We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6 Canada
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Roadtrip package
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$118
View deal
Hotels.comUS$118
Official SiteUS$138
Booking.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$118
Preferred HotelsUS$117
travelup.comUS$144
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (239)
Room & Suite (308)
Dining (16)

About

#30 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travellers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, and 24-hour fitness center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Taxi service
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1780Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 732
  • 612
  • 260
  • 117
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Phoenikia wrote a review Jan. 15
Toronto, Canada1348 contributions117 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel twice now, once around 2011, and most recently in Oct 2022. Some friends who work in Ottawa frequently recommended it. It’s great if you don’t have a car. I liked the quiet rooms, I liked the linens. I like that it’s a smaller hotel than the Sheraton, Westin, Fairmont, Marriott or Courtyard Inn. The rooms are nice and big. The bathrooms are nice. To get to the parking, there’s a very narrow laneway directly to the right of the hotel. Even though I arrived on a Saturday night of the Thanksgiving weekend, a time when Ottawa’s financial district is empty, it was frustrating to turn right quickly into a narrow laneway. I missed the turn the first time because there were some pedestrians blocking my view of the laneway as I approached it, then I couldn’t turn sharply enough as some traffic was coming behind me, so I drove around the block, which meant 6 blocks because of all the one way streets. The next time, as I was trying to drive into the laneway, I committed to the turn, and was trying to drive in, and a city bus started honking at me. The street where the hotel is located is public transit only during the day, cars allowed at night. It was dark and rainy, and obviously most hotel guests are visitors to Ottawa, but I guess the bus driver thought I was too slow. I was frazzled by the time I finally parked. I prefer staying closer to the Byward Market, for walking around to restaurants, but my last stay at the Courtyard was meh. This is a very pleasant hotel and I like the staff and rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking lot is under another building, and access is through a narrow laneway next to the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judy wrote a review Dec. 2022
Eastern Passage, Canada2 contributions
Had a great stay in a very comfortable room. Check in was seemless and staff very friendly. Had a great sleep in a great bed. Very quiet and relaxing. Good value for a downtown hotel in the heart of Ottawa
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alex N wrote a review Dec. 2022
Toronto, Canada23 contributions62 helpful votes
I stayed here as I was in town for a business meeting. Upon arriving late at night and checking in and going to my room, I noticed there was damage on the hotel walls, and the smoke detector was missing. Upon arrival, I had asked if there was parking and was told there was but I would have to park there myself, I also noticed there was no personal at the door or any type of Vale parking assistance, so as was instructed by front desk, I parked my car myself in the parking. In the morning and after leaving the hotel, I noticed there was a charge for "Vale Parking for $25+tax on my bill. A total of $436.81 for a one night stay at a basic room which had holes in the wall and was missing a smoke detector! This is outrageous... There are lots of options in the area for a far better experience at that price! stay away...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay away... there are better options in this area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julia A wrote a review Dec. 2022
Kingston, Canada9 contributions16 helpful votes
After one sleepless night here, we packed up and left. The “intimate” room was so small for my husband and I that there was no place for us with our suitcases in the room. The bed was a little saggy. The decorating was worn and depressing. Despite this it was way overpriced. We went to another much larger and better room for much less. At least the front desk was understanding of our departure.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
montycook2022 wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
The ARC is in an excellent location downtown and the staff were quite pleasant. I was happy with my entire experience with one exception. The Lounge/Restaurant was only open for breakfast. Many downtown establishments close early and it would have been great if there was a place to eat/have a drink in the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ozart wrote a review Oct. 2022
Salmon Arm, Canada259 contributions96 helpful votes
Terrific location, no inhouse restaurant but plenty of choices nearby. Staff was polite and helpfull (although they didnt know what a corkscrew was) and facility very clean. I would reccomend this hotel to friends. A good stay in an amazing city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PeterS7215XS wrote a review Oct. 2022
Cornwall, Canada1 contribution
Overall experience was great. Location was very good close to all locations I wanted to visit within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and professional. I would stay again when attending business downtown.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ilanderz wrote a review Oct. 2022
Whitby, Canada16 contributions30 helpful votes
The Arc is a perfectly fine hotel. It's conveniently located in downtown Ottawa from where you can walk to most of the important places in Ottawa you might want to go. Or, if you prefer, an Uber will show up within three minutes. The room was large enough, quiet enough, and warm enough. The bed was comfortable enough. There was a desk and an armchair. Enough sockets to plug my phone and computer into, though the sockets could be more strategically located. But the shower... I'm six feet tall. The shower head sat at about five feet six inches. Contortions were required to wash my hair. I managed, but this was less than ideal for a man of my height. The restaurant was nice, but it's only open for breakfast. Not really a problem as there are plenty of great restaurants nearby. The front desk and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. Conclusion: a perfectly acceptable hotel in a good location designed for people less than six feet tall. Chocolates on the bed and pleasant music as you first enter the room would help. Just saying.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
The Helper Crow wrote a review Oct. 2022
Toronto, Canada2776 contributions177 helpful votes
+1
We did not want to be booked at this hotel, but the hotel that we had booked through another website ended up not existing so we were booked here. We had been promised that The Arc Hotel had free parking and would not charge for having a pet - both of these promises were false as this Hotel does not have free parking - they have underground parking nearby that they charge $25-$35 per day. We were not told about any pet charges until we received the invoice later that day with a $50 charge and the note "Guest was seen with a dog." What a cowardly way to charge a family for bringing their dog without letting them know at check-in. I have stayed at Hotels all over the world and I can honestly say that I have never stayed in a room so small. The two rooms that we had, which were described as Intimate Queen Rooms - the rooms were 12 square meters!!! They were absolutely tiny - I couldn't believe it. The hot water in the shower took nearly 5 minutes of running until it got warm. The air conditioner sounded like we had a WW2 Bomber flying in the room with us, but when we turned it off the room heated up very quickly. We were in rooms 814 and 815 and we were woken up at 7am on Saturday morning by incredibly loud noises out on the street. I got dressed and went downstairs and saw that there was a gigantic crane being assembled on the street out front to lift an Air Conditioner unit up onto the roof of a nearby building. I asked the girls at the reception off they had been told that this was going to be happening and she told me that they hadn't been notified. I asked the Foreman out on the street and he told me that they had been told. Either way - the people who had spent their money at this hotel had NOT been told that they would be woken up by the noise on the street. The TV had a handful of channels available - the least amount I have EVER seen in my lifetime of travel so we couldn't even watch a hockey game that was on and had to watch it on my iPad. Suffice to say - we will never be returning to this hotel. The only positive I could say about it is that it is very close to Parliament Hill and ByWard Market - perfect if you just want to walk around downtown Ottawa and see the sights.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try to stay on a high floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PETER WILSON, Owner at ARC The Hotel
Responded Oct. 14, 2022
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I do apologies for the street level noise but this is very hard to control being a down town property. We will investigate why you were told there we no fees for parking or pets as this is on all of our amentias pages on line stating this. I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Oct. 2022
Grimsby, Canada22 contributions30 helpful votes
Overall, not a bad hotel but parking is terrible, especially if you have a larger vehicle. Being charged extra for this “privilege” is bad. The “view” from our room consisted of a concrete wall 8 feet away. Not only paid a huge price for this view but it made the room extremely dark.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PETER WILSON, Owner at ARC The Hotel
Responded Oct. 14, 2022
Thank you so much for your comments. Being in a major city and downtown location all hotel charge for parking as space is quite limited. Yes our views are limited as well because of our location being in the core of the city.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arc hotel ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARC The Hotel - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Ottawa, Ontario) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ARC The Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to ARC The Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Manor - Queen Street (0.3 km), National War Memorial (0.3 km), and Changing of the Guard (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ARC The Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include room service, meeting rooms, and dry cleaning.
What food & drink options are available at ARC The Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at ARC The Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ARC The Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sansotei Ramen, Beckta Dining & Wine, and Aroma Meze.
Is ARC The Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at ARC The Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ARC The Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ARC The Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to ARC The Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (0.5 km), Rideau Hall (2.6 km), and Laurier House National Historic Site (1.7 km).