We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Save
Share
1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3 Canada
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$63
View deal
TravelocityUS$77
Trip.comUS$70
TraveluroUS$82
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Updated 21-02-21

About

#15 of 42 in Kingston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre is conveniently located off Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and just minutes away from attractions, and the beautiful downtown Kingston waterfront. The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is offers our exceptional meeting facilities, boasting the largest conference space between Toronto and Ottawa. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. If travelling for leisure our amenities will be sure to please. Enjoy our Waterpark with waterslide, pool and sauna. JM's Restaurant and Lounge offer onsite dining and relaxation. Welcome to the Ambassador Hotel and Conference Centre. Pleased to offer Aeroplan miles. Effective October 1st, a valid credit card will be required at check-in.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Water park
Waterslide
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
5159Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,311
  • 1,594
  • 1,241
  • 700
  • 313
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tullio R wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
Well I would like to start with that the service and front desk always treat you right. Always in good spirits and willing to help. I have been staying here for four nights a week for well over two years. My room is always clean & ready when I get here. Please recognize nothing is perfect in this world so there are occasions when issues will come up. Staff will get you past them so be patient. There are other guests in the hotel as well. You are not the only one their.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Just ask the front desk what they recommend.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Madelene Medeiros, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 4 weeks ago
We really appreciate this great review and your continued loyalty. We are so happy to hear that your stays with us have exceeded your expectations. We will share your comments with the team to congratulation them on a job well done. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador and we will look forward to see you again very soon.
Read more
Dean D wrote a review Feb. 2022
1 contribution
Clean, quiet. We had a nite to book in Kingston, although the hotel is under renovation we did not have any issues. Staff was great. We had a small issue with our tv and it was taken care of immediately. The resort was closed for renovations so do not expect the restaurant or pool facilities. Great value!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Madelene Medeiros, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Feb. 27, 2022
Hello Dean. Thank you. What a great review. We are so happy to hear you found the hotel clean and quiet and that our staff was great. So glad to hear the issue with your TV was handled quickly and efficiently. We are very excited about our renovations and until they are complete our restaurant and pool area will remain closed. We will hope to see you back again when the renovations are complete. Until then, please take care and stay safe.
Read more
Phil Y wrote a review Dec. 2021
Montreal, Canada10 contributions7 helpful votes
I unfortunately brought my wife and my in-laws to this hotel for a quick 3 days getaway in Kingston. The check in was fine, the clerk was nice and polite. The state of the room... where do I start? Our rooms needed a lot more than updating. The walls were damaged and dirty. There was a persistent odour of mold in the room. Event the sheets were dirty. I asked for another of their sandwich thin pillows but never got it. The bathrooms are absolutely nothing as advertised or pictured in any of the third party sites (I booked through Agoda). The bathrooms consisted of a bathtub with a dirty shower head and a fabric shower curtain from the seventies. But if you want an hotel where you will not feel lonely, you've got the right one! We had multiple ants in the bathroom floor. No cockroaches or something nastier, it was tolerable but still, not a good feeling for the wife going in the bathroom in the middle of the night , swapping off ants crawling on her feet while doing her business! I understand that I got a ''deal'' getting those two rooms and that we were located in the least updated part of the hotel but this is ridiculous. I've traveled a lot, often in less privileged countries. Sitting in the Ambassador hotel room I remember asking my wife ''are we in Canada?'' I would not recommend this hotel for a family. Some of the clientele during my stay was, how can I say... not family friendly. I wouldn't be surprised that there's some prostitution at this hotel. To be fair, without the consent or knowledge of the hotel management. And before submitting this review, I've contacted personnel and managers of the hotel to address a complaint. One manager in particular three times. Never got an answer. So a big zero for the Ambassador conference hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madelene Medeiros, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Dec. 16, 2021
Good Day Phil. We appreciate the time it took to write a review about your recent visit to The Ambassador Hotel. I am sorry to hear you felt your stay was anything but exceptional. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Our hotel is headed into some very extensive renovations in the near future and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back when they are complete. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to reserve your next stay. I would be happy to help plan your visit. Until then, please take care and stay safe.
Read more
4kids2dogsandahubby wrote a review Oct. 2021
Toronto, Canada225 contributions76 helpful votes
I can picture this hotel in its day being magnificent. It is a BIG hotel (conference centre) with lots of rooms. Due to covid the pool etc was closed so my kids got to drool over the water slide from the glass elevators lol. The rooms were comfortable but really need a major overhaul. Our toilet ran throughout the night. There was mold inside our in room coffee maker and housekeeping never cleaned the fridge evidenced by the milk and other things left behind by the previous guest. We did not pay alot for the room so I cannot really complain because again - you get what you pay for but I am not sure our room would have passed for any of the inspections. Oh - at checkout I approached the front desk "too early" and "not called upon" by one of two unoccupied staff......and proceeded to get berated - not an ideal first impression lol - definitely won't be going back again soon unless we are on a stupid tight budget.....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quincy Entwistle, Guest Services / Front Office at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov. 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. You feedback is essential to our continued improvement. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I will be addressing your comments regarding the room condition with our housekeeping team. I will also be reviewing our customer service practices with the front desk team. I am truly sorry your stay was not as wonderful as it should have been. We can do better. We do ask that you give us another chance in the future! We are going to be starting extensive renovations to the entire property and we would love to have you back when we are done! Best Regards, Quincy Entwistle | Guest Services Manager Quincy.Entwistle@AmbassadorHotel.com Phone: 613-548-3605 | 1-800-267-7880
Read more
norman h wrote a review Oct. 2021
London, Ontario, Canada27 contributions35 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel in the past and it has been ok. This past weekend was not ok. I was assigned room 161. The room is very small. The double bed fills the room. I could hardly move around the bathroom (I am a large person). The walls are in need of a major paint job. Marks all over. The ceiling needs to be redone as well. The bedding looked and felt very cheap. The light switch tuned off the clock radio and power bar. On the positive side, the bathroom looked recently refreshed. Overall, it felt like a room I would get at $40 per night hotel As well, the room is near the entrance, so you hear everyone. On this night, there were children/teens being very loud (yelling to each other as they went to the pool). We had to turn on the TV very loud. The TV was small and the selection available from Bell was limited. Gave up and attached my laptop. Fortunately, they did not hardwire the cord as I did not bring an extra HDMI cable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Quincy Entwistle, Guest Services / Front Office at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov. 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. You feedback is essential to our continued improvement. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I will be passing your feedback along to the appropriate departments. I am truly sorry your stay was not as wonderful as it should have been. We can do better. We do ask that you give us another chance in the future! We are going to be starting extensive renovations to the entire property and we would love to have you back when we are done! I will let the team looking after renovations know about the issues you reported so we can ensure they are addressed! Please let me personally handle you next stay in Kingston. I would love to have you back! Feel free to email me at Quincy.Entwistle@ambassadorhotel.com to set this up. Best Regards, Quincy Entwistle | Guest Services Manager Quincy.Entwistle@AmbassadorHotel.com Phone: 613-548-3605 | 1-800-267-7880
Read more
pdloots wrote a review Oct. 2021
Oakville, Canada115 contributions34 helpful votes
The room was decent sized with a kingsize bed, a sofa, microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. The problem is that the property as a whole needs to be renovated. It’s showing its age everywhere. Wallpaper coming loose, blinds in bad shape, carpets worn out, furniture aged, etc. etc. None of its facilities were open either. Pool closed. Restaurant closed. I also had zero room cleaning service in the two days I was there. Thought the room was clean, a bit of a freshening up during my stay there would have been a welcoming touch. Taking into account the fact that they were by no means busy. I think I was the only person on that floor. The hotels rates are fair, but there’s a reason for it. It needs TLC and a lot of it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Quincy Entwistle, Guest Services / Front Office at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov. 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. You feedback is essential to our continued improvement! I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I will be passing your feedback along to the appropriate departments. I am truly sorry your stay was not as wonderful as it should have been. We can do better. We do ask that you give us another chance in the future! We are going to be starting extensive renovations to the entire property and we would love to have you back when we are done! Best Regards, Quincy Entwistle | Guest Services Manager Quincy.Entwistle@AmbassadorHotel.com Phone: 613-548-3605 | 1-800-267-7880
Read more
Shannon S wrote a review Oct. 2021
Orleans4 contributions2 helpful votes
I found this hotel room to be less than i expected. The carpet was old dingy. The blind was broken, the beds terribly uncomfortable and hard, the pillows were showing age too. The air conditioning unit rattled and didnt work well. There was zero security on the door outside to get in and have access to the elevator. No ammenities not even a take away breakfast because of covid but ive stayed in other hotels that did. No food or places around the hotel either. All in all not a great stay. We had a deal through expedia but if i had paid what originally the room went for id be truly upset.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Quincy Entwistle, Guest Services / Front Office at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov. 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. You feedback is essential to our continued improvement. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I will be passing your feedback along to the appropriate departments. I am truly sorry your stay was not as wonderful as it should have been. We can do better. We do ask that you give us another chance in the future! We are going to be starting extensive renovations to the entire property and we would love to have you back when we are done! Best Regards, Quincy Entwistle | Guest Services Manager Quincy.Entwistle@AmbassadorHotel.com Phone: 613-548-3605 | 1-800-267-7880
Read more
Deb M wrote a review Oct. 2021
Kirkfield Ontario105 contributions67 helpful votes
Very few hotels in Kingston have electric vehicle charging right on-site. The Ambassador does, and is it ever convenient. Combined with the very clean spacious room this made for a very comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid one with an “adjoining room” door unless your party is using both rooms. We could hear the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quincy Entwistle, Guest Services / Front Office at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded Nov. 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Your feedback is essential to our continued improvement. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Quincy Entwistle | Guest Services Manager Quincy.Entwistle@AmbassadorHotel.com Phone: 613-548-3605 | 1-800-267-7880
Read more
Jackie C wrote a review Sep. 2021
Mississauga, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff was courteous, and very helpful! We were also travelling with bicycles so they made sure we had a safe place to store them. Our room was spacious and clean. Really happy we stayed at The Ambassador.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Mark Smith wrote a review Sep. 2021
Manitoulin Island, Canada1 contribution
This iconic Kingston hotel has been a favourite destination for my family for 30 years. Unfortunately, the hotel is very dated. The first room I checked into had a TV that was not hooked up. I attempted to get it working, but the television was not functioning. I advised the front desk and they informed me that maintenance would look at it after lunch. This was not a big deal, until I talked to another staff member and they informed me that the front desk was already aware of the tv issue as it was not a new problem. After that, I asked to be moved to another room as I was staying two nights. Both rooms were fairly clean, but I felt like I was better wearing my shoes to keep my feet clean. The carpets were very worn. The paint is cracked and dirty. The ceiling was stained. I mentioned this to the front desk and he gave me the line that, "the hotel is scheduled for a complete overhaul". Overall, I was not happy with the quality of the hotel. The price was acceptable as all of the perks of the hotel were closed because of Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ambassador hotel kingston, ambassador conference hotel, hotel ambassador conference
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKingstonGrenville Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Sherlock's Escapes (4.7 km), Improbable Escapes (4.8 km), and Lemoine Point Conservation Area (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mio Gelato, Grecos Grill & Wine Bar, and Tango Nuevo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bellevue House National Historic Site (4.2 km), Fort Henry National Historic Site (6.6 km), and Kingston City Hall (5.1 km).