We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Byward Blue Inn

157 Clarence St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (339)
360
Panoramas (39)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!15% off room rate
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 74 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
ByWard Blue Inn is the only hotel in Ottawa`s favorite gathering place for cafes, galleries, museums, restaurants, shopping and the ByWard Market. This charming Inn offers to business or pleasure travelers great room rates in a fantastic location. Queen or Twin Bed rooms feature private balconies, ensuite bathrooms, climate control, Internet, Cable TV and complimentary breakfast. All major attractions are within a 5 -15 minute walk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:15% off room rate
1083Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 465
  • 457
  • 97
  • 41
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Travel821038 wrote a review Feb 18
Tillsonburg, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
Spotless room that included a handy kitchenette. Balcony with a view towards Parliament. Breakfast was included and it was as good as or better than any of the major hotel chains I've stayed with over the past decade. Underground parking for a small extra fee. Located in the popular Byward Market neighbourhood of Ottawa, only a few blocks from Parliament. Stunningly competitive rates. I'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Travel821038, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a beautiful review. We are truly honored to read that hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your kind words on the room cleanliness, breakfast and location. Thank you for letting us serve you. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Henrietta N wrote a review Sep 2023
38 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were surprised by the residential neighborhood but found we were just down the block from the USA Embassy. Wonderful market area. So many restaurants nearby. Also close to the art museum, the Basillica, and several government buildings. We wanted to see the Canadian War Museum - that was just 5 or 10 minutes away. We had a small room with a balcony. Only choice this day was twin beds. They were very comfortable. They provide china and silver in the mini kitchen - very nice touch. The hotel breakfast was excellent. Nice selection of very fresh fruit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Marketing at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Dear Henriettan2019, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and your kind words are greatly appreciated. We value your rating. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jamie m wrote a review Feb 6
Chattanooga, Tennessee103 contributions33 helpful votes
What an excellent find! Fantastic location in the midst of awesome restaurants and shopping. Very quaint, clean and attention to details. Loved the mini kitchen with wine glasses. The breakfast was fantastic. The scrambled eggs were to die for. Fresh croissants. And fruit. Loved this place. Will be back .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: small private parking garage but can’t fit big trucks. But there is an inexpensive parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jamiem565, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely comments about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations. We value your comments on the location and breakfast. Thank you for letting us serve you. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen K wrote a review Jan 2024
Binbrook, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I just stayed at Byword Blue Inn this past weekend. Our son lives in Ottawa and we normally stay at another hotel that is double the price of this hotel. A relative that I trust very much recommended Byword Blue Inn. I was initially a bit skeptical as it is a 3 star hotel. I am so glad we gave this hotel a chance. I would actually say it is closer to being a 4 star. It is not super fancy but it is warm, welcoming, modern, and super clean. We did have an issue with our room - Ottawa just had a snow storm and the pipes in our room were rattling. My husband is a very sensitive sleeper and was a bit upset with the noise. We called down to the front desk and the gentleman was more than happy to accommodate us, telling us he “just wanted us to be happy”. To me, customer service is a big deal and we were very pleased with this response. The room itself was incredibly clean. We loved that there was a little kitchenette. The breakfast that is included is wonderful. The location is convenient. It is downtown and only a 12 minute drive from where our son lives. We were so pleased that we have already booked our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Jan 18, 2024
Dear Karenkl5628EE, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and our guests your pleasant thoughts about your recent stay. We are truly delighted that the hotel met and even exceeded your expectations. We greatly appreciate your kind words on our hard working staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great new year! Thank you for letting us serve you. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah N wrote a review Dec 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
The Inn boasts a charming, quiet ambiance and impeccable cleanliness throughout, with a lovely balcony. Its location near Byward and Parliament is fantastic, offering easy access to Rideau Mall within minutes. However, the downside was the remarkably firm and uncomfortable bed in Room 44, which impacted sleep quality significantly. Despite the kind staff and the overall cleanliness, the lack of a comfortable bed led to an early check-out. It's suggested that improving the beds should be a top priority for a more enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Jan 1, 2024
Dear Sarahnl2491UT, We are sorry to read that you found the bed uncomfortable, which resulted in shortening your stay. Indeed, we are replacing the current beds with newer ones. We do appreciate your kind words on the staff and room cleanliness. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Edward K wrote a review Nov 2023
Montreal, Canada35 contributions18 helpful votes
Located in Ottawa's Byward Market area, this small, boutique hotel is simply wonderful. Walking distance to most attractions, the rooms are clean and have a balcony and a small kitchen area equipped with dishes and cutlery, a fridge, microwave, and a table for two (even wine glasses and a bottle opener). And the attention to small details: there are half a dozen umbrellas in the lobby, just in case you run into inclement weather and at the excellent breakfast buffet (included in the price), the plates are stored in a plate warmer. The only negative: there is no on-site parking, so you have to park in the almost next door public parking--an added cost. A small detail. The bottom line, we plan on staying here again on our next trip to Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Nov 27, 2023
Dear Edward K, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We value your comments on the location, room cleanliness and breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ottawa. We value your rating. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joelle wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I loved the Byward Blue Inn!! Great location, plush towels, coffee maker in the room (and milk and cream provided!), robes, kitchenette, free generous breakfast, firm mattress...I could not ask for more as a solo traveler. I will go back again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Nov 21, 2023
Dear Explorer302862, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments on the location and other noted observations. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
liesenluc wrote a review Nov 2023
Bruges, Belgium559 contributions362 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights in Byward Blue Inn. Kindly, very clean hotel with all you need and in a good location. Nice room with fridge, tea and coffee, some kitchen supplies..., comfy room. Good breakfast buffet with enough choice. Small terrace at the street to relax in the sun. From the hotel, you can visit all the important things of the city, by foot. The station for the O-train line to go to Quebec ViaRail Station, is at about 600 m from the hotel. The entrance is in a shopping center. There are restaurants, very close to the hotel. The Byward Market is very close too. Recommended for a visit at Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Nov 6, 2023
Dear Liesenluc, Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. We work hard to make our guests happy and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ria wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions
+1
Liked · The location is great, it is just near the byward market and lots of options for food and drinks in the area. The complimentary breakfast is also decent, would have liked more options but was not bad. Disliked · The check-in experience was weird, the manager seemed rude and would cut me off while I was talking to him. I am not sure if that is cultural or he was just plain rude. The parking garage is really tiny, it is hard to park the car in such a small space and on top of that you have to pay extra. I rather park on the street.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Marketing at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Oct 24, 2023
Dear Riagarg, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry that the front desk agent did not perform according to your expectations. We will note this and respond accordingly. Apart from this, we are happy that overall you had a good stay with us. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sailorsgirl wrote a review Oct 2023
Springfield, Missouri5816 contributions934 helpful votes
+1
We chose the Byward Blue Inn due to its location near the Byward Market. We had a difficult time finding it as there is just a tiny sign hanging from an awning out front. We checked in and asked if we could park our vehicle in their underground area. We arrived in our Ford F150 double cab and could not fit in the parking area so had to park on the street. There is a fee to park. We had some anxiety about leaving it on the street as it was new and some of the streets in the area were a little sketchy. Panhandlers kept approaching our vehicle each time we stopped in traffic. But the street the hotel is on was clean and well maintained and we felt safe walking to the Market. This is a no-frills hotel. The staff was very nice, accommodating and bilingual. It's a rather tall building so there is an elevator to the upper floors. Our room was large and clean. A generous hot breakfast is included in the rate. We had a balcony that looked down on the garden area in the middle of the hotel. It was about four blocks to the Byward Market. The room had a little kitchenette. The TV did not work which was not a problem for us since we were tired after a long day. If you want a shorter walk, there is a Courtyard by Marriott very near to the Market.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Marketing at Byward Blue Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2023
Dear Sailorsgirl, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We are happy that all was good with your stay. We appreciate your feedback on the staff, room cleanliness and breakfast. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
C$142 - C$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
byward blue hotel ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Byward Blue Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Ottawa, Ontario) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Byward Blue Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Byward Blue Inn?
Nearby attractions include Jigsaw Escape Rooms (0.3 km), Notre Dame Basilica (0.4 km), and Escape Manor Byward Market (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Byward Blue Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Byward Blue Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Byward Blue Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Byward Blue Inn?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Byward Blue Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega Nicastro, BeaverTails, and Play Food & Wine.
Is Byward Blue Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ottawa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Byward Blue Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Byward Blue Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (0.9 km), Rideau Hall (1.6 km), and Laurier House National Historic Site (1.0 km).