We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8 Canada
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Trip.com
US$114
View deal
TravelocityUS$117
Hotels.comUS$117
Destinia.comUS$124
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-05-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21-05-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 80 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
At the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre will stand out among other hotels in Ottawa,ON. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at Best Western® Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 2 more

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
938Reviews12Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 343
  • 124
  • 50
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
F M wrote a review Yesterday
Tehran, Iran4 contributions5 helpful votes
Awesome staff and rooms. You really feel comfortable in this place. Staff are so welcoming, room and its kitchen are almost fully furnished and very clean, with a good restaurant menu. It is located at the heart of the city with easy access to East and West, just several km to the city attractions and dinning streets. Not to mention, a food basics in neighbourhood is a plus.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear FM, Thank you for the fabulous review of your stay! I really appreciate you sharing your experience in detail. From the clean, spacious well equipped rooms. To the convenient location in the heart of the city with easy access to all of the attractions Ottawa has to offer. The Food Basics and 24 hours Shoppers Drug Mart across the street have everything you could require for extras you might require during your stay. I hope you had an opportunity to spend some time relaxing by the heated outdoor pool. I am glad you had an opportunity to enjoy some of the tasty menu options from the Cafe 1274 menu. I hope we will see you again soon. Sincerely, Adrienne E
Read more
TeeLou2014 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Toronto, Canada16 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We traveled to Ottawa this past weekend, July 16-19, to finally visit our family including our two granddaughters. We have stayed in the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre in the past so we were happy to return and were not disappointed. This is a nice mid-range hotel that features comfortable rooms and a welcoming staff. The Covid cleaning protocols in place are good and we felt the hotel was clean and well maintained. Note: During this time, there is no daily cleaning of the room due to the protocols when you are on a multi-day stay but towels and amenities are replaced easily upon request and garbage is removed daily. We would recomend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded Jul. 21, 2021
Dear TeeLou2014, Thanks for the amazing 5 star review! We were delighted to have you return. Appreciate you mentioning how warm and welcoming the staff were. I am glad the enhanced cleaning protocols, and the well maintained rooms, and public areas, added to your comfort level. I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy some time at the heated outdoor pool, and also enjoy some fun activities in the Ottawa area, while visiting family. Your recommendation of the the hotel is greatly appreciated! Wishing you all the best for summer 2021 and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Adrienne E
Read more
TrailBlazer816643 wrote a review Aug. 7
1 contribution
I was dissatisfied about the front desk service. I asked to get fix the issue with the toilet for the second time in 2 days. The problem got temporary fixed the first day. I was severed with a quick positive response from a young, smiling and courteous staff member. I wasn't to bothered when I found out that the problem wasn't completely fixed at my return to my room the same day. The second day, the toilet was still broken and when I asked to get it sorted out because the smell in the room was getting bad, my family and I couldn't use the toilet and the celling fan wasn't working either. I was served with a "There is nothing I can do right now. Just shot the bathroom door and the fan will get rid of the sent". Of all 5 staff members that I have seen working there, the one that gave me that answer seemed to be older in seniority. The senior staff wouldn't believe me when I told her that the bathroom fan isn't working. The reason why I didn't give 1/5 review is because at the end, the toilet got fixed but I had to complain and mention multiple times that this is unacceptable condition plus I had to argue about it to get proper service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded yesterday
Dear Trailblazer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I am glad the maintenance department were able to correct the problem. Your comments have been forwarded to the department manager for review and follow up. Only through feedback such as yours can we continue to improve. Thank you, Adrienne E
Read more
Bilal Bilal wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
Great location and staff. Absolutely wonderful experience. We had a two week stay and had no complaints or problems. Free parking with lots of space.Highly recommended for families. With good eating places nearby
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BilalBb2, Thank you for the outstanding 5 star review of your stay! I appreciate you sharing that you had an absolutely wonderful experience, during your two week stay with us. Many thanks for the comments about the great service received form the staff, convenient location, and overall high recommendation and review of the hotel. I hope you have an opportunity to return again soon. Wishing you the best, warm regards, Adrienne E
Read more
vedan20202022 wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
We had the worst experience in this hotel room had odor mattress was sinking not the best sleeping night shower was too low had to bend your knees take shower sink was plugged had to wait 2-3 minutes wait before opening the water again..when talked to the front desk she simply said sorry for your experience..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear vedan, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced on your recent stay. Your comments have been forwarded to the housekeeping manager for review and follow up. Thank you, Adrienne E
Read more
Bbq N wrote a review Jul. 2022
Whitby, Canada4 contributions
triple check your rates on-line before committing. They will have many excuses why the rates change. Regardless that you have stayed there for 23 years and are a platinum member. Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre has changed for the worse. They use to be untouchable with their hospitality. There are other hotels that would love your business. Even Glo (Best Western) where i stayed the previous time due to sold out at my regular spot. They even gave me a Breakfast for the pricing i usually pay at BW Ottawa. Disappointing, after 23 year to be treated like this. From getting great rooms ( as per request) to getting what they give me, to over charging now. What Happened??
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BbqN2, Thank you for your feedback. We regret you were disappointed with your stay. Room rates are variable. The hotel has spoken with you about your comments. Thank you, Hotel Management
Read more
condor13 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Toronto9 contributions3 helpful votes
We needed a room with facilities for a disability, and our needs were supplied .The staff were very helpful and cheerful.. The room, clean and well supplied. The restaurants was adequate, not elegant dining, but friendly and the food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Condor13, Thank you for the fabulous review of your stay! I appreciate you sharing how helpful and cheerful the staff were. I am glad we were able to accommodate your requirements and had all of the supplies needed. So pleased you enjoyed the tasty meals in Cafe 1274 and the friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Adrienne E
Read more
Judy K wrote a review Jul. 2022
Ottawa, Canada5 contributions
We stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to The Ottawa Civic Hospital, where my father is ill. Our stay was almost a month in total, mostly just me but my sisters did join me at times. I stayed in a suite with 2 beds and a kitchenette, full size fridge and hot plate along with plenty of coffee and microwave. I liked that room service wasn’t every day and you could schedule it when you needed. The beds are very comfortable and tv offers every channel available and Chromecast. There is also a laundry facility on site. The restaurant food and service was amazing, great menu and taste. Management went above and beyond to take care of me & my sisters when we needed a place to land. Thank you so much to all the staff and management. We will definitely see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Judy, I appreciate your 5 star review. I am very sorry about the circumstances that brought you to Ottawa, your father receiving care in the hospital. I am glad we were able to make your lengthy stay comfortable, during a stressful time, and we were able to provide you with all of the amenities to make you feel at home. Many thanks for the great comments about the tasty meals and service received in Cafe 1274. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your sisters back again soon. Warm regards, Adrienne E
Read more
Jean-Maxime Labonte wrote a review Jul. 2022
Rimouski, Canada1946 contributions537 helpful votes
+1
Wow! First time here and it was perfect. I just arrived on the go and there was some place left for the night for me. The service was very nice and friendly. The room was great and large. Love it. The bed was also very comfortable. A great place to stay in Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jean-Maxime, Many thanks for the outstanding 5 star review and recommendation! I am delighted everything was perfect and you had a great experience. From the spacious room and comfortable bed, to the friendly service received from the staff who looked after you during your stay. I hope you had some time to relax outside in the sun and enjoy the heated outdoor pool. We hope you can return again soon. Cheers, Adrienne E
Read more
Yasrah1407 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Whitby, Canada1 contribution
The hotel was noisy and people talking loudly or playing music in the middle of the night! No respect for others that might have younger kids sleeping. I had someone at 2am talking loudly next door. The shower in the room wasn’t working as it should be. I am not sure but this is the 1st time that my stay in a hotel wasn’t enjoyable as I never had restful nights after having been out and about all day long visiting Ottawa. May be rooms need more soundproofing? Or get customers to at least have some guidelines when and when not to be loud?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Yasrah, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry guests in a surrounding room caused a disturbance and you did not have a restful stay. I regret the front desk staff were not made aware as they could have addressed it with the guests right away. We strive to ensure every guest has an exceptional stay and unfortunately you were disappointed on this occasion. Thank you, Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western ottawa, ottawa best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus Macies Hotel
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Nearby attractions include Chabad Of Westboro Village (0.7 km), Kehillat Beth Israel (0.7 km), and Spy Nation (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bowman's Bar & Grill, Cabana Restaurant, and Cafe 1274.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Filipino, and Tamil.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (5.0 km), Rideau Hall (7.2 km), and Laurier House National Historic Site (6.3 km).