We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Horseshoe Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Horseshoe Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Horseshoe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 841: English reviews
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

Horseshoe seems to be going downhill. We have been going here for years but their standards seem to be slipping. The Bad: Housekeeping forgot to service our room and did not come after repeated requests. Wait time at Crazyhorse for food to arrive was over 90 minutes from the time of ordering. While food was good, service as terrible. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BlondElvis
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

BlondElvis, I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with others. Your feedback will be shared with our team as we strive to provide excellent service in all areas of the resort. I'm happy to hear you had a positive lasting memory at our cross-country centre. I hope we can welcome you back next year! Sincerely, Jonathan...

Bolton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was never told upon booking on the phone that there is an extra fee at check out. I got emailed my receipt, no where was this mentioned. To me, this is a scam! I will never ever come back to this resort and was extremely disappointed. I paid $600 to stay 2 nights and then on top you charge me...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T1693XBtimg
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Hi T1693XBtimg, all comments are important to us and I will be sending you a private message to learn more about the situation you encountered upon check-out as we strive to be fully transparent with our rates when our guests book rooms or packages. Sincerely, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Etobicoke
Reviewed 1 week ago

Front desk staff were helpful and flexible. They worked to get us side by side rooms with the other family we travelled with. There was a wide array of resort activities to choose from. The rooms were comfortably large, clean and well furnished. Guest comfort could be improved in two ways. The windows didn't open, making for an uncomfortably warm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scottkK1871BU
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

ScottkK1871BU, thank you for taking the time to share your March Break trip with others. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass along your positive remarks to our front desk team. I will also share your comments regarding the resort pillows with our Director of Accommodation and it is something we're looking into. Thanks...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been a few times now and have enjoyed every trip!! Good value with the stay and ski package. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this resort to my friends. Would like to try coming in the summer next.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelleyh879
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you shelleyh879 for coming to enjoy everything Horseshoe has to offer. We highly recommend you come in the summer to enjoy our Family Adventure Package! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our family's first time at Horseshow. We tried cross country and tuning for the first time. We had an amazing time and look forward to coming back. Our daughter enjoyed the food and the activities. Staff were great and room was very beautiful - especially the bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrian F
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Adrian F, thank you for your 5 star review. It sounds like your family had a fantastic first experience with us. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future, maybe in the summer to enjoy our summer attractions. Best, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited over March break for a couple of days. The location across from the ski hill is great and the value of the ski & stay package was good. Cleanliness in the pool can be improved (dirt in the hot tub) and service, quality of the breakfast was poor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Astrid T
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Astrid T, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. We do take all reviews seriously and will look into your comments regarding the pool. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future to leave you with a positive lasting impression. Best, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of the discounted snow tubing rate - unlimited 4-9pm for $10. The lines were long, but that is expected considering the discounted rate. You are permitted to link tubes and slide down the hill as a group. Felt like a kid again! It was such fun to have an activity we could share in with our teenage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank familyfunOntario
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you familyfunOntario for sharing your recent stay! I'm so glad your family enjoyed snow tubing with us, you'll have to try our Tube & Pasta next year! It includes unlimited tubing and pasta dinner. Sincerely, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great time. Had an amazing time with friends staff was excellent , would go back and highly suggest this place to others . Great place to ski and enjoy the outdoors and relax. I do suggest this place to everyone

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bobmc67
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you bobmc67 for your wonderful review, I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. Best, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Mississauga
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took the family to Horseshoe for a weekend of skiing. Was worried that the hills would be in poor condition due to the lack of a true Canadian winter this year, but boy was I wrong. The resort must make great efforts to maintain the quality of the slopes cause the skiing was phenomenal. Was also worried that the hills...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katie C
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Katie C for sharing feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed the skiing conditions, there certainly is no shortage of snow here. The team grooms the hill daily to provide the best possible spring skiing! You can also always check out our webcams on our website to see our current conditions. Your comments regarding your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is so much fun things to do at Horseshoe Resort. Winter fun activities include skiing and snowboarding, snowshoeing and tubing and more. The restaurants serve a great variety of good food. Staying in the Inn was awesome. Beautiful room and I got the best sleep I have ever had. They have a Spa and pool which I did not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edith K
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Edith K for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your winter getaway! It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their experience and we hope that Horseshoe Resort will be your resort of choice for many years to come. See you soon! Sincerely, Jonathan Reid, General Manager

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Queen Horseshoe Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
22.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
19.5 km away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
22.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
21.2 km away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
19.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Price Range: $154 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nicer when you get a nice vue out of your window”
 of 5 bubbles Deerhurstnov2015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Suite 301 at the Copeland House”
 of 5 bubbles JohnTFigueiredo, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only 1 elevator and hallway very long...so if have trouble walking make sure to ask for a room close to elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 29_MC_39, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Room”
 of 5 bubbles 183vanesar, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the Copeland House Building! Its fantastic!”
  • Laundry area in the suite
 of 5 bubbles TardissPrincess, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5