We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Montreal
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I might be close to 60 hotel nights this year only, and this is the worst hotel I've stayed in so far... This hotel is seriously lacking in many ways. Staff is not particularly friendly. Horrible parking, tiny and packed with cars in a total mess. Self parking but you need to leave your keys so they can move your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudeneverstop
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As a 3 1/2 star rated hotel, we do market to the budget conscious traveller who would like to stay directly in downtown Ottawa in a clean and comfortable hotel at a fair and reasonable price point, with our amenities clearly outlined on our website. That being said,...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Just 400M from Parliament Hill, and a 15 minute walk to Byward Market this is a great place to stay for the budget conscious traveller. $140 a night for 2 queen beds, private bathroom, sitting area with two chairs and a couch and coffee table, desk, kitchenette with fridge microwave sink and dishes. We stayed in room 602 at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel based on your visit with us this October. We are happy to hear that our Front Desk staff were both friendly and helpful and that you found our price point to be in line with your budget for a downtown Ottawa hotel. We have on-order brand new mattresses and box...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites this long weekend (Thanksgiving weekend, 2016) and was extremely dissapointed by the accommodations and staff. There isnt any sort of instruction in parking, my boyfriend ended up dropping me off and then going to circle the block until we were told where we could park as the two floors of parking they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank buntinga89
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us at the hotel. Certainly it is our goal to ensure that we have clear instructions that we are giving our guests and to always provide friendly and helpful service, and we are very sorry that you did not feel welcome and accommodated by our...

Luxembourg
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Super nice location, close to everything, but quiet. Hotel room was very clean.There was also a separate room with kitchen facilities (fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery), very nice if you don't feel like going to a restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraVeg81
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and that you found your guest room to be clean and comfortable with the hotel well situated. Ottawa has so many great attractions that we hope you will stay with us again when you are back in the city. With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016

On the day after I arrived, two items went missing from my hotel room. When I talked to a manager, he assured me the housekeeper was not responsible. What I discovered was that it was likely someone had taken one of my card keys. Someone came later into my room and stole items from him. What is weird is that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwicken
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are very sorry that your items went missing and have not been recovered. We take this very seriously, and as soon as you brought this to our attention, our Housekeeping Supervisor immediately spoke with your room attendant, and our Manager on Duty came into the hotel to read the door...

ST.Thomas
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Room with a comfortable King bed , adequate kitchenette . Free wifi . Valet car parking . Left the car for 3 days didn't need to use it . Went sight seeing on the on off buses . Great value for money . Hotel clean and staff were more than helpful . Bathroom a bit small other than that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D5103OQwendyl
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review the hotel based on your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and all that our location has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Ottawa! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales &...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed for one night but wished I was somewhere else. We arrived on a rainy night and was greeted by an extremely rude and snobbish receptionist. The parking was horrible and no one told me we had to pay $20+ for just one night. I could of parked somewhere else. The decor was very outdated and the rooms and hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva L
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are definitely a smoke free hotel, and charge additional cleaning fees to those that do not adhere to our smoke free policy. It could be that during your visit someone on your floor did not respect our clean air policy at the time, which would have...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here during Sept 16 for business purposes. The hotel is of a good basic standard, in a great central position and had clean rooms and regular servicing. The only down side was a poor view and lack of a bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richycarthorse
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review the hotel, and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ottawa. We value and appreciate your feedback, and hope for the opportunity to host you again! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director

Singapore
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and to be honest, if you have extra budget, please consider somewhere else. We arrived on a heavy rain night and was greeted by an extremely rude and snobbish receptionist. He can't be bother when we ask whether he can spare us an umbrella so that we can unload our luggage from our car....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t16mytm
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a very positive customer service experience with our staff at check-in, and had subsequent issues with your key cards. Unfortunately, key-cards can become de-magnetized, which can occur at times if it is kept in close contact to a cell phone as an example. We do have loaner umbrellas for our...

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting the fabulous city of Ottawa. What a great location for a hotel. 2 blocks behind parliament. Reasonable price. Dated decor especially in corridors. Green walls. Brown paint work. But the rooms,although dated and maybe a bit tired were clean and well resourced. Microwave kettle cups etc Smallest towels in the world but that seems to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey G
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Ottawa, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate all of the input from our guests which are shared with our management team; allowing us the opportunity to pinpoint the areas that we can improve upon. We are very happy to hear...

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.2 km away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 66 in Ottawa
681 reviews
0.3 km away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#11 of 66 in Ottawa
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#19 of 66 in Ottawa
2,426 reviews
0.2 km away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#21 of 66 in Ottawa
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $109 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites Ottawa, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another hotel!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jong661, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location for sightseeing , shopping and eating . We had a back corner room very quiet .”
 of 5 bubbles D5103OQwendyl, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book any room, all good.”
 of 5 bubbles IanF24, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“enjoyed the room I had”
 of 5 bubbles Gennie099, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I had a room above the door to the hotel and it was quiet and nice”
 of 5 bubbles Pedroofluquillo, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay