We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stratford Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Stratford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Stratford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 264: English reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

The Stratford Hotel is a charming place and our go-to spot for Stratford visits. Connie and George continue to make improvements. They are wonderful hosts who treat guests like family. We highly recommend this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMacDon
Michigan
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My husband and I just got back from the Stratford Hotel. An excellent stay. Clean, nice, perfect hosts in Connie and George.We had a quiet room upstairs with a good mattress as requested. The location was central to everything in town with shops and restaurants in walking distance. Connie recommended Rene's Bistro which was just great. Walking distance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri G
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to share your first experience at our hotel. Rene's Bistro is an amazing place to eat many of our guests have been very pleased with Rene's this season. Nice to hear you were happy with your suite and that the mattress was comfortable.

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This was our second visit to the Stratford Hotel and we will definitely be back. The location of the hotel is well within walking distance of the theatres and many restaurants. Connie and George are excellent hosts, with lots of special welcoming touches.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDW_16
Mississauga
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We return every year to the Stratford Hotel. the location is excellent; within walking distance of all the theatres and resaturants, shopping.. The hotel is very homey with alot of special welcoming touches we really appreciate. The owners Connie and George are so welcoming and ensure that you are comfortable and happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie P
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to share your visit at our hotel on Trip Advisor. George and I appreciate your loyalty to our hotel year after year. We also enjoyed our conversation in the lobby and look forward to your return next year.

Dwight, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I had mixed up my dates for a festival event, and if Brenda hadn't called to find out when I would be checking into the hotel, I would have missed the next day festival programme as well! Unfortunately, we couldn't do anything about the festival programme, but Connie & George waived our fee for the missed night, and kept a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _jphurley
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Although you did lose out on your festival tickets we were happy that we could help with your accommodations. As we say "life happens" and we're just glad it all worked out. George, Brenda and I look forward to your return.

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Connie was wonderful. We get very welcome. Recommendations for dinning, directions and such were great. The rooms have a nice charm to them and comfortable . Very nice touch with a hand written card and chocolate were in the room. Wifi works well. Appreciated the tea, coffee and cookies always available for after the plays or after walking around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atj1234
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our hotel. Nice to hear you found your room to be comfortable and charming and you enjoyed the amenities/treats that we enjoy giving to our guests. Look forward to your next visit.

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Once again my friend and I experienced a wonderful stay at the Stratford Hotel. Connie, George and all the staff are courteous, hard working and lots of fun. The room is spotless your whole stay and the chocolates and wine glasses are a nice touch. We parked our car in the hotel lot and only retrieved it when it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Once again it was a pleasure having you both stay with us this summer. We really appreciate your lovely review and your loyalty to our hotel. You both put a smile on our faces and we look forward to your return next Sept.

Stockbridge, Michigan
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Love to stay here, able to walk to the Avon Theater, great restaurants and gardens. Owner ( Connie ) and Brenda are helpful in every way. True "service with a smile", Cookies always in the lobby, a coffee maker with coffee selection as well as microwave for guests use.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina571
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel on Trip Advisor. Very happy you enjoyed your time in Stratford and you found our location to be very central. Our cookies and coffee are a few of the perks that help make your stay enjoyable. Hope to see you both again next year!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I first visited the Stratford Festival seven years ago and picked the Stratford Hotel based on online reviews. I am happy to say that things just keep getting better and nicer each year. Connie and George are amazing! I feel like I'm visiting good friends rather than staying in a hotel. The rooms are ample and immaculately clean. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatheeR
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for another descriptive, thoughtful review. We look forward to your return every year and you're right it's like waiting for a friend / family member to arrive. I really enjoyed all our conversations and your opinion of the plays (which really help us decide what we are going to see). So far we are seeing All my Sons,...

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Connie and George are wonderful hosts. They truly take their guests comfort and convenience to heart. We decided on a whim to visit Stratford and they easily accommodated our request for a room at the last minute. The welcome that we received from Connie (and later George) has been the warmest that we have ever received at a hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kduke155018
Connie K, Owner at The Stratford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We are very happy you had a good experience at our hotel. Also we both really appreciate the lovely review and look forward to seeing you both again someday.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
1.5 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
129 reviews
0.1 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#9 of 18 in Stratford
266 reviews
3.4 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
192 reviews
0.4 km away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#12 of 18 in Stratford
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stratford Hotel, where old world charm and modern amenities unite! Our historic downtown property is surrounded by shopping and theatre districts, historical neighborhoods; and we are 6 blocks from the business park. We offer English style gardens, wireless internet, and free onsite Parking. Features of all our rooms and suites comprise of queen size antique beds, distinctive layouts, private baths, gas fireplaces, bar fridges and high-definition TV's with digital cable. Our location is very close to all the Theatres, a 5 min walk to The Avon Theatre, a 25 min scenic walk along the river to the main Festival Theatre, a 10 min walk to The Tom Patterson Theatre and a 5 min walk to the new Masonic Hall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stratford Hotel

Address: 107 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel Ontario
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stratford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stratford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fav room is 4; Fav suite is 9”
 of 5 bubbles BoomSlang37, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Traffic noise in the rooms on the side facing the road can be a bit loud; ask for a room on the side away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 17robbins74, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 7 faces the road which was noisy until about the 11 p.m.”
 of 5 bubbles richarddJ3287VK, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can look at photos of each room on their website and choose the one that suits your needs and preferences that way.”
 of 5 bubbles Hurricaine51, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room but 10, and even 10 is good; it's the bathroom that is an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles RobinRosemary, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5