We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Hotels.comUS$101*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Panoramas (64)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this dog friendly hotel on the long weekend for the tulip festival. Was a corner unit on the low floor with a walkout patio overlooking the Rideau. The room itself was spacious and spotlessly clean. Had a flatscreen tv in the main room and the adjoining bedroom which had a king bed and also its own access to...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P1431YGanthonyl
Waterloo, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 days ago

After a harrowing day of travel and a cancelled flight...I arrived hungry and tired to discover that the staff was swamped hosting a wedding reception. However, the owner heard my plea for dinner and a quiet room, and with kind words provided both. I was again greeted like family for the breakfast meal next day. While I looked around outside,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear Linda W, Wow thank you for the great review. It is always so rewarding to read reviews such as yours. I have shared your review with all departments and they are thrilled to be mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Kristine

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice rooms. We had one that overlooked the water. Nice and clean. Used the fire pit on the grounds one night by the water. Check in staff were very polite and accommodating. I would go back for sure!

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyincuba2011
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding your stay. I have shared your comments with the staff, and they are delighted to be mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Kristine

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a couple of days away, and liked what I had heard about this hotel's location. My room over looked the tree lined river, such a gorgeous sight in a city. The room was nicely furnished and the bed super comfortable with lovely linens. There was a mini fridge, a desk area and seating area. The balcony had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev304
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star reviews. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location. Our outdoor swimming pool is not yet open and we are aiming for the end of May. In the winter months we offer guests our shuttle service to and from the rooms to avoid the walk to and from the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on the highway so you could here traffic all night. Walls/floors are thin so you can here the rooms beside you. Uncomfortable bed, low end sheets, no microwave.

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherbH9371JU
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for review. I am disappointed to hear regarding your recent stay. If you are not happy with the room assigned to you we will always do our best to move you. I will be trying to determine the room that you occupied so I can ensure your comments are addressed in regards to the bed. While our rooms...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank imglendastewart
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I booked this hotel for a corporate event. Not good. Hot water wasn't working in the room and you have to go outdoors to the main building to get a coffee. Not an ideal place but sadly, options are limited outside of the pricey downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larissajoy89
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear Larissa, Thank you for your review. While I am disappointed to hear of your recent experience I can offer some clarification for you. Our hot water tank did experience difficulty for approximately a two hour window. In order to ensure that guest were able to get ready we offered complimentary rooms for guests to shower and if they wanted...

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We went for their Easter Brunch. It's a beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere and decor on a nice property by the river. The service was friendly and cheerful. Seven of us in total, we loved that they provided an easter egg hunt for the kids. So why not 5 stars? The food. It was good not great. There has been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Sp
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of your feedback as well as your loyalty. We pride ourselves on friendly customer service and a great guest experience. We have been known for our brunches and certainly do not want to disappoint our guests. Our team values guest feedback and uses it to continue to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2017

My room had clearly been recently renovated which was nice. However, I found the choice of décor combined with the high efficiency fluorescent type lights created quite a cold and sterile feel to the room. The location of the property on the river is charming and the view from my balcony was nice, however the proximity to the airport means...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverstang
Kristine H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear Silverstang, Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and view of the Rideau River. I am sorry to hear you did not like the lighting in the room. At one point we did have softer lighting in the room; however we received feedback from previous guests that the lighting was...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Rooms are very well attended, beds are great, restaurant has really good food, friendly staff.. Hot tub is "okay"...why it is given a 4 instead of a 5...

Review collected in partnership with Ramada
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 405kareni
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the rooms and the beds. I have shared your review with the entire Ramada Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Kristine

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (425)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
One King One Sofa Bed Jacuzzi Suite (57)
Viewed
One Queen One Sofa Beds Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
One Queen with Sofa Beds Accesible Room (35)
Viewed
One Queen with Sofa Beds Executive Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (111)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Doubles (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Executive Room (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
11.0 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
7.0 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
9.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.7 km away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Address: 2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $152 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn Resort And Conference Centre
Monterey Inn Resort & Conference Centre Hotel Ottawa
Monterey Hotel Ottawa
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor,back building”
lindawF6702PN, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor in the back building likely offers best views”
silverstang, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Rideau River, very quiet, set in trees, and nice. We aways choose the top floors, no one over your head, much quieter.”
jerrym343, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms do not have a soda machine”
602marybeths, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a river view!”
rossu419, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$205
Booking.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$101
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates