We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Save
Share
40 Bay St S, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 0B3 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
Homewood Suites
Destinia.com
US$141
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-05-26
Expedia.comUS$144
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-12-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Updated 21-12-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 22 in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Hamilton, offering a trendy environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Hamilton's most popular landmarks, such as Hamilton City Hall (0.2 km) and St. Paul's Presbyterian Church (0.5 km), Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario is a great destination for tourists.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette, and you can stay connected during your stay as Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk. Plus, Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, a parking garage is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Two Cougars and a Cafe, Motel, and Brown Dog Coffee Shoppe, which are some cafes that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Should time allow, First Ontario Centre, Dundurn Castle, and Bayfront Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Hamilton!

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Croatian, Filipino and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
990Reviews14Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 268
  • 74
  • 48
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LBandFam wrote a review Apr. 2022
Toronto, Canada207 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
We returned from a one night stay for my daughters dance competition and had to share our experience! Simply put, it was perfect! Exceptional customer service at front desk (they went above and beyond to help me) and the suites were clean and spacious. There is a separate bedroom and my youngest daughter slept on the pull out couch so my older daughter and I could get up really early to get ready without disturbing her too much. Full fridge, microwave, dishwasher and convection stove top are provided if you are planning a long stay. Breakfast is included on the mezzanine level which really helped as well. They are doing regular buffet style now as covid restrictions have been further lifted. They also offer a light dinner menu which is great if you are too tired to venture out. The hotel is also about a 5 minute walk (max) to the Convention centre which was great for us as well. One thing to note is that the parking garage is quite tight so be careful be with your larger vehicles! Would not hesitate to book there again if I am in the area; thank you for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Midnightfjord wrote a review Apr. 2022
Montreal1 contribution
This is an excellent pet friendly hotel. The front desk promptly replied to any requests we made. The rooms are very spacious. Decent breakfast and good fitness room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Lori C wrote a review Apr. 2022
Ajax36 contributions14 helpful votes
No housekeeping. Told the pool may or may not be open. Horrific pullout couch. Not enough towels. Asked for upgrade at time Of booking two months ago but no attempt to do that instead sent automated emails offering upgrades.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Careful_One wrote a review Mar. 2022
Ottawa, Canada83 contributions35 helpful votes
This suites hotel is modern and well equipped. Underground parking is convenient and clean. Staff are extremely helpful and a full set of dishes and glassware is provided in the room. Premium suites include snacks, juice and soft drinks. The location is central and an easy walk to restaurants and downtown businesses.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Barbie_Girl01 wrote a review Feb. 2022
Hamilton, Canada84 contributions42 helpful votes
Located in the heart of downtown Hamilton, with easy access to the highway, this suites hotel is just an island of serenity in amidst the bustle of the city. Steps away from a mall, lots of food options, a movie theatre, and the AGH, not to mention Hamilton Place and First Ontario Center! My check in was quick and easy. I was asked if I want a higher or lower floor. With my mobility issues I initially asked for a lower floor and was told they had a room on the third floor. The FD agent looked at the location of the room and told me it was on the end near the elevators, but there was no view of the city. She clearly told me that I would only have a view of the building next door and the roof of the parking lot. The the lovely Fd agent offered me a room on the 6th floor with a view of the escarpment. My only question was if the shower was a walk-in, or a bathtub, and it was a walk-in! Sold! Connecting to the wifi was as simple as reading the screen! Your name, your room number! No password required! The curtains were clean, and to be honest, I LOVED the cheater drapes hanging in front of the shears! The blackout curtains were behind the shears, tucked out of the way. I can only assume the pretty cheater panels were there to hide the look of the blackout curtains. And seriously? It was a great idea! I can only hope the average guest has the common sense to realize the curtains are super bulky when opened and look to see the blackout curtains. (A lot of hotels are doing this these days, so you know…..). The cheaters don’t close very much, but just reach behind them and you will find the blackout curtains… Finding breakfast was super easy! At check in I was told to go to the right when I get off the elevator to find the dining room. The FD agent, as well as the website, clearly stated the dining room was closed and your free breakfast was a bagged breakfast. So, took the elevator down to the mezzanine, turned right and lo and behold, past 2 conference rooms and poof a dining room! I only saw 1 sign saying the dining room was closed for sitting in and eating…. But the staff had a great setup. Walk up, they tell you what is available, you tell them what you want, they remind you to take it back to your room. As for the price? Well, let’s look at the facts. A) downtown, B) it’s a Hilton, C) it’s a suites style, D) built in the last 7 years, E) very modern decor. The rates were not only reasonable at this time of year, but compared to Toronto or Niagara Falls, very affordable. It is my opinion that anyone who was dissatisfied was actively looking for reasons to be upset. I mean, the rooms come with a BluRay for crying out loud! The only part of my weekend that sucked was having to listen to the cacophony from the protesters on Saturday, and that was not the Hotel’s fault.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Be nice to the staff!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
tanzanite wrote a review Feb. 2022
Jarvis, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Decided a needed a weekend away, and wanted a different set of four walls to look at. After looking into several options I chose Homewood Suites after looking at location, amenities, and room layout. When you look at what the suite comes with, really, It’s not a huge room. However, when you enter the suite you feel like you have a ton of space, a ton room. Even if I had brought my spouse with me, we would have had lots of room without tripping over each other. When you enter the suite there is a large closet in the entrance. The closet holds an iron and ironing board, as well as some extra pillows and a sheet set and blanket for the pullout sofa. The entrance opens into the kitchenette with a full sized fridge/freezer, a dishwasher, large counter space, sink, a 2 burner induction cook top, a microwave and a small 2 cup coffee maker. A sharp left and you have a 2 seat pub style dinette. The dinette holds the coffee and tea bags, a phone and the Ethernet connection for a laptop. Make a sharp about face and you are facing the powder room area. A large backlit mirror, sink and counter space. There is a Conair hair dryer in a lint free storage bag on a shelf here. Turn right and you enter the “bathroom”. The toilet and walk-in shower are here. Going back to the dinette, if you turn right you enter the main part of the suite. The comfortable king sized bed, a pull-out sofa bed, and a comfortable arm chair are in here. The sofa has a large ottoman and a coffee table and the arm chair is tucked into an alcove. There is a second large ottoman with the arm chair, and a lovely window in the alcove overlooking Bay Street. The huge wall to wall window over-looking Main Street is by the bed. This room had a great view of the escarpment from both windows. The room comes complete with dishes, cups, utensils, as well as pots and a frying pan in the kitchenette. What is nice is that as part of their commitment to keep guests safe, all dishes and utensils are sanitized in the dishwasher prior to arrival. (And obviously after you check-out.). Everything you need for a long or short stay. If you are staying for more than a couple nights, I suggest bringing a small bottle of dish soap and a dish sponge. The staff, well, every single team member I met was wonderful! Pleasant, professional, and as long as your jokes aren’t too bad they’ll even laugh and joke with you! As the dining room is still closed, they were offering a buffet “brown bag” breakfast. Basically, head down to the dining room, queue up, and when it’s your turn, you’ll have a few choices. The one day it was an egg and sausage sandwich on a croissant, a cinnamon roll, yogurt, fruit, juices, milk, coffee and tea. The next day it was a cheese omelette with sausage links, a fresh baked muffin, chocolate croissant, fruit, juices, milk, coffee and tea. So, there are options and you won’t go hungry unless you are super picky. The pool was open, as was the fitness centre, however, I chose not to take advantage of them. In the lobby to the left of the front desk, was a small convenience “store”. There is pop, water, milk, juice, candy, chips, basic sundries, as well as freezer items. Microwave meals, & ice cream. Every part of the hotel that I was in was clean and tidy. There was always staff actively cleaning the public areas. If you decide to order in, be aware that they will not be allowed to deliver to your room. However there is a table in the lobby where all deliveries are to be dropped, so if you don’t get down in time to meet the delivery person, don’t worry, they have a drop spot! The room also comes with a BluRay/DVD player. (Wish I had known, I would have brought some movie to watch.) I did a tip test in the corners of the bathroom, kitchen, and even the carpeted area. The room is clean!! (Even behind the toilet!!) Will I come back? 100% Yes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Chargers for e-vehicle above ground, would not park a truck underground. Parking is charged to...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Lorna L wrote a review Feb. 2022
Selkirk, Canada323 contributions159 helpful votes
+1
We booked here due to the proximity to the Immersive Van Gogh exhibit (short walk). For what we paid, I was hoping for a *bit* more ... The Good: - hotel is beautifully decorated, clean... quite stunning actually - bed & pillows... amazing - best showerhead in a hotel in a decade - room spacious, impeccable - parking rate very reasonable & convenient The Not Good: - I was asked at check-in if we preferred a lower or higher room (it was nice to be offered a choice) ... I said lower because of a time crunch to get to the exhibit. However, honestly, the hotel was nowhere near fully occupied... and Room 311 is the LAST ROOM if I were an employee/front desk personnel that I would rent out. Our view??? The hotel a/c & heating unit (based on the steam) continually billowing from it blocking any miniscule view that otherwise MIGHT have been possible AND the worst... the lights they beam on the hotel? Directly outside the window. Those darkening curtains in the room? Stop halfway. No respite from the ever changing disco lights ALL NIGHT LONG. See pics. I need dark to sleep... you will not get this in this particular room. I seriously want to ask WHY when a hotel is at a fraction of accomodation why they would put ANYONE in this room, truly. - Temperature control - husband & I like to sleep VERY cool... we programmed the thermostat...it only dropped 1 degree. We just kicked off extra blankets & used just a sheet - the light in the powder/make up area is in the weirdest spot... like you are under a direct spotlight & can barely see what you are doing - Breakfast - staff was VERY polite, but difficult to find (restaurant closed sign makes you think you cannot go in), egg sandwiches ice cold (thankfully there was a microwave in room) - Wifi - never given the password when checked in (usually written on key card envelope) Some tweaks would make this place amazing. I would possibly consider it again... as long as I was NOT in the same room! The lobby was lovely & we wished we had some extra time to enjoy it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: DO NOT get room 311!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
B M wrote a review Feb. 2022
Hamilton, Canada199 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
Local stay I was getting some work done on my place and needed a room for the night . I think this is the nicest Hotel in Hamilton very nice lobby and entrance area we had a large suite with 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms living room kitchen area and wet bar in the master bedroom. Free breakfast and a pool very nice hotel .Located in the middle of downtown Hamilton would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Underground parking
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Ginoro wrote a review Feb. 2022
Val-David8 contributions5 helpful votes
Everything went well, friendly staff, decent price, parking was easy to access. Complimentary breakfast was decent considering the menu was reduced because of Covid rules. Would go again if I was to go back to Hamilton.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is only through comments and suggestions from guests, such as yourself, that we can continue to improve. We're genuinely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and very grateful for the positive feedback. We love knowing our guests are as gratified with their stay as we are having you. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Denise N wrote a review Jan. 2022
Burlington, Canada2 contributions
I’m a full time PSW in desperate need of a night to relax, My girlfriend gifted her Hilton points for a room and I was treated rudely because manager doesn’t like her (she wasn’t there) told to leave, in the freezing cold, even though the room was already paid for.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun Jonnalagadda, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Responded Jan. 27, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioHamiltonDowntown Hamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Which popular attractions are close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Nearby attractions include Art Gallery of Hamilton (0.2 km), Whitehern Historic House and Garden (0.4 km), and First Ontario Centre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Luna, The WORKS Craft Burgers & Beer, and Anchor Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton, Ontario, Canada?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, Croatian, Filipino, and Serbian.