We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
46 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3H1 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$146
Booking.comUS$146
TravelocityUS$146
PricelineUS$146
Vio.comUS$146
Orbitz.comUS$146
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Where change meets preservation - The Rosemount Inn features gourmet breakfast, romantic fireplace rooms, and a on-site spa inside a historic mansion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Body wrap
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
227Reviews1Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 48
  • 14
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alan L wrote a review Dec. 4
London, Canada
We want to say a huge thank you for the wonderful stay my wife Patti and I had at the Rosemount this past Thursday November 31st 2022. First, we were so awestruck at the sheer beauty of your place. Second, we were surprised to learn we had been upgraded to a larger room - such a surprise. And then, to learn we had been furnished with a lovely bottle of Henkell Trocken with chocolates. This was amongst our first forays away from home since feeling comfortable post Covid. What a wonderful way to celebrate! A huge thank you. We look forward to a return visit. Alan and Patti Leschied
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sara Tripp wrote a review Oct. 2022
Vestal, New York
+1
This was hands-down the best B&B I've ever been to. It was comfortable and beautifully designed, the right balance between historic and modern. I loved the gas fireplace in my room and the large shower. The gorgeous parlour, which was empty much of the time, was the perfect quiet spot for relaxing and reading a book. Breakfast was served buffet-style and offered something new each day. The variety and quality of the food was outstanding: breakfast sandwiches, fruit, pastries, croissants, and more. The chef came out to greet me each morning as I was getting my breakfast to ask how I slept and if I needed anything. The Inn was within walking distance of downtown and the waterfront, so I didn't have to use my car too much. I will definitely stay there again if I'm ever back in Kingston!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RickD593 wrote a review Oct. 2022
35 contributions60 helpful votes
Wonderful experience. Staff were very accommodating and the room was very nice. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Very charming place to stay. Walkable city. This was our first time visiting Kingston on the way to Quebec City. Will consider coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gabriela W wrote a review Aug. 2022
Toronto, Ontario16 contributions39 helpful votes
The Rosemount Inn is an enchanting historic B&B located in a quiet area. After you stay in a place like this, the big box hotels won't feel so inviting. Steps to historic downtown Kingston with many sights and restaurants. Recently renovated top to bottom, with more of a couples/ adults atmosphere. Gorgeously appointed rooms, "Nespresso" machines in each room, freshly baked cookies upon arrival, very comfortable beds and a spa like bath. The owners Lucy and Matt were wonderful and extremely attentive, top notch customer care (communicated by texts). Breakfast was delicious, and the friendly chef also went above and beyond to ensure everyone had what they needed. Delicious coffee, fresh fruit, baked goods with homemade jam, breakfast wraps on a panini press were just a few of the items offered. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this exquisite gem! Thank you Lucy, Matt and the Rosemount staff for facilitating this lovely get away experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dexter D wrote a review Jul. 2022
Oakville, Canada40 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Standout B&B in Kingston. Modern amenities in a century Tuscan villa. My wife and I spent a weekend at the Rosemount finally getting our first opportunity to stay there. We reserved months in advance when we had our pick of rooms. We stayed in the tower room which has a very nice balcony off the front of the building and a narrow staircase access to the top of the tower that you see in the middle of the building. The room itself is small but it has these extra spaces which make up for the size. Their is a unique fragile large bible dating to the 1840’s up there that was special to see and read from. The standout was the breakfast cook/baker who was fantastic! Friendly and willing to accommodate fresh made eggs and bacon. All the prepared items are baked fresh on site and very scrumptious. Grounds were well kept. Saw lots of other couples - Canadian and international. Looking forward to visiting again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is limited and favours smaller vehicles.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Travel269723 wrote a review Jun. 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Very comfortable rooms. Wine and chocolate waiting for us in each room. Breakfast was a tasty selection of homemade goodies which could be enjoyed in the small dining room or on the comfortable porch or in the library. The Inn is a short walk to the waterfront or the main shopping/restaurant area. The staff at the Rosemount were exceptional, always available, knowledgeable, warm and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CHASCO6900 wrote a review May 2022
Barrie, Canada270 contributions120 helpful votes
Wow , this was such a lovely bed and breakfast , check in non contact , although we did meet a wonderful staff member when we arrived . We had room #1 , on the first floor , large window to view the side garden. The gardens and property are very nice. The porch was great for a drink or two. Later on at dusk the gas fire pit was running , very nice. This bed and breakfast built in 1849 -50 , all the charm you are looking for. You like stone this place has it. Nice sitting room . Without that old house smell. The room amenities , bed was nice , did not miss the TV and the bathroom was excellent. Great shower. The breakfast in the morning was excellent , sandwich ,cheese, fruit , croissants. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael K wrote a review May 2022
Ottawa, Canada27 contributions29 helpful votes
This was our first stay at the Rosemount and it did not disappoint. Wonderful classic charm, fine attention to detail, helpful staff. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms and a fabulous continental breakfast.from beginning to end, five-star treatment!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennifer S wrote a review Apr. 2022
Concord, North Carolina7 contributions
Not knowing if we were going to be able to make it into Canada from the US, we didn't make reservations ahead of time. Once we got to Kingston & sat down at a coffee shop we checked TripAdvisor for Hilton & Marriott properties. This B&B showed up with high ratings. I never stay at B&Bs but thought we would take a chance because of the ratings... OH MY GOSH!!!!! This place was AMAZING!!! We loved it so much, we decided to go to a local butcher shop recommended by the owner's of the B&B. We made our own charcuterie board got some wine and watched movies. We stayed in the Coach House. If we ever go back to Kingston... we will be staying here again. Please give this place a try. You will LOVE IT!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Coach House
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John R wrote a review Apr. 2022
5 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for an evening at the Rosemount and where instructed to park on private property in there lot. We noticed on our walk that it was a pretty rough neighborhood.We subsequently had our car broken into. I reported the incident to the management who were able to retrieve video of the incident. Two people with scanners checking every car in the lot at 6:30 in the morning. Our car was opened electronically and ransacked. Management was apologetic but unmoved. Owner phoned us 6 days later and was more interested in blaming us then helping us. For a business in hospitality they have a lot to learn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware parking in this neighborhood
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Rosemount Inn, Owner at The Rosemount Inn
Responded Apr. 6, 2022
John, We very much regret that you had valuables taken from your car during your stay with us and we do not in any way blame you for being a victim of a crime. It is an unfortunate and difficult situation for anyone to experience. Kingston is a very safe and welcoming city and our neighborhood, Sydenham Ward, is particularly so. Having said that, leaving a number of significant valuables in plain sight in an unlocked car is never a good idea. While incredibly rare and unfortunate, these things can happen - no matter how safe the city or town. Both our General Manager and our Innkeeper were in continuous contact with you starting immediately after you notified us of the loss. Within hours, we provided you with the surveillance footage for you to file a police report. Following that, our GM exchanged multiple messages and calls with both you and your wife. Only on Saturday evening did you notify her that you would like to speak to the owner (myself), and I called you the next business day. It is unfair to suggest that we were not responsive or did not do everything we could to support you. Despite our team doing everything we could to assist, you made it clear that unless we provided you with compensation for your lost items, then you were going to “pursue this matter further”, by which evidently you meant leaving us 1-star reviews on multiple platforms in an effort to bully us. We deeply regret that you were the victim of theft, but your review does not reflect accurately on the situation nor our business. Regards, Lucy and Matt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKingstonSydenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Rosemount Inn - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Kingston, Ontario) - B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rosemount Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Rosemount Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of Saint Mary (0.3 km), St. George's Cathedral (0.4 km), and The Screening Room (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rosemount Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Rosemount Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Rosemount Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rosemount Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rosemount Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grecos Grill & Wine Bar, Amadeus Cafe, and The Rustic Spud.
Is The Rosemount Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Kingston.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rosemount Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bellevue House National Historic Site (1.5 km), Fort Henry National Historic Site (2.4 km), and Kingston City Hall (0.6 km).