Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina

Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina

RR#1 Point Pelee 1129 Mersea Road C RR 1, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V4 Canada
Traveller (19)
The front and back view of our site. And the beach and splash pad a 5 min drive.
Pool & Beach (5)
Cabin
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Leamington
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Pool
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
66Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 13
  • 3
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Victoria R wrote a review Jul 2015
Windsor, Canada193 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking to rent a cabin and found this one to be a reasonable rate. We did have to book a 2-night minimum but during my search I found this to be common among cabin rentals.

The cabin doesn't look like much from the outside but the inside is charming and very clean. There's a table and 6 chairs, a fridge, microwave, broom & dustpan, fire extinguisher, nightstand and even an air conditioner. We made use of the coathooks but a countertop or shelving would have been handy for keeping some things out of reach of our toddler.

The beds were quite comfortable...much better than I expected.

The campground was easy to find and is located within walking distance to a restaurant/ convenience store with another restaurant just down the road. We found it good to pop into Leamington to enjoy the beach and splash pad, and we had a nice scenic drive to Greenview Aviaries passing many markets along the way.

This is probably the cleanest campground that I have ever seen in my many stays throughout Ontario and across Europe. Some things are dated, but they are spotless. The cleanest showers anywhere for sure.

We were a bit of an anomaly for seasonal campers but most are friendly and chatty. We found most of the park staff nonchalant, although the concession lady and the two gate staff were very cheery, courteous and helpful.

The pool/splash pad is actually heated because we sat near the jet to stay warm. The warm water does not circulate well or remain for long. So yes, it's a chilly experience.

Minor annoyance: There are no hours posted anywhere. On the Friday we went to the rec centre to swim and were told that it was not open even though there were people using the pool. You aren't allowed to use the arcade either outside of set hours. No one seemed to know the set hours though. I failed to ask if the outdoor pools were open (they were serviced but apparently opened the week after officially); that's my fault for sure.

Negatives: The bored teenagers that hangout on the playground equipment and in the washrooms, particularly at night, and locking all the showers and stalls so you have to crawl under to open them (experienced EVERY day during our 3 days stay; very annoying and awkward with my little ones...what would a senior do?).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen R wrote a review Jul 2019
Windsor, Canada25 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time going to Sturgeon Woods Campground, we stayed in the cabin on Maple. There is another cabin on Willow just down from the bathroom, but it is a smaller lot and cabin. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The cabin we rented was very clean and conveniently located near the bathroom, and a 5 min walk to the swimming pools, water slide and rec centre. We had a large space both inside the cabin and outside sitting around the campfire. We found that we had a nice cross breeze coming off the small pond which can be seen from the site. The cabin came with a air conditioner, couch, small table and chairs, small fridge, coffee maker, microwave, broom and dustpan. The mattresses are not very comfortable, so you should bring a topper, or you can double up one of the top mattresses on the bottom bunk, which we did. There is only one bathroom, and it's a campground bathroom with three showers, nothing special about it. There is a small splash pool inside the domed rec centre, which is great for small children or if you just want to get out of the sun. Pools were very clean and thankfully very cool as it was very, very hot this weekend. They have different activities going on all day for something to do. TripAdvisor pictures are a little out of date, there is no outside splash pad and the small playground that was behind where our cabin was is no longer there. We hope to go back again next year as we had a wonderful time.

I have added photo's of our cabin and the smaller one too. ( the couple staying there let us take a look and pics)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the cabin early, they get booked up very fast!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theresa R wrote a review May 2018
Detroit, Michigan35 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a week to visit Point Pelee, which is a ten minute drive or so. This campground is mostly a seasonal RV park for families and retirees that stay for longer spells. There is a pool, but it wasn't open yet (too early in the spring). The staff members were friendly and helpful. The park is neat. The row for temporary RVs or campers is in full sun. Dog-friendly, walking around park, leash or line required.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diesel_boat wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Over crowded , rude staff , will never spend a dime here again. I paid for truck parking ,and then for my guest' parking. Come back to a ticket on the windshield . Asking me to pay another 15.00 for truck parking . So I went to the teller and he said my guest' parked in trailer parking . The only spot available and was barely big enough for a small Toyota pickup. Then started laughing and told me to pay up! Not a chance but the nerve . I live on the lake and launch every weekend . Not here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aurora1973 wrote a review Aug 2008
Southwest Ontario1 contribution12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first and the last time I will go to Sturgeon Woods Campground. This is a family run business, so I expected a nice family run establishment. I was definately wrong. It all began at the time of booking when they would not give me a campsite number or confirmation and requested me to call back for one because they were to busy at the time. I did call a 2nd time, a night before, and again was told they were too busy. This was by the owner.

The campgrounds are crowded. Tenting sites are located right next to the seasonal sites.

The radio has to be off by 11pm which is not a problem. If you want to sit around the fire and talk, that is a problem. You cannot because the noise travels - and security will be around constantly telling you to be quiet and threatening to kick you out. So basically be in bed by 11 and don't say a word.

I could continue about my experience there but there is too much to list. Complete rip-off , would not even go back if it was free.

I do not suggest going there at all, there are far better places to go camping in the Leamington and surrounding area.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha G wrote a review Oct 2011
Windsor, Canada64 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and our 2 teenagers camped at this campground for 3 years, The only reason we stayed for 3 years was because we had nice neighbours. The staff of this campground was very un-friendly and always changeing the rules. The security was always after my teenagers because if it was past 8pm they couldnt be off our camping lot and thats not fair. We came to this park to relax and enjoy our time and that wasn't possible. The life guards are not quailifed, seeing as how this boy started choking in the pool and they just smiled and ignored him. Overall I do not suggest people with children/teenagers go to this park, this is more of a seniors park.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Virg T wrote a review Jul 2012
London, Canada1 contribution9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
oh boy, where do I begin? No confirmation number or site number upon booking, leading me to think that perhaps this is some sort of twisted scam. When I asked "do you have tent sites" the reply was "oh yes, we have an entire tent section" upon arrival staff were very rude not to mention disorganized. We were shown to our site (which cost us $175 for 3 nights) we were the ONLY people tenting! there were a whole 8 sites reserved for tent camping and they were only a few steps away from the seasonal trailers. There was maybe 1 tree for every 3 trailers. The worst part of this is, is that our first impression was sooooo bad that we didn't even stay 1 night, we got a last minute site at Wheatly Provincial Park (whic only cost us $111 for 3 nights) where the staff were overly nice, including the park rangers and the police working for the long weekend! Anyway of course a Provincial Park is going to be nicer than a family run facility, but how dare they charge more! and a lot more! Sturgeon Woods refused to give us a refund because they had to "turn numerous people away" my friend and I returned to the facility on sun just to see if this was true and of course nobody was there, I even went as far as to get out of the car and walk around the "camp sites" to see if there was any evidence that anyone has stayed there and of course there wasnt. All in all I'm going to make it a personal mission of mine to make sure nobody spends a penny on this poorly run, disorganized, gross facility. Oh and those happy kids in the pictures on the website must be happy because there leaving.......
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jay R wrote a review Oct 2013
Wheatley, Canada1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
These people do not know how to run a business. They do not provide the park with equipment for the kids and if there is a craft to do, it costs 50 cents. We decided to put our trailer here for the season and possibly more. We pulled it out. The staff are not friendly. I have nothing nice to say about this place or the people running it.This is a communist campground. The pool rules are a joke. The indoor pool is cool for kids/adults but if you want to go outside to the family pool I hope your kid(s) can swim. NO LIFE JACKETS OF ANY SORT ALLOWED as you might rip their liner at the top where there is no water.
To sum this rant up THIS PLACE SUCKS AND WE WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK. If you want disappointment then stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tm444_33, Manager at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina
Responded Nov 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Yes, it is accurate that we do not allow boating life jackets in the pool however there are many other safety flotation devices specifically designed for pools that are permitted. We do apologize for this confusion. Also, In previous years we have charged a small .50 fee for our Saturday morning craft for crafting supplies but after review it was eliminated at the beginning of this past season. If we can make this right for you please call us at 519-326-1156. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
noah53 wrote a review May 2012
Picton, Canada41 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Camped while birding at Pt Pelee, location is what attracted us to this campground but it did not meet our expectations in any other way. It is mainly a seasonal campground with only back in sites if you want full hookups, pull thrus are only water and electric. Many of the sites are cramped with little space between units, free internet only worked in front of pool building. There are only 3 washrooms and showers for each sex for the large campground. Staff were not friendly or helpful. Pool or activity building was not open but full price was charged. Grounds were very wet and water covered part of site for most of week long stay. Glad to move to next campground on our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No pull thru sites with full hookups
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Snowboardtigger wrote a review Jul 2014
Orangeville1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What could be a beautiful campground is wreaked by the miserable people that own this place. You are met daily by the evil glare, when you say good morning you get ignored or stared at with no reply. They are still charging extra for the kids crafts so some of these reviews aren't accurate. I'm tempted to flip them $20 buck to turn some heat on in the pool. The kids so called splash pad is really a wadding pool with no heat. It is so cold your feet ache just standing in it, how are kids to swim in that? Some words of advice....hire happy staff that like people, if you are that miserable you shouldn't own a campground! Manage it from home and keep your miserable butt away from people trying to take a nice vacation!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Karen R wrote a tip Jul 2019
Windsor, Canada25 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the cabin early, they get booked up very fast!"
Read full review
RetiredLass wrote a tip Jun 2019
Windsor, Canada48 contributions31 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go off season"
Read full review
Retiredguys wrote a tip Jul 2016
Toronto, Canada85 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have Karaoke on the weekend, so ..."
Read full review
MI_rld wrote a tip May 2015
Berrien County, Michigan3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask how much mud there is on the site?"
Read full review
nancy620 wrote a tip Aug 2014
London, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dolly Street is a nice street."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Leamington area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioLeamington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Point Pelee National Park (6.3 km), Leamington Municipal Marina (3.4 km), and Seacliff Park (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, kids activities, and babysitting.
What are some restaurants close to Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rays Rib House, Lakeside Bakery Deli Cafe, and Freddy's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Leamington HotelsLeamington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LeamingtonHotels near Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars