We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites this long weekend (Thanksgiving weekend, 2016) and was extremely dissapointed by the accommodations and staff. There isnt any sort of instruction in parking, my boyfriend ended up dropping me off and then going to circle the block until we were told where we could park as the two floors of parking they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank buntinga89
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us at the hotel. Certainly it is our goal to ensure that we have clear instructions that we are giving our guests and to always provide friendly and helpful service, and we are very sorry that you did not feel welcome and accommodated by our...

Luxembourg
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Super nice location, close to everything, but quiet. Hotel room was very clean.There was also a separate room with kitchen facilities (fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery), very nice if you don't feel like going to a restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraVeg81
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and that you found your guest room to be clean and comfortable with the hotel well situated. Ottawa has so many great attractions that we hope you will stay with us again when you are back in the city. With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016

On the day after I arrived, two items went missing from my hotel room. When I talked to a manager, he assured me the housekeeper was not responsible. What I discovered was that it was likely someone had taken one of my card keys. Someone came later into my room and stole items from him. What is weird is that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwicken
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are very sorry that your items went missing and have not been recovered. We take this very seriously, and as soon as you brought this to our attention, our Housekeeping Supervisor immediately spoke with your room attendant, and our Manager on Duty came into the hotel to read the door...

ST.Thomas
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Room with a comfortable King bed , adequate kitchenette . Free wifi . Valet car parking . Left the car for 3 days didn't need to use it . Went sight seeing on the on off buses . Great value for money . Hotel clean and staff were more than helpful . Bathroom a bit small other than that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D5103OQwendyl
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review the hotel based on your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and all that our location has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Ottawa! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales &...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed for one night but wished I was somewhere else. We arrived on a rainy night and was greeted by an extremely rude and snobbish receptionist. The parking was horrible and no one told me we had to pay $20+ for just one night. I could of parked somewhere else. The decor was very outdated and the rooms and hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva L
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are definitely a smoke free hotel, and charge additional cleaning fees to those that do not adhere to our smoke free policy. It could be that during your visit someone on your floor did not respect our clean air policy at the time, which would have...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here during Sept 16 for business purposes. The hotel is of a good basic standard, in a great central position and had clean rooms and regular servicing. The only down side was a poor view and lack of a bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richycarthorse
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review the hotel, and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ottawa. We value and appreciate your feedback, and hope for the opportunity to host you again! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director

Singapore
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and to be honest, if you have extra budget, please consider somewhere else. We arrived on a heavy rain night and was greeted by an extremely rude and snobbish receptionist. He can't be bother when we ask whether he can spare us an umbrella so that we can unload our luggage from our car....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t16mytm
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a very positive customer service experience with our staff at check-in, and had subsequent issues with your key cards. Unfortunately, key-cards can become de-magnetized, which can occur at times if it is kept in close contact to a cell phone as an example. We do have loaner umbrellas for our...

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting the fabulous city of Ottawa. What a great location for a hotel. 2 blocks behind parliament. Reasonable price. Dated decor especially in corridors. Green walls. Brown paint work. But the rooms,although dated and maybe a bit tired were clean and well resourced. Microwave kettle cups etc Smallest towels in the world but that seems to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey G
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Ottawa, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate all of the input from our guests which are shared with our management team; allowing us the opportunity to pinpoint the areas that we can improve upon. We are very happy to hear...

Toronto
Reviewed 16 September 2016

My wife booked this hotel and I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews on TripAdvisor. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly. We left the car out front and the car was valet driven to the rear parking lot. Very convenient. We took the elevator up to our floor and, seeing the very dated and unattractive hallway, became...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karmacoma
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback to us, which will shared with the management team. We look forward to your next visit... With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Love the location, downtown Ottawa, close to transit. I've stayed multiple times on business. Rooms are not the best but usually okay. No fridge unless you get a kitchenette. There was a hooker next door once, but that was entertaining. Part of the shady hotel's appeal. During my most recent stay though, the room smelled terrible. I was there for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank josheeee
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions but are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your accommodations during your recent visit. We hope that the concerns you've noted were addressed with our Front Desk staff so we could rectify any issues for your immediately. Certainly, if there was...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
1.0 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
655 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
89 reviews
0.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites Ottawa, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have less road noise”
 of 5 bubbles SulinQ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jong661, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location for sightseeing , shopping and eating . We had a back corner room very quiet .”
 of 5 bubbles D5103OQwendyl, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book any room, all good.”
 of 5 bubbles IanF24, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“enjoyed the room I had”
 of 5 bubbles Gennie099, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5