We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We went the first weekend in December for a friend's 50 birthday party. Is an absolutely beautiful hotel, the rooms are charming & the staff fabulous. We had breakfast it was amazing, the town is so charming & friendly. Can't wait to go back - highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imissthesun
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Imissthesun, thanks for the great review! I remember your group checking in and it looked like you were already having a great time together. I'm thrilled to know that your party enjoyed the 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to have you back for many more special occasions.

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2016

My husband ended our wine and dine tour (Niagara Vintage Wine Tours) with dinner here at the Hobnob in the Charles Hotel. The food, from the first course to the last, was absolutely delicious!! We chose different dishes from eachother, so that we would be able to taste everything on the menu (well, almost everything), and let me tell you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melissa P, thank you for leaving such a glowing review of your experience at the HobNob Restaurant located in our historic Charles Hotel. I have passed your kind comments along to our Chef as well as to Niagara Vintage Wine Tours. I am very happy to know that we were able to cap-off your day of wine tasting with...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a room at the Charles Hotel on November 19th. Check-in was very very quick and friendly. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable and nicely decorated. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked very busy. I would stay here again and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlogan_70
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello mlogan_70, thank you for taking the time to let others know about the Charles Hotel. We have a variety of different rooms at the hotel, so the next time you're in Niagara-on-the-Lake I hope you'll call us directly so we can help you pick the room that is just right for you, perhaps with a package so that you...

Reviewed 26 November 2016

This is the kind of old estates that would inspire Ernest Hemingway......Beautiful old Veranda and top notch service and room appointments. The restaurant is 5 star and worth the price...and it is not cheap. You get what you pay for and this establishment will be fondly remembered........The ONLY drawback was the roar of motorcycles through out the night.....this is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary S
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Gary S, I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your visit! We are very proud of our HobNob Restaurant and I'm really pleased to see that you were able to dine while as a guest of the hotel. The Charles was originally built in 1832 and definitely makes you feel like you're stepping back in...

East Aurora, New York
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The Hotel was beautiful inside and out. Old world charm with modern touches. Amazing restaurant and friendly and helpful staff. Only a 2 block walk to the main part of town and a short drive to several great wineries. Our room was spacious and very clean with amazing views from our own personal balcony. Complimentary bottle of wine and fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 582colemanr
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review 582colemanr! I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of the private verandah to help celebrate your special day with the complimentary gift. We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back...

Magnetawan, Ontario
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Was one of the best lunches in a historic establishment. Food was excellent as was the service. The atmosphere was inviting and hospitable. Would recommend it for anyone visiting Niagara on the Lake..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 870ilona
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your lunch here at the HobNob. The lunch component works so well with the wine tour you were on and I'm happy to see how much you enjoyed yourself. I hope you'll come back for a repeat visit on your own and give our Chef's dinner tasting menu a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was a great success. This old inn has character and the staff are extremely helpful and hospitable. Our room #1, the Veranda Room, was beautiful, quiet, and most comfortable. It is located at the rear of the inn overlooking a beautiful lawn and garden. Unfortunately this property is not conducive to folks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWGB
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your wife's birthday getaway here with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. The Veranda room is an absolute guest favourite! The rear pathway you mentioned is scheduled to be replaced with a paved walkway. We look forward to having you back to the Charles again soon and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Only spent one night at the Charles Hotel wish we had another few nights Ate at the hotel food excellent but not cheap a special occasion Would be good. The staff were so nice and helpful could not do enough for us. Breakfast was one of the best,French toast and real maple syrup If ever in Niagara -on-the Lake again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rinds1
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Rinds1. We consider it one of the best compliments when guests wish they could extend their stay or are already planning a repeat trip before they're even gone! I'm happy to know that you got to come down for breakfast, the French toast is my personal favourite! We look forward...

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This is a historic hotel on the main street of Niagara on the Lake which gives you the feeling of the past but with up to date amenities. It's dining room is wonderful with it's fireplace, old wood timbers and ambiance. The food is wonderful, especially the pairing menu which offers many courses with a fabulous wine match to each....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike C, thank you for your review of our historic Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant. Our Chef's tasting menu is a favourite among refined diners, especially when the wine pairings are added. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Pittsford, NY
Reviewed 28 October 2016

At the edge of Queen St. and right on the old golf course, this is a great location. Quiet but within a few minutes’ walk of downtown and the theaters. A bit pricey, and we stayed in the only available room which was the Safari Room. I wouldn't recommend that particular room. Not full height and my wife bumped her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Brian M, Thank you for your meaningful and kind words about our team. They work hard every day to provide the best possible guest experience and are disappointed when that experience falls short. I'm thrilled to know that despite some short comings we were able make the situation right for you and I genuinely look forward to welcoming you...

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Petite Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Premier Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
437 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,155 reviews
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,572 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,379 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $194 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Veranda Room was the old kitchen and overlooks the park. 1st floor so some noise from people coming and going to the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles michelemP7795IB, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stairs to rooms”
 of 5 bubbles WJR47, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only dined here -- next time we would love to stay at the hotel too!!”
 of 5 bubbles B1183VJmelissap, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Again if staying during a hot summer day may want to get a room with limited exposure to road noise”
 of 5 bubbles 13garys, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room # 4, the Richardson room was outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles 582colemanr, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5