We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau

2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (194)
Panoramas (64)
Room & Suite (324)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#40 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Travellers' Choice
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French
504Reviews10Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 186
  • 95
  • 37
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Genevieve33333 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Laval, Canada12 contributions
On the website it said renovated, it was not... Still carpet, room very dark and super small, I hurt myself 4 times getting dressed in the super tiny bathroom. The drawers were dirty, considering the Covid, it is not appropriate. We had « breakfast bag to go » and it was a bottle of water, a super sweet no fruit or anything muffin (2 cranberries in entire muffin) a yogurt and rotten apples... seriously.... We heard noises all the time. it was double beds and no microwave.... ok it is not written so in description, I have read wrong, it is just so Queen beds and microwave everywhere that I never thought otherwise... The room was absolutely not the 293$ we paid in total for the 2 nights. Only good point : pool clean (but freezing cold) And the Rideau canal...´ Will not go back and
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Kristine Hillis , Owner at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to look into the room assigned to you .We are taking all comments very seriously and I can assure you your comments will be shared and looked into. All of our rooms with two beds have two double beds. We do not have rooms that have two queen beds in them, and we do not advertise as such . In regards to the breakfast I have shared your comments with the chef regarding the apples; we are looking into changing our bagged breakfast options . We have listened to the feedback provided, and will be making changes. Microwaves are available upon request. The front desk staff are available 24/ to assist with requests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the Rideau River We thank you for sharing your comments .
Read more
Mermaid_Julie-n-Dan wrote a review Aug. 2020
Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, Canada74 contributions57 helpful votes
First stay, a 2 night stay july 17-19 2020 (room 255) and then returned for a second 9 night stay July 31- Aug 9 2020 (room 252). Reservation reps and front desk reps were friendly and helpful. Proper Covid-19 protocol being followed (shield, hand sanitizer, customer masking required in lobby, and limit of 4 distanced customers in lobby at a time) . Located on the Rideau River, this hotel provides a quaint location, with comfortable rooms. Described as "Executive Suites" , both rooms were quite compact for an 'executive suite', very limited desk area (limited depth), but functional, 2 double beds in each room were quite comfortable (we slept well). Room was clean on arrival and good housekeeping provided every 3rd day. Good television and cable service. Rooms included a
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Response from Kristine Hillis , Owner at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
Thank you for the review . I will be sure to look into the rooms assigned to you on both occasions . If you do stay here again please feel free to reach out to me directly . If we have a deluxe room available at the time of booking I will be sure to offer a complimentary upgrade. This rooms are situated directly on the river , and offer larger rooms by 80 square feet. The rooms also have a larger balcony and bathroom . We appreciate you mentioning the night staff. They are very aware of what happens on the property, and it is great that they are mentioned . I will be sure to share your review with them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Your can reach me by email khillis@ramadaottawa.com or direct line 613-288-340
Read more
Xtian13 wrote a review Aug. 2020
89 contributions80 helpful votes
We popped in for a night to enjoy the riverfront location and pool. Check in staff were super friendly and helpful. Room was very modern and clean, we could tell had recently been renovated and refurbished. View of trees and the river felt like we were at a cottage. Pool is big, cool, and clean. (Don’t be fooled by faded floor paint at the shallow end that looks like dirt but isn’t.) Pool area would benefit from some umbrellas as the sun was hot. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and well presented, and super friendly and caring service from Darlene. The burger and caprese chicken parm were delicious, as was the coconut shrimp. Next time I’ll try the cod fish and chips. Only minor issue was a young male employee who lurked around the property like the rule-police,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4 Helpful votes
Response from Kristine Hillis , Owner at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
Thank you for the great review. I will ensure that your great comments are shared with our team members. The staff are required to do nightly property checks . It is not meant to be feel like it is being policed. I will be sure to spend some time with them on how we can do better. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Heidi A wrote a review Aug. 2020
29 contributions12 helpful votes
This is an a-ok hotel. The staff was overall fine and it was clean. However, the general feeling at this hotel is that they just wanted your money and to run. They did not seem interested in making it a stress-free time during a pandemic. The hotel is clean but they are not equipped to provide completely smoke-free rooms since smokers are placed next to non-smokers where people smoke outside your patio. Also, they have a pool but it has such short open hours a regular through country driver cannot take advantage of it. They're in a bag breakfast should be considered an embarrassment to the Wyndham chain of hotels. We selected a pet-friendly room but then was charged extra for our pet before we even used the room. We paid more for the room when we booked but they said that
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Kristine Hillis , Owner at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded Aug. 10, 2020
Dear Heidia451, Thank you for your review. After reviewing your reservation I can offer some explanation. You reserved through a third party. Our pet rooms are clearly defined through this third party. They are more expensive because all of our pet rooms are in our deluxe building. All deluxe rooms are the same price. The reason our pet rooms are in the section is because all rooms have laminate hard wood flooring. We have asked and we continue to ask the third party website to ensure the pet fees are clearer. I will be sure to share your review with them in hopes that it will help move things forward. In regards to the smoking we did act upon your complaint. We did speak with the guests beside you. Our outdoor pool is open from 9am until 8pm every day. We are not permitted by law to keep it open later. In regards to the breakfast to go option this is all we are able to provide at this time. We are not permitted to open our continental breakfast as instructed by the government of Ontario due to Covid- 19. We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback.
Read more
BRETT T wrote a review Jul. 2020
Oakville, Canada4 contributions3 helpful votes
The grounds and view were in great shape . The only thing I would complain about is the mattress in the room . I have slept on better mattress in Cuba so that is not saying much for the comfort of the mattress I slept on during my stay .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Response from Kristine Hillis , Owner at Ramada by Wyndham Ottawa on the Rideau
Responded Aug. 10, 2020
Dear Brett, Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay . I will be sure to look into the room assigned to you regarding the bed. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention . When you return to Ottawa please contact me directly . Khillis@ramadaottawa.com or 613-288-3540. We look forward to seeing you again .
Read more
US$82 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
monterey inn resort & conference centre hotel ottawa, monterey inn resort and conference centre, monterey hotel ottawa
The Monterey Hotel
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing