We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Booking.comUS$73*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,069: English reviews
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

The staff was friendly, but that's where the positives end. We were told we had to wait 3 hours to check in, but we were given our breakfast voucher from the Applebee's next door. Just skip the breakfast, arguably the worst food ever. The hallways are unreasonably cold. The view from the room wasn't as good as advertised, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsmplayers
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that the staff was helpful and friendly. I apologize for your disappointment with the hotel and features and view. We do hope to serve you again!

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We recently were offered a gourmet package for $119 from the hotel which we booked. We were put in a room on the 5th floor, 517, facing the falls which is the same as room 1917 we have been in before. All was good with our stay until I received the bill. The room was nice, the gourmet meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tazman444
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you booked the gourmet package again with us. I understand there is a lot of confusion with the tourism fee of 8% that we bill to all guests that staff at our hotel properties. The tourism fee has been in the Niagara falls area for 12 years. The fee...

Brampton
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We have stayed at the Oakes several times before but this time we were not so happy there. The cost was exhorbitant, there was only a $20 cert to Remingtons so we didn't use it because it was cheaper to go to the casino buffet. Also the girl who checked us in tried to give us only a $20 for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley C
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologize for the confusion when you arrived. We will follow up with all agents to ensure better accuracy on all guest bookings.

St Catharines
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I stayed at the Oaks hotel in April 2016. The Pool area was very dirty and the hot tub was clearly broken but being offered as if it were functioning. The beds were ok but the pillows were thin and old. The desk staff were very nice and definitely the best thing about this stay. The onsite Applebee s restaurant...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenWinnik
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and review. I appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the hot tub being down , it has since been fixed and we are working more closely with the hourly upkeep of the pool area for cleanliness.

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I was quite disappointed with my stay at your hotel. Upon check in we find out our room had been double booked. The employee "complimentary upgraded" us to another room. I had originally booked a fallsview king suite with jacuzzi. The room we ended up in was not an upgrade. We were "upgraded" to a room that had a couch...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon42866
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The hotel is clean and welcoming. Reception and bell staff very knowledgeable. Pay for a falls view room the view is spectacular. The TV channels could have a wider variety but they were adequate for a 3 night stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sacha R
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you Sacha for your review, I will pass along your comments in hopes to obtain a better channel selection.

Markham
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The room was suppose to be renovated, it was not. It was old and dark and dated. They told me they couldn't move my room that they were at capacity but still did nothing for me. I could have stayed at any other four star hotels for less money. I will not be going back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracycN2210HI
Barrie
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Great place to stay and relex will do it again only thing I didn't get to try was the pool area not enough time with all what I had to do down and around the hotel maybe next time I'm there great place to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzygod
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, we look forward to your next visit.

Bowmanville
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We had to evacuate in the middle of the night for a false fire alarm and were not treated very well for the incovenince. I think they should of had better sercurity and at least gave us a free breakfast. I will not stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y4230VHtimb
Shelby, Ohio
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I booked a two-bed room with a falls view for myself and my teenage son. We stayed for a two day vacation. We absolutely loved our view of the falls from our window (we were on the 6th floor). We got to view the rainbow over the falls during the daylight and the light illuminations of the falls at night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
nicole g, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jennifer. We are delighted that your stay for you and your son was most enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back again!

1,474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1436)
Viewed
Room/Suite (341)
Viewed
View from Room (346)
Viewed
Bathroom (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (479)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.3 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.3 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Price Range: $139 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls
Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Niagara Falls, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for (pay for) the falls view”
870derekd, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
544stefaniem, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“FallsVIEW room”
sunshinebeliever, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the Falls.”
cpg9, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the falls BUT request a room on floors 8-14. We were on the 2nd floor whic had a terrible view.”
wayne0012016, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$73
ElvolineUS$105
Hotwire.comUS$73
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates