We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn

Share
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
73 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H3 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pool
3.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Hotel website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
161
31
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
161
31
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front porch rose room retreat room historic house lovely bed and breakfast period furniture breakfast was absolutely delicious every afternoon earlier breakfast other guests parking on site quiet street four poster bed within easy walking distance wonderful stay home away from home charming b b
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the Inn in Theresa's Room (master bedroom of the house which we were upgraded to upon arrival). The room, the sitting area and the breakfast were all excellent! The owner, Kathy, is a very warm and friendly individual? We would definitely...More

Thank jocecantin
Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Kathy is a warm and welcoming host and is eager to outline the history of this well loved historic building. Everything has been beautifully taken care of and maintained. Breakfast...More

3  Thank rosslake
Response from Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast InnResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you for your kind words! I hope to see you again soon... Kathy

Reviewed September 5, 2018

We chose Kingston as our start point for a great Eastern US/Canada Road trip. Stumbled on the Secret Garden....a great find! Situated a nice walk from the waterfront, near restaurants and shopping it was ideal for us! Friendly, clean and a gem of a building!...More

Thank vmahaffy
Response from kathyd488, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast InnResponded September 19, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope you will come again...

Reviewed August 27, 2018

The location is great with an easy walk to downtown and lots of great restaurants. The rooms are well appointed and nice common areas. There are afternoon drinks and treats. Breakfasts are good. The only minor quibble is there are no night tables beside the...More

Thank FuzzyBeaver
Response from Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast InnResponded September 5, 2018

Hello, thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Each of our rooms is very different and, although there are detailed descriptions on the website, if you have a specific need (e.g., night tables) it is always good to call so...More

Reviewed August 13, 2018

Nice old house, atmosphere and room.There are old books, a piano,antiques.The place was clean.Nice little garden you can sit in and lemonade and snacks in the afternoon.Unfortunately the cable tv didn't work[due for repair I was told] and the internet was very weak.Breakfast was good.

Thank Harvey N
Response from Kathy D, Owner at Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast InnResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry about the cable and internet. The line into the house needed repair, it is now done and everything is working. I know how people rely now on internet and I hope you were not inconvenienced.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Photos
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 37 nearby hotels
The Queen's Inn
130 reviews
.34 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kingston
789 reviews
.47 km away
Hotel Belvedere
178 reviews
.52 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
1,420 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 487 nearby restaurants
The Rustic Spud
259 reviews
.16 km away
Windmills
383 reviews
.31 km away
Copper Penny
161 reviews
.29 km away
Northside
37 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 159 nearby attractions
Cathedral of Saint Mary
69 reviews
.26 km away
St. George's Cathedral
69 reviews
.38 km away
City Park
49 reviews
.46 km away
Stone City Ales
58 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Storyspinning
January 30, 2017|
Answer
Response from kathyd488 | Property representative |
The Secret Garden has a no pets policy. Thank you for your inquiry.
0
Votes
Storyspinning
January 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kathyd488 | Property representative |
Hi. Thanks for your inquiry. The Inn does not accept pets. There are, however, other inns that do. Try The Green Woods Inn. Best, Kathy
0
Votes
CJBDM
July 26, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kathy D | Property representative |
Theresa's Room is the original master bedroom. It large and airy and has a king size bed, as well as the aforementioned sitting area in a windowed corner. I am going to put in a plug for the Secret Garden Room, also on the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I believe most rooms have an en suite. It might be worth asking for."
991wendys
Jul. 25, 2018
Read review
"Free parking on premises and a 5 minute walk to shopping/restaurants/waterfront"
chuckster_dude
Jul. 5, 2018
Read review
"The photos on the B&B's website don't do justice to the beauty of the rooms."
Fan-of-foreign-films
Jan. 29, 2018
Read review
"All rooms are beautiful.... If you have a hard time with the stairs, select a room on the second floor."
nanaMedellin
Aug. 12, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing