, these are bookable by appointment only due to the current pandemic. That said I apologize that this was not communicated to you upon check in. We hope to see you again, as I am confident that your next visit will be more consistent with our mutual expectation. Have a wonderful day! Jamie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Burns A wrote a review Jul 2020
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada11 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 2 rooms for one night. Right from the start, the parking lot was not like a downtown hotel. People were having a bit of a party, drinking in public and there certainly were no designated smoking areas for cigarettes or weed. Some other guys were doing some sort of mechanic work on an old car.

This stay was during Covid19 when Hilton was supposed to be taking extra precautions. To be extra careful we wiped our room with Lysol wipes and the wipes were dirty after cleaning surfaces. There was food scraps on the floor in the bedroom and the living room in one room. In the 2nd room we had there was a turd in the toilet. Not a missed bit of cleaning but a whole turd. There is zero chance these rooms were given ANY extra cleaning. Aside from "extra", it was below standard if there wasn't a pandemic! I contacted the hotel when we checked out to bring up my concerns and I never got a response after 10 days, which prompted this review.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Bolduc, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Jul 16, 2020
Good morning burnsa2014, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing your feedback. I wanted to personally reach out to offer my sincere apologies that this visit was not consistent with your past experience. I offer you no excuse, as your expectation is equal to mine. I would be happy to personally discuss your visit with you if you like and can be reached by what ever means is most convenient for you. I apologize again and have a great day! Jamie Bolduc General Manager (902) 422 7182 direct jamie.bolduc@hilton.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JakeP wrote a review Jan 2020
Montreal, Canada11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the time I checked in to the end of my stay I felt comfortable. The staff, front desk, housekeeping and food service, were friendly, cheerful and helpful. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. The room was also clean and comfortable. Curtains close completely, so no annoying beam of light shining in to disrupt sleep. Did have a bit of an issue with the heating system, likely because the thermostat was behind the door to the bedroom, which was inconsistent when the was open. Breakfast was very good and the food at the evening social tasty. Add to that the ability to meet my other dietary needs through the fully equipped kitchen and I had the best of both worlds. A wide variety of good restaurants are with in walking distance, as well. Decent parking garage, as well, although not complimentary. Internet worked well. Have stayed in a number of different hotels in the city and would say this one will be my first choice on future trips.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Harbour view is my preference.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 444JamieB, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Good morning POP775 and thank you for your visit and the time you took to complete your review. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you encountered with the heat. This is certainly not what we wish for and I am happy to see that it did not tarnish your visit too much. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Jamie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
murraymarcus55 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clearly stated that we wanted a stand alone bathtub for two when booking, called twice to ensure we where getting Just that and even payed more for a room that had it. Ended up with a poor shower bath combo that could hardly fit one person. Worst part is the only reason we booked was for the tub.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Bolduc, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Good afternoon murraymarcus55 and thank you for your visit and the time you took to complete your review. I know Scott Davies, our Director of Operations, responded to the survey you completed also. That said, I wanted to reach out also and offer my apologies for our lack of communication. We appreciate the feedback and I apologize again. Jamie Bolduc General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bluenosegirl06 wrote a review Aug 2021
Nova Scotia38 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a corner suite on Aug 23/21. We have stayed at this hotel pre-Covid and it was great to be back and return to our favourite restaurant/pub as well. The staff is diligent with following COVID protocols including sanitizing every dish in our suite. The breakfast staff is also plating the food for guests. The hotel was very busy with returning tourists and the staff was working hard and eager to assist guests. Looking forward to our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley4444 wrote a review Nov 2022
Ottawa, Canada216 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff at front desk were very nice, price for room was great, they have a free breakfast which was awesome, every morning breakfast items were different, very tasty. When I arrived in the room I noticed a stain on the bedsheets and called front desk, someone was there within 3 minutes and changed them. I did notice that most of the chairs in the dining room where breakfast was served were very dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sudip Duttagupta, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded May 24, 2023
Dear guest Thank you for your honest review. Agree, some of the chairs in the breakfast area are stained. These have been remedied since your visit. Hope to welcome to back! Yours in service,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom M wrote a review Dec 2020
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada157 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family moved to the area and quarantined here. The room was very good and the service better. They are set up for quarantine and actually delivered all meals to our room 3 times a day. They fed us way too much. Can’t complain. They are highly recommended by everyone in my family.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tessa Preston, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Responded Dec 30, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it a home away from home. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future. Best Wishes, Tessa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from puckstopper31
Edmonton, Canada753 contributions277 helpful votes
Not when we were there. May be due to Covid as they still serve the hot buffet food too.
Answer from Michael G
Good morning Daryl, All of the suites do come equipped with keurig machines stocked with regular and decafe coffee. Depending on the room that is booked they range from 350 sqft to the largest 2 bedroom suite at 700 sqft The tv's in the rooms are not smart tvs. but if you are travelling with a laptop your can certainly bring an hdmi cord and connect to the tv like that. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with
Daryl W asked a question Nov 2019
Dartmouth, Canada5 contributions
Does the king harbour view suite kitchen come equipped with dishes and cutlery?
Answer from Amanda
Halifax, Canada
Hello, thank you for reach out to us. Yes, all of our suites come equipped with dished and cutlery. Along with pots and pans for all your cooking needs! If you have any more questions please don't hesitate to ask. Have a great day! Mandy
Answer from Amanda
Halifax, Canada
Hi, it's from 7 to 10 on Sunday.
Joseph P wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is not free. Extra $25/day "
Read full review
Ryan A wrote a tip Oct 2023
Halifax, Canada96 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"has a fridge good for long stays and buying grocerys"
Read full review
craigbell2018 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Toronto, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid. Many of my issues may seem like nitpicks to some, but this was the most expensive stay on my trip and was meant to be a treat."
Read full review
Wanderer430539 wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking avoid parking here I was told the lot across the street was much cheaper."
Read full review
jag343 wrote a tip Sep 2022
New York City, New York337 contributions148 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"High floors for the best views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Halifax area.
PRICE RANGE
C$213 - C$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityHalifaxSouth End / Downtown Halifax
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Which popular attractions are close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Nearby attractions include Old Town Clock (0.4 km), Historic Properties (0.4 km), and Scotiabank Centre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Conveniently located restaurants include Edna Restaurant, Gio, and The Auction House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Halifax.
Are any cleaning services offered at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Halifax HotelsHalifax Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HalifaxHotels near Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars