We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Horseshoe Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Horseshoe Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Horseshoe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 732: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Totally enjoyed our stay last weekend (Oct. 14/15 2016) Ate at the Crazy Horse on the patio with our dogs and the staff was very accommodating. The food at both restaurants we ate at was wonderful :-) I do have a couple of suggestions for the staff of the Inn though. 1. When booking people with dogs, put them at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elissa P
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I recently attended here for a conference for two days. I checked their web site well in advance, and was excited by all the activities they had available at the resort. Our drive there was beautiful - fall colours were out in full force. When we exited the highway, we expected to see signs directing us which way to turn,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacquelyn K
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2016

room was like an oasis with fluffy pillows and clean white linen,two night autumn special package,husband golfed on a nicely manicured green course!I enjoyed a tranquil massage,pedicure with amazing technicians and spa experts!Highly reccomend to stay,there are many choices for sports and fun and wonderful sights to see!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fb575155224
Huntsville
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Traveled to Horseshoe Valley for two days of enjoyable golf on the Highlands golf course. Magnificent colours of the trees, topped off with a well manicured golf course and pleasant staff made for a very enjoyable birthday trip for me and my girlfriend. Unfortunately the experience at the resort was disappointing, tired looking decor was magnified by the badly worn...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 350nikp
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Feedback such as yours, is important to us and appreciated. Your comment on accommodation is important to us and want you to know that since joining Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. All of our main building rooms have received a full...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I was here on a conference for two nights and based on the previous reviews I did not have very high expectations. However I was quite pleasantly surprised. I had a room on the third floor with a king sized bed and a renovated bathroom that had a big tub and separate shower. There was a fireplace but I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ajy733
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short, I was glad to hear that you liked the room and had a comfortable sleep. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that your comment on the...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

First of all don't even try eating at the crazyhorse, you will sit and nobody will come to the table. Don't get your kids excited about the smores and bonfire because they cancel for no apparent reason. Literally put my son to bed in tears. Don't bother complaining because nobody will answer any emails. 3 days post check out and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sharon K
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Came to the resort for a couples fall weekend and I was told there would be bonfires and drinks. Found the fire, or should I say coals, at 7 pm. Remit the fire and found a couple to chat with around the fire. We were then told we couldn't be at the fire because a law firm had booked the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Thomas C
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We want to apologise for not having the bonfire with hot chocolate drinks due to the private party. We do only have the one area to host bond-fire nights as it is central to everything for the families. We cannot predict when a venue comes to our resort so that...

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Little disappointed bomb fire was private, when we went on line said bomb fires with hot chocolate or drinks from tiki bar Friday and Saturday nights when we went down to sit around fire and get a drink we were asked to leave due to private party. Shouldn't advertise or have another area that is for general public.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nsimms
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We want to apologise for not having the bond-fire with hot chocolate drinks due to the private party. We do only have the one area to host bond-fire nights as it is central to everything for the families. We cannot predict when a venue comes to our resort so that...

Toronto
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My husband and I stayed the weekend in September, looking to take advantage of the outdoors. The room was spacious and clean, but was missing half the lightbulbs, had a fridge that made enough noise for us to unplug and was lacking in basic amenities (only two tiny towels, no hand soap). In the hallway we were in, every so...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank t.ocouple
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and your compliments on our friendly staff. Your comment on accommodation is important to us and want you to know that since joining Skyline Hotels & Resorts, we have been re-investing in our property. All of our main building rooms have received a full renovation including carpet, furnishings, fixtures and drapery. The renovation project...

Bellevue
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The staff at Horseshoe Resort were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately the room was very smelly and the air conditioner did not work. Even when the heat pump was replaced, it blew the breaker in the middle of the night. The quality of the food was mediocre (ie the "fresh vegetables" consisted of old fibrous carrots and celery that could...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marianne G
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team...

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Queen Horseshoe Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
19.5 km away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
22.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
22.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
19.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
24.0 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Price Range: $173 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Horseshoe Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 677kellym, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“DO NOT STAY HERE! There is no hygiene from the management of this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 214nicolasp, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Paid for "courtyard view" room which was cheaper and had beautiful view of snow covered hill & trees”
 of 5 bubbles ashleymX7572HK, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The lofts are apparently nicer, but we did not see them. Bring your own pillow as the pillows are unusually high.”
  • Mirror in bathroom
 of 5 bubbles nataliewK5919DJ, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Room worth the extra $$”
 of 5 bubbles 1_Traveller_CA, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay