We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
180 Maclaren St at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-17
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-17
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-17
Booking.comUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (658)
Room & Suite (350)
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 81 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Upon check-in, guests must provide photo ID and a bank issued credit card for a pre-authorization of room and tax charges, as well as $100. for security. Our all suite hotel has spacious rooms with fully equipped kitchens, household amenities, and a computer with laser printer. We also offer FREE breakfast, WiFi, laundry room with soap and dryer sheets, and movies on demand. Indoor and outdoor parking is available for $22.60 per day. The Business Inn & Suites is located in downtown Ottawa within walking distance of restaurants, bars, dancing and live music, 24 hour diner, museums, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market, making it the perfect location when staying in Ottawa!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Billiards
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French
2197Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,260
  • 710
  • 138
  • 55
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ailsa S wrote a review Dec. 5
Toronto, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed with our dog for a night in one of the pet rooms on the first floor. The room was large, and fully equipped with anything you could need for an extended stay. We had a bedroom area with a king size bed, a kitchen area with full size fridge and a oven/range, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, dishes, cutlery, pots, etc., and a seating area with a pull out couch, office corner with a computer and printer, and a small dining nook. The suite was very clean and had everything we could have possibly needed. It was in a great centretown location (conveniently close to my daughter's apartment!), there was a small green space just across the road when exiting onto Gilmour St. where we could take our pup out for a short walk if she needed an outside break. The breakfast had many options, but I really only had coffee so I cannot say much about that. We parked at City Hall rather than onsite as it was more convenient for us. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and will definitely stay there again next time we are out visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gaël wrote a review Nov. 2022
Ottawa, Canada
The room was very good, stayed for only one night. The room was very big with a kitchen, a PS4, sofas and a Windows 7 desktop computer. Overall, great hotel if you are planning to stay in the heart of the City Centre of Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The gym is not crowded at all which is honestly a very good thing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marnie M wrote a review Nov. 2022
Pincourt, Canada351 contributions129 helpful votes
I was very torn on what to rate this hotel. We reserved the cheaper mini suite, expecting just a bed and bathroom. But instead we got a room that was twice the size of most hotel rooms, we had a queen bed, with a leather lazyboy couch, large TV, full kitchen with full stove, fridge, and all the necessities required in the kitchen. The only negative to this room was the bed ..... if you are one person, it would have been great cuz you sleep in the middle. But for two people, it wasn't very comfortable as it sagged in the middle and we kept rolling on top of each other and waking up. We literally had to hang onto the side to keep from rolling into the middle abys. But that was the only negative. It was great location too. Less than 10 minutes to walk to the National Arts Center or Parliament Buildings. Many bars and restaurants in the area as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nihat wrote a review Nov. 2022
Izmir Province, Türkiye3 contributions
we have been visiting Ottawa for over a decade. we stayed at Business Inn in june for the first time. i regret that we have not tried it before. the location is superb, the staff and reception are excellent and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nomad48904646111 wrote a review Nov. 2022
Greatly positioned, comfortable and affordable even though it looked sketchy at first. It has a lot of space, the service is fantastic, breakfast was okay, I greatly recommend this place on a budget !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bonni-Lyn B wrote a review Nov. 2022
13 contributions51 helpful votes
This hotel was to notch in my opinion. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Their breakfast room was close to our room so very convenient and they had a large variety of food. Our room was big and spacious with a kitchenette. Full size fridge was awesome. The cherry on top for this hotel though was its beds. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in my life anywhere!!! Soft, plush yet still quite firm. It was magnificent!! It was so lovely that when I got back home I went out and bought a new bed and mattress. Still not a good as theirs though. The hotel was also located central to everything..... Parliament, Rideau center, Byward Market etc, all within walking distance. My go to place when I visit Ottawa from here on.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This place was great and they also had a pool hall below it that served food, but lots of good...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
J W wrote a review Nov. 2022
2 contributions
(Updated details according to the video provided by the Hotel) We stayed in 'The Business Inn & Suites' on Oct 4, 2022. When we had breakfast the next morning, my daughter touched a sandwich box (the box is not transparent) to see what is inside (didn't touch the food), then she didn't take the box. When she came back to our table, a staff suddenly asked her, in front of all other guests, to point out which box she touched. My daughter didn't do what he asked because she didn't know what happened. Then the staff asked again. His attitude and tone made us very uncomfortable. My daughter still didn't want to, but I asked her to do what the staff asked for. My daughter pointed out the box, then the staff threw the food into garbage bin. Later, the staff explained to us it is for food safety, even it doesn't make us feel better, we still expressed our understanding to this rule. The things changed after 10 minutes. We saw some adult picked up a box, opened it and put it back while no staff stopped her. Why can others break the rule? Why didn't their staff stop her? Why was my daughter treated differently? Everyone should follow the same rule. We felt angry, especially when we saw confusion, grievance and sad on my daughter's face, though she was trying to hide them. We felt being discriminated, and I had reason to doubt the box of the sandwich that we ate was already opened by others before. We complained to their front desk, she waived $20 parking fee, promised the manager will give us a call. Unfortunately, we didn't receive the call before we left Ottawa, even after we went back home 4 days later. We are not happy with this experience. We kept sending three messages to them, two messages through their website and one message though Booking.com. Their general manager replied. He said he investigated. He said their staff had no intention of being discriminatory and sorry about it. He said it is challenging to police everyone every day (According to the video, it is not the real reason in our situation). He said he knew the front desk waive the $20 parking fee. He also mentioned the hotel is over 35 years and the staff is an exemplary employee in the past 25 years which has nothing to do with this. I cannot see any sincerity of apology, and his explanation is not acceptable as well. We replied the general manager's email asking reasonable explanations and sincere apologies, but cannot get any response anymore. This bad experience really impacted the rest of our trip. My daughter was hurt by this matter very much, and same to us. We tried to do something to make it less hurtful to her, even though we know it can't be cured like before it happened. We never had such bad feelings during the past ten years in Canada.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jessica B wrote a review Nov. 2022
Montreal, Canada4 contributions3 helpful votes
We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed in room 1205. The suite was impeccably clean - the white grout between the tiles in the bathroom even sparkled! The carpet was plush, the bed was very clean & comfortable. The kitchen had all the amenities we could need. Love that the continental breakfast was included. The hallway on the 12th floor smelled like cigarettes- wasn’t pleasant. Overall we had a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Call the hotel and book the on site parking. There really is no street parking available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HH wrote a review Nov. 2022
3 contributions
People at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful, very spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was also very comfortable, We enjoyed the great selections for breakfast sitting in the quiet eating area with a nice view of the street. The location couldn't be any better being right downtown close to interesting restaurants, sights and museums.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LLD40 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Burlington, Canada13 contributions10 helpful votes
This was my first time staying at the Business Inn but it will not be my last! The room was awesome, spacious with a well stocked kitchen. It was a very busy weekend in Ottawa and the hotel was quite popular but everyone who works there could not have been more friendly, professional or helpful. The continental breakfast was great, esp the to go bags with a bottle of water, cookie and granola bar. I am already looking forward to my next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the business hotel ottawa, business hotel ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Business Inn & Suites - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Ottawa, Ontario) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Business Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to The Business Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Canadian Museum of Nature (0.5 km), Yuk Yuk's (0.05 km), and Ottawa City hall (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Business Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Business Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Business Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Business Inn & Suites?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Business Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beckta Dining & Wine, The Scone Witch, and Town.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Business Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Business Inn & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Business Inn & Suites?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Business Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Business Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.