We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strata Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#19 of 39 hotels in Kingston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome awaits you at the new Strata Hotel. You’ll love our rooms and suites, complete with all the amenities you need for a comfortable stay, including a fridge, microwave, and Nespresso coffee station. We are pleased to announce that our exciting transformation, which includes a new lobby, reception area, and Lobby Bar is now complete. You will love our location, just minutes from the waterfront, boutiques and galleries of downtown, and Highway 401. Ample parking, with covered spots available, is always free. Planning a meeting or event or event? The Strata offers over 1000 square feet of flexible, well-appointed meeting space and a team that is ready to ensure every event is a success. See you in Kingston.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
526Reviews1Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 150
  • 158
  • 76
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tom R wrote a review Oct 2023
Ottawa, Canada8 contributions5 helpful votes
Strata hotel is good but not great. Location is fine if you have a car, but being next to a busy stroad is not exactly scenic, but a short drive from the actual nice bits of Kingston. It was recently renovated and the parts they did renovate seem very nice, such as the lobby and parts of the bathrooms, but there is still work to do. Here are some positives The Lobby is really nice and modern, a lot of natural light and modern look The staff were friendly and helpful The Bathroom had some (but not all) new fixtures such as a new toilet and two sinks The furniture in the room is new and modern, and the carpets seemed new as well The mattresses and pillows were new and comfortable Here are some negatives The Room was very dusty. There was dust behind the TV, dust on the bed's headboard, and dust on the windowsill. The AC filter was also dirty, definitely needs a clean and it seems as though they need to allocate more time to their cleaning staff to properly dust each room The bathtub/shower was not clean, there was soap scum in it. The fixture has also not been updated yet, it's very 1980's The hallways, doors, and elevators are very shabby. There is peeling paint and the doors are heavy, loud, and old, which can be inconvenient if one of the people staying with you needs to use the bathroom at night and accidentally slam the door The walls are pretty thin, sound carries through them, although that may just be because we were sharing a floor with a teenage boys hockey team Overall I can see the work they have put into this place, but they still have work to do. Also, please, please clean the AC filters and properly dust the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jussi P wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland651 contributions149 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The rooms are freshly renovated, so they were the best in our whole trip, despite this being just a two star hotel. Very nice bathroom, very nice beds, very nice air conditioning and coffee machine. Wifi worked flawlessly and the hotel was silent at night. Why the four stars then? Well, when we arrived we ran into probably the most ignorant person in our whole trip. We arrived two hours early for check-in, so we asked if they had any rooms ready, as this is usually the case with not so busy days. He just answered that they are ready at four. No details or anything, just back to his phone, probably a very important conversation to be had. Tried to ask if they would be ready even an hour earlier. Nothing in reply, so we just left and came back at four, different person in the frost desk then luckily...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Hotel Guest Services, Sales at Strata Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Hi there, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review in reference to your stay with us. We're regularly looking at ways to improve upon our guest's service experience and we certainly appreciate your feedback. We genuinely apoligize for the issue you experienced with our front desk agent and please rest assured that this will be addressed internally. Our team is very proud of our new hotel and reviews such as yours lets us know that you appreciate all that we do to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. We’re currently undergoing the 2nd phase of our renovation project which entails implementing a brand new front desk, constructing a new lounge area with a fireplace as well as lobby bar and prep kitchen which we expect to be completed this month. Following this phase of the project we'll be updating the exterior facade of our building and the plaza that we're connected to. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the exciting new changes and upgraded amenities. Best regards, Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adventure770990 wrote a review Sep 2023
Florence, Kentucky2 contributions
From walking into a spotlessly clean lobby and being greeted by a friendly host, to falling asleep on a comfortable mattress, this place was perfection!! Everything was clean and updated. Every person I interacted with was kind and professional. Price point was better than I expected for this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Sep 30, 2023
Hi there! What an amazing review and we thank you very much for the kind words. We are happy to hear you noticed how crisp and clean we keep everything and that you thoroughly enjoyed your rest. Our team is dedicated to making your stay the best possible and we appreciate being recognized. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael H wrote a review Sep 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel was a bargin compared to others in the area. FREE parking, easy check in and nice lobby. Hotel was recently updated, but not sure who did the work, but it could have been better. You can see the owners had a vision, but the final product lacked the vision. Just minor things with final touches, and whatever caulking they used is not nold/mildew resistant. It's a modern style, which was nice though. Needs a bit to get it over the finish line, but it was a good value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2023
Hi Michael! Thank you for the detailed review! We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and our beautiful décor. We have noted the final touches you mentioned and will be discussing with our maintenance team to figure out a solution. We wish you all the best and hope to host you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tough2Please wrote a review Aug 2023
Orillia, Canada130 contributions109 helpful votes
This dog friendly hotel went above and beyond for our visit. On check-in we were given a gift bag containing a bag of treats, a new metal water bowl, a squeaky toy, a blanket and a roll of 'poop' bags. All of this for our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel 'Willie'. In addition, a great room. Special thanks to Finn and the other front desk staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2023
Hello there! Thank you for the kind words and we are very to happy you and Willie enjoyed your stay with us! We are pet friendly and we like to make your pet and yourself as much at home as possible. We hope Willie enjoyed the treats and that you both had a wonderful stay. We hope to host you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen C wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First visit to Kingston and Strata was the right choice for location and price, I stayed Aug. 14-17. On the main street (Princess) and a short drive right down to the waterfront. Rooms have been renovated and are exactly as described in words (coffee, ironing board & iron, big tv, fridge, microwave and the website pictures are accurate. I did like the heated bathroom mirror (no fogging). Beds are fantastic and 4 pillows per bed. A simple but suitable modern lobby. Outside the entrance is a patio with 2 picnic tables, Muskoka chairs and patio furniture to seat about 40 with a propane fire pit, I sat there in the evenings and still got the Wifi. Some renovations may still be happening but not at all noticeable and no noise. There are businesses below the hotel but none are noisy. It appears the hotel bought the whole complex as the big sign on the property says Strata Center. The hotel is also on a main bus route. Local area has a new Pizza Hut (take out) beside the hotel and a Food Basics one building away. A & W, McDonalds, Wendys, Loblaws, Shoppers also near by. I recommend a little place called the Yellow Cafe, not far (they have locations around the world), great decor ! and a great breakfast (yogurt parfait was big and delicious with berries, bananas, apples, strawberries). A cute store attached with breads, teas and other quality goods. I was travelling with two seniors age 79 and 85 and my mother loved The Yellow Cafe. Talk to the staff to hear about The Yellow Cafe concept. Organic eggs etc. I had the Turkey Breakfast sandwich. If you're all about garbage fast food chains, skip it but if not then go. I was sitting alone in the lobby and staff came round and offered me a treat from a tray, nice touch. The second time front desk staff came over and offered to get me a glass of water. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Stata is beside Best Western (fantasy suites, say what ?) and Knight Inns, I am so glad I booked Strata. There is no restaurant at Strata but many options so close by. Parking is free both above and below ground. Google street view will show you the old previous hotel so don't go by Google to get an impression. I usually do a lot of research before hand, I picked right. Thanks You to Strata staff. Stephen Campbell
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't bring a lot of cooler items, just walk over to Food Basics for what you may need for a park...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2023
Hi Stephen! What a wonderful detailed review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for touching on some key points like our patio with firepit (where you can get WiFi), the fantastic beds with comfortable pillows, the quiet atmosphere and close proximity to many restaurants. We enjoy our location and are happy to hear you did as well as we are on Princess Street which takes you right downtown or, in the other direction, to the west end. Thank you again for your kind words and we do hope you will look us up the next time you are in town. We wish you all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jorge V wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Fin has been really helpful in fixing a baggage issue, and Tabi has been wonderful in helping us check in. Excellent staff. The motel is conveniently located near a shopping area, dining options, and bus stops. The rooms are cozy and peaceful, and they include a small refrigerator, a TV, and a coffee maker with an intriguing range of coffee varieties. Thank you, personally.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Aug 17, 2023
Hi there! Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding our staff and we will share this information with them! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and found our rooms to be cozy and peaceful. We appreciate you mentioning the room amenities and overall greatly value your comments. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynn L wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions
The outside still leaves something to be desired, but don't let that dissuade you . You park basically in the strip mall parking area, or in a small parking garage. But the lobby is very nice, the lady at the desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was nice with two queen beds and a sitting area. It was quiet at night and the beds were comfy. The bathroom is nicely updated. We did not try the bar/cafe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Jul 20, 2023
Hello W104LSynnl! Thank you for providing a detailed review for us and future guests! It goes a long way. We are very happy you enjoyed our renovated space as it is quite nice and comfortable. Thank you for pointing out the comfortable beds and quiet space as well as the extensive free parking! We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon and if so, please join us in the lobby for a great breakfast in the morning and a delicious cocktail in the afternoon/night. We wish you all the best! 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shelly M wrote a review Jul 2023
Ontario, Canada283 contributions70 helpful votes
All under construction, couldn't find the door in, then they changed the door to use the next day but signage was invisible. (only 1 on the door we were to use) No indication of accessible entrance, which I found while checking out, after torturing myself on the stairs for 3 days. No staff assistance. When I researched the hotel, it mentioned "restaurant & breakfast", neither to be had. However... the room was very clean on check in, but they failed to tell us there was no maid service available. And the phone in the room was not working, so I couldn't reach the front desk either, unless I went down 3 floors in person. If I had been informed while making a reservation, that they were under renovations, I may have stayed elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Big money for little more than a bed to sleep in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded Jul 14, 2023
Hi Shelly! Thank you for the information and so sorry for all the hiccups! We would like to discuss some of the oversight as we are concerned that not everything was properly communicated with you and we want to make sure this does not happen again. We had some last minute front stair renovations that we needed to get done to make sure everything was brand new and working well. We apologize for the confusion on which door to use as we should have made that very clear. The hotel is equipped with accessibility on each level, through the front door, through underground parking and also an elevator that goes between all the floors. We apologize that this was not shown to you as the elevator is directly beside the stairway. We are happy you were welcomed to a clean room! We are very proud of our cleanliness. It is our policy for guests to notify us if they would like housekeeping during their stay. We respect our guests privacy and do not want to disturb anyone. This information is located on the confirmation email and on a sign at the front desk. We apologize if this email was not sent to you and/or the sign was not brought to your attention. The maintenance team has been notified to double check each and every room to make sure that everything is in good working order and we apologize for the phone not working. We serve breakfast for purchase starting at 7am each day and have snacks available anytime during the day and evening. There are menus located on the desks in each room as well as a QR code on the in room information piece which you can scan to see the menus. The lobby bar/food area is located directly next to the front desk. We are sorry you were not able to enjoy some of our delicious cuisine or wind down with your favourite beverage! We strongly encourage you to reach out to us directly if you have anymore concerns or need further clarification. We sincerely apologize for any and all miscommunication. We look forward to hearing from you and wish you all the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shawn wrote a review May 2023
Norwood, Ontario150 contributions86 helpful votes
For better, and for worse, this was an interesting place! It's essentially a hotel located above a strip plaza, which in itself interested me. The present owners/management took over about a year ago and have completely renovated each room, including the lobby. It's clean, the location is safe, and it has some neat features (heated bathroom mirrors so they don't fog when showering!). The price, too, is moderate -- as it should be, actually, because this hotel also has some drawbacks. First, our room was SO tiny!! I'm not sure if they are all this size but our room was so small, I had to turn my luggage sideways to get it past the bureau and bed to the far side of the room. Because of the room size, there are no chairs, other than the office chair. I wasn't sure where my wife and I were going to sit so I asked at the desk and, thankfully, they gave us a chair from the lobby to take up to our room. Secondly, there were no plastic cups in our room for evening beverages. When we asked at the front desk, they simply gave us more coffee cups (which were already available in our room). Then, we wanted a snack so we asked for the vending machines. The machine "ate" my $2.50, so I then tried tapping with my card but got the message "Network Error." When I went down to explain what had happened at the Front Desk, I was simply told the vendor company would be contacted in the morning. No apologies, or an offer to refund my $2.50. I wondered if they sold any snacks from the front desk itself and they had a few bags of flavored dried pork cubes. It felt like there was maybe 10 small pieces in the bag but I thought, "I need a snack of some sort!" So I said I'd take them, until I found out they were $8!! Breakfast is provided in the morning, but only at an additional cost. All in all, it's an interesting place. If you're a business traveler on your own, it may be OK. But if you're looking for a spot to stay as a couple, the size of the rooms and lack of seating make this a questionable choice. Because management is quite new, perhaps they're still working out some of the bugs. Let's hope they can sort it out and make it a bit more welcoming of a place. If they can, there's lots of potential here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Strata Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Strata Hotel
Responded May 16, 2023
Hi there 912shawnb! Thank you for the very detailed review and description of everything and anything related to your stay at our hotel. We would like to say thank you for noticing the detail that was put into the renovations as it is one of a kind in this area and quite beautiful. We definitely appreciate the space we work in and always hope our guests share the same perspective. We are extremely sorry you had a small room as this is something we have not heard before. We were under the impression our space was large and comfortable for at least two people if not more so thank you for sharing. We are definitely looking into this to see if we can manoeuvre some of the furniture to make it a more enjoyable and spacious room experience. As for the cups, we are researching a good quality biodegradable option for the room. A cup that you can reuse would be ideal and we look to have them in the rooms shortly. We have talked with our vending machine provider to remedy the issues you have brought up but we definitely should have refunded your money or given you a bag of flavoured dried pork cubes (or jerky) in the mean time. This is the first feedback we have had regarding the price for our snacks and we very much appreciate it so that we can make adjustments. A memo has gone out to staff to make sure that everyone is on the same page regarding any issues regarding the vending machine or products in the hotel to ensure this does not happen again. I understand that in your case this is too little too late but we hope that we will see you again in the near future and have the opportunity to show you your amazing feedback at work! Very much appreciated and all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kingston area.
PRICE RANGE
C$141 - C$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peachtree hotel kingston
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Thriftlodge Kingston
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioKingston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Strata Hotel (C̶$̶1̶4̶5̶) C$120 - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Kingston, Ontario) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Strata Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Strata Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Absolute Comedy Kingston (0.02 km), Kingston Axe Throwing (0.5 km), and Passionate Artisans (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Strata Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Strata Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Strata Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Strata Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Strata Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Stefan, Tom's Place, and The Greek Island Grill & Bar.
Are pets allowed at Strata Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Strata Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Strata Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bellevue House National Historic Site (2.9 km), Fort Henry National Historic Site (5.2 km), and Kingston City Hall (3.7 km).
Is Strata Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.