We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Show Prices
#14 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Laurier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,326: English reviews
toronto
Reviewed 11 September 2015

we stay here quite a bit...for me, the is no other place in Ottawa..the history ,charm and quality of this hotel makes it tops on my list....the staff is wonderful and very accommodating ...very professional and helpful......will be back......oh, and they have a great pet policy for all you dog owners....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny N
ChateauLaurier, Administration at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Johnny, Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Lee Power Administrative Assistant to the General Manager currently out of the country on assignment

Vancouver
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The outside and lobby of this hotel are beautiful and full of history. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and staff are friendly and helpful. However, this hotel is expensive and you have to pay for access to the internet ($16 per day) and there is no fridge in the room. We also first had a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canada_Anna
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We have various room sizes and configurations and I recommend you reserve deluxe accommodations if you require more square footage and a view. Our reservations agents are well equipped to ensure that your preferences are considered when reserving the perfect guestroom within our Castle. I also encourage you to join our President’s Club. Membership is free and includes many wonderful...

Oakville, ON
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Having heard somewhere that his Fairmont was a little run down, we were pleasantly surprised... The hotel is lovely, feels very opulent and a little like traveling back in time. Plus it's always fun to stay in a castle! Our room was a deluxe king and was spacious, clean & comfortable. Zoe's bar is always a fave for a late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglishinCanada
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments with others on Trip Advisor. We are currently in the midst of a complete renovation of our guestrooms and suites and are excited to show off our new product! We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back one day...

Clarks Summit
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We stayed here two nights and really enjoyed it. I have stayed here years ago and I was not disappointed upon my return. Excellently maintained property and public spaces. Our room was on the sixth floor and was a bit dark with only one window. However we got a very good price on the room. It was very hot in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim_the_food_guy
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We hope to see you again one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

ottawa ontario
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I reside in Ottawa and celebrated my daughters ' wedding this past weekend in Ottawa. We didn't include the Hotel in our wedding plans however it was one of two hotels recommended to out of town guests. The groom,best man and my daughter stayed at the hotel. The bride and groom had special packages for guests that the concierge had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TimothyD49
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Timothy, I regret not meeting your expectations on this very special occasion. Please rest assured that the experiences of your out of town guests are not typical of the high level of service we strive to provide to our guests every day. We do hope that members of the wedding party return one day and allow us the opportunity...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Such a wonderful hotel! Beautiful views of both parliament, the canal, as well as the river. We stayed in room 202 and it was impeccable. Certainly worth every penny spent; very clean, spacious rooms, amazing views, and wonderful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canukmm
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Burlington
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Great service (concierge in particular were very helpful), beautiful decor, great location and deals to be had for rates. A first class experience all the way around. The staff were quick to aid us as my wife had broken her ankle just prior to arrival. They made sure we were well looked after, aided in finding the best place to...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank osretread
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We agree, we have some of the best colleagues in the business and will certainly share your kind thoughts with the,. I know they will be pleased to have been recognized. We look forward to seeing you and your wife again one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Towson
Reviewed 7 September 2015

When you pay over $300 for a room, you might expect the room to be ready by 3:00PM and to have a free internet connection. Not here. The only word I can think of is "SUCKER" I will not stay at a Fairmont again.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A2584FSjosephm
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to get you into your room at 3:00 p.m. I will be sure to follow up with the team. I hope you will reconsider staying with Fairmont again in the future. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Recently had a 2 night stay at the Chateau Laurier. What a great hotel. My husband and I had a double deluxe room on the 3rd floor while our daughter had a Fairmont Queen across the corridor from us. We had superb views of the canal and Parliament Building. Our room was very spacious and exceptionally clean with two bathrooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silverlady46
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa’s Castle and look forward to welcoming you and your family back one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

montréal
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We went there for 1 night friday the 4 of september 2015 to celebrate our 22 th wedding anniversary my first impression was there new system on internet called je suis en route wich ask me to tell them around what time all will be arriving wrote them back the day before and around 10 am. On the day i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gagougou
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary in Ottawa’s Castle. We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

904 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (881)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (172)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (323)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,950 reviews
Lord Elgin
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
49 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zoe's Lounge
Zoe's Lounge
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $214 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Ottawa, Ontario
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are cramped and very far from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsDDO, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view, and not too far from an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles BluenoseQueen, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a refurbished room...and include breakfast.....”
 of 5 bubbles Readytoburst, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the 6th floor had doors leading to adjoining rooms - a great option if going with older children/other family members.”
 of 5 bubbles sdudley649, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles charbooth00, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5