We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lionstone Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lionstone Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lionstone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Digby, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Nice motel, very friendly staff and well located in Pictou. Infrastructure (buildings, room and surrounding area) is aged but very well maintained and very clean. Room was very clean and upgraded. I think this motel is a storm 3 despite its age.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for noticing how nice our little spot is, and for taking the time to review us on this site. Safe travels.

Acton, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2016

It is an older INN/motel but it is very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Motel part of the property.. Very clean! Dated rooms however each room has a microwave and refrigerator. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, we had checked in late and were welcomed very kindly and the process was simple/smooth. Lots of parking and space.The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sjordan101
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review and for taking the time to say those nice things. Its means a great deal to us and our staff. Safe Travels.

Lunenburg, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I usually stay at this Inn when I visit Pictou at least once per month. It is an older INN/motel but it is very clean and comfortable. Has a microwave and refrigerator. Room #1 is bigger with a sofa and bed, table. It also has a large jet tub. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Lots of parking space....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. You are a valued client and I can only wish that all our clients were as clean and self sufficient as you are. Regards, Dennis and Preston

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The rate was very good, the room was good, for the rate it was a solid good deal. The staff was excellent, that lady at the front desk was kind enough to turn the TV on for me after I had confused the controls, very pleasant individual. I would stay there again. Location is good and quite convenient

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher8000
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write these kind words. Our staff are very dedicated and welcoming and its great that you noticed. We pride ourselves on being an affordable alternative to the major chains, and are pleased that you were comfortable and would choose to stay again. Until then, safe travels.

Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Preston & Dennis as well as their staff were all very helpful with places to eat and things to see and do. The inn is a basic motel, but well appointed, clean and inviting for the price point. I would definitely stay there again in th future and would recommend it to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc U
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review of our little motel. Imperfect but always working on it to improve it, and clean as can be, pretty much describes us perfectly. Safe travels.

Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Called earlier this evening and asked their hours, was told open til 8 pm but someone would be on call to answer the phone and give us a room if we decided to stay in town. Well I called near midnight and the lady if I could call her that, refused us a room and told me they were closed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bourgeois97
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were turned away. Had you provided us with a valid credit card number when you called, we could have made arrangements to leave a key. Additionally, your off-handed remark about our staff member's lady-likeness is uncalled for and rude. Please feel free to stay elsewhere in the future as you are not welcome.

Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I had never been to Pictou, Nova Scotia before and Dennis, Preston and their staff were extremely Helpful with points of interest to see and things to do for my time there. My room was all made up when I arrived and was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating with anything that I asked or needed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc U
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for writing this generous review of our motel. I trust your travels will take you safely back home. D and P

Perth, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The worst night on the trip we had two seniors and my self and my five pound yorkie we were put into cabin 12 the cabin had slanted floors and when you sat on the tolet it moved as well when you took a shower the tub was slanted and we almost slipped the bed were old and uncomfortable as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy P
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The cabins are over 80 years old and the floors are definitely slanted. We would have been more than happy to refund your money if you were unhappy with the cabin. Most of our guests are quite pleased with cabin 12. Both mattresses are new and the toilet has been fixed. Thanks for bringing...

White Rock, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Returning to Nova Scotia on a cross Canada tour, I had the pleasure of re-visiting one of my favorite accommodations locations: The Lionstone Inn in Pictou, NS. I was thrilled to see how this place has evolved over the past few years under the care of these wonderful, hosts. They have maintained an impeccable standard of cleanliness and hospitality. Each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pambi4
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for noticing the little things and for taking the time to write such a generous review. We are not perfect by any means but definitely are constantly reinvesting to make ourselves stand out from the crowd. Safe travels.

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed at this Motel on both stages of our journey to Cape Breton. We stayed in one of the cabin type room s and found it adequate for two adults The room was no frills . double bed , no a/c but fan provided which we didn't need. Fridge and a good sized bathroom with shower and soaps provided....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hagnel
DennisPreston, Owner at The Lionstone Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind words. For years we have operated our motel with a steady following, for people like you who are looking for a budget conscious place to stay, that is both clean and comfortable. We don't always get it right. But it appears as though we did in this case. Thank you for taking the time to...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
12.3 km away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
13.7 km away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
82 reviews
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
1.9 km away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
227 reviews
0.2 km away
Dolan's Inn and Suites
Dolan's Inn and Suites
#6 of 12 in Pictou
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small family run business. Well maintained drive up motel units with a focus on cleanliness and value for the dollar.Several housekeeping cottages also on the property dating back to the 50's, most of which have been modernized and renovated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lionstone Inn

Address: 241 West River Road, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lionstone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Lionstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lionstone Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lionstone Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would absolutely suggest staying in any one of the lovely cabins. They are perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles TammyYorke, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very Clean and Good Value”
 of 5 bubbles hicynthia13, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid small cottages. Seems like others have been upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles lisabL4985JO, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all the cabins are welcoming.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms seemed to be good”
 of 5 bubbles Christopher8000, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay